Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

100

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 293 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Old Dublin is a very nice blend, a 3.5 out of 4.0. Why not a 4 out of 4? Well, because I liked Dunhill- My Mixture 965 substantially better. It is impossible not to compare the two blends, since they are far too similar to be ignored and the only reason I tried Old Dublin was because of its similarities to 965. So my apologies if I excessively mention 965 in this review.

My Mixture 965 is a perfectly balanced, masterclass blend that satisfies all of your cravings and gives you that ‘little something extra, special something’ that Old Dublin lacks. I think William Faulkner and possibly JRR Tolkien would agree. However, Old Dublin lacks the distinct richness of the Latakia and the sweetness of the Macedonian Bright’s found in 965, and is more of a mild blend that lacks the full-bodied experience. I would call it ‘965-lite’, a mild version of 965 that can be an all-day smoke.

Still, Old Dublin is a very well balanced and high quality English, but until Dunhill stops producing pipe tobacco, I will stick with 965 in my rotation.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
As a fairly new pipe smoker, I am still learning to distinguish the intricate flavors that I read about in so many of the well-written reviews, here. However, I know what I like.

I've gone through a spell, the past couple of months, where I've been experimenting with different aromatics. I've had this jar of Old Dublin sitting on my shelf for several months, but only smoked one bowl, when I first purchased it.

Tonight, I pulled down the jar and loaded up a bowl while enjoying A Study in Scarlet. A true English blend only seemed appropriate for an evening of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In a word, the experience was exquisite.

So flavorful and relaxing without the harsh chemical taste that so many aromatics give you. Just a clean, lovely smoke that I didn't want to end.

This blend will be my gateway into the world of English tobacco. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Pipe Used: Custom half-bent Dublin
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: < 1 year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2017 Very Strong Strong Full Tolerable
Simply be enough brave of tasting Latakia's strength for the first time, and you may find it more desirable than other compatible Dunhill mixtures. A solid performance of English blend when Oriental plays the role based on the platform of Black Cavendish. But for the second one-third of your bowl it is completely a Turkish dance both on tongue and mind. At the end, a very strong, nutty and smoky one. A total war by Ottomans and even you hear hoofs marching surroundings behind your deep gasp. Good for dark nights and having a solitary under the moon shine. So enjoy it alone and let your imagination to reach your internal serendipity.
Pipe Used: British
Age When Smoked: 3 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2016 Medium to Strong Medium Full Pleasant
Absolutely love this stuff. At first I just randomly picked some blends to try when I started using a pipe a year ago, then I started using reviews to find ones to try of certain blends. This one was a gift from a friend that he essentially picked at random, and so far it's hands down my favourite tobacco, and although I still try other blends, I'm pretty much 75% English blends now. I enjoy Nightcap and Morning Pipe as well, but, this is my main go to blend. Nice smokey flavour, not bitter or over powering and I love the room note. If you've never tried an English blend, definitely give this one a shot.
Pipe Used: Big Ben with 9mm Filter
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 14, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
A very mellow and seriously good tobacco in the classic, English segment. Proper note of the Latakia in there, but not the somewhat overwhelming strength of the Dunhill Early Morning, 965 and Nightcap, as I remember them from yesteryear. Noticeable more latakia note than S. Gawiths Squadron Leader. I had to pace down and limit myself to a bowl a night, two in the weekends as it had been stored for some years and cant be readily replaced. Perfect moisture out of the tin, no trouble keeping it lit through the entire bowl, which I find somewhat diffult with non-stored tins of todays tobaccos. Tried several forms of packing, but the Frank method is hard to beat with these type of mixtures.
Pipe Used: Diverse variants
PurchasedFrom: A small shop in Canterbury, no name remembered
Age When Smoked: 3 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2004 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
Dull! Like Highland Targe and Celebrated Sovereign (but slightly worse), I find this to be a light english mixture which lacks in taste and gives me no satisfaction. It is steamy, bland and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I'd rather smoke cigarettes than this tobacco! Really, this is a very undistinguished mixture that resembles many others and is surpassed by even more! It can improve if left to dry a bit, but dont expect much anyway. And since it costs more than Dunhills here in Italy, I really have no doubt: I'll avoid it like the plague!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Very Strong
An traditional English Mixture. Latakia, Orientals and Virginia. This mixture impressed me, the Orientals are fully rich. Their taste remisn in mouth for a long time. Very good mixture, similar to Mixture 965 and Presbyterian, even better. Therefore, in Brazil, Peterson tobaccos are very expensive. Strong taste, Nicotine Medium to Strong. Moisted in a good ammount, not dry, not too wet. Their can, the tin, is now changed. Is this now:

http://www.peterson.ie/p/6379/old-dublin-50g-tobacco
Pipe Used: many
PurchasedFrom: a friend
Age When Smoked: 2 years,produced in 2012.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2009 Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I'm into the last few bowls of a tin of Peterson's Old Dublin. This is w/ the "new"blue label. I enjoy a variety of tobaccos; aromatics, codger burleys & Latakia blends. My experience w/Latakia so far been limited to Old Dublin, MacBaren's HH Vintage Syrian & Crown Achievement. The CA (aka Scottish Tweed, Fox & Hounds) has been purchased by me or gifted from pipe shops or other pipers & is the yardstick for me to compare other "English" blends to; not because of quality or preference but rather quantity. Old Dublin is a smooth, flavorful smoke. The smokiness I associate w/ Latakia was a pleasant incense like aroma w/ a hint of campfire. Not at all like the harshness which has made me give up on CA. There is a bit of creaminess & a nice sweetness which I assume is the Cavendish & Virginia tobaccos. I would say this is a balanced smoke w/ no unpleasant surprises. It gives a nice smooth smoke from the top to the bottom of the bowl. The overall aroma ("outside note" as opposed to "room note") was nice. Unlike other Latakia blends my wife didn't get on her ear about the aroma when I was with her on the patio. Again, I assume the Cavendish is peeking in. The quality of the packaging & the product were both good. Straight out of a freshly opened tin the tobacco was a bit wet; drying out improved the smoke. After drying the tobacco smoked down to a clean ash. The tobacco packs easily & didn't mind if I puffed a bit too hard. Compared to Crown Achievement this seems to be of better quality leaf & a more balanced recipe. Overall I like this tobacco & will buy it again. Smooth, good flavor & an aroma that doesn't have my neighbors wondering if they should call the fire department. As others have commented it probably is a good starting point for those looking at trying a Latakia blend.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2009 Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
i just purchased my first old dublin yesterday.i think its great burns slow and cool and tastes good.a friend of mine adviced me to get this as an introduction to english blend with latakia and it paid off.so i ordered a few more online!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2009 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Old Dublin packs easy, burns well, and smokes cool. This reminds me of Presbyterian Mixture, which I also like. If you like Latakia and Oriental than this is for you. This would go well with Laphroaig Scotch.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"