Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

100

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
It is funny how we taste things differently. I'm going to have to disagree here with some people whose opinion I value and respect. Such is life....here goes.

I find this to be a very temperamental blend and thus one of the worst I've encountered. It starts out nicely enough a little Oriental forward, light on Latakia with a nice tangy sweetness from the Virginias. The bad news is that it takes very little pushing to deep six the flavor. I can get a decent smoke from it by being very gentle and patient. A momentary break in concentration and I find I've pushed it too far and off the rails it goes. It's like a train getting derailed by a grain of sand. At that point it's like smoking a bowl full of dirty socks, not that I've ever smoked any, but it starts tasting like dirty socks smell. It's hard to bring the flavor back after that.

It's obvious I'm in the minority here so it may just be the way my physiology rolls. Bless you guys that love this blend. Without me smoking it there's more left for you.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in flavor. Can burn a little warm so be careful.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Diplomat Apple, Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2004 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
Dull! Like Highland Targe and Celebrated Sovereign (but slightly worse), I find this to be a light english mixture which lacks in taste and gives me no satisfaction. It is steamy, bland and leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I'd rather smoke cigarettes than this tobacco! Really, this is a very undistinguished mixture that resembles many others and is surpassed by even more! It can improve if left to dry a bit, but dont expect much anyway. And since it costs more than Dunhills here in Italy, I really have no doubt: I'll avoid it like the plague!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2015 Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Boy what a first blend to ever try and smoke. So here's my run down of it, icky. Now many are going to be saying WOAH you're totally wrong you new person with no experience and no sense of good taste. While I may be new, I know if I like something or not and this I do not like. The latakia and Virginia are nice but damn the smell from the tin is perfume, nothing else. I watch the Youtuber Stuff&things, which is a great chance and he loved this tobacco blend but for me, it was just so much oriental, now the oriental of choice is Bosimer, which tastes like I'm smoking perfume at times, which to me is icky. Though on a side note the cut is wonderful, absolutely gorgeous with zero twigs. I can't recommended this tobacco especially if you live in canada and are going to be paying 30$ on it thanks to our insane tobacco taxes.
Pipe Used: Bent pipe
PurchasedFrom: Walper Tobacco Ontario
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
The tin note is much better than it's taste. Being an English blend with long history, I found Old Dublin to be a little blank either in flavor or taste. Not saying it's light, it has medium strength and spicy from the beginning, but none of the leads stands out. Tongue bite would emerge but nothing severe. I agree with Chris66: "Its NOTHING like any decent English blend". All I can say is, there are plenty of better, tastier and more interesting English/Balkan blends waiting for their turns.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I love English blends; Artisan's Blend, Dunhill's 965, Squadron Leader, and occasionally a clay pipe of Royal Yacht. I like Petersons pipes. So I thought oooh Petersons Old Dublin is bound to be good, its described as a Petersons classic and a typical old style English blend !

Upon tin opening it smells nice. It lights easy, burns evenly, easy to keep lit, and it has no tongue bite.

The only problem I found was the taste. It tastes tinny, chemical, and flat. Its NOTHING like any decent English blend. It left a bitter after taste too. I tried it twice in different pipes and its bloody awful. Reminded me of stale cigarettes.

I instantly, thoroughly, cleaned my pipes, then threw the rest of this putrid stuff away, and had a nice large bowl of Royal Yacht with an extra strong pot of coffee. After smoking 2 bowls of Old Dublin, I had to take drastic measures to rescue my palate, lucky enough the R.Yacht and strong coffee worked. They tasted like heaven compared to Old Dublin.
Pipe Used: Peterson & Clay.
PurchasedFrom: SmokeKing.com
Age When Smoked: 2 Weeks
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 04, 2011 Mild None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
As a fan of old Dublin itself -- and of English blends in general -- I really wanted to like this. But this one-year-old tin left me wanting much more.

Acceptable English flavor, but quite smokey and thin-bodied. As a result, I ended up tossing most of the tin -- something I only very rarely do.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2006 Mild None Detected Overwhelming Tolerable
You will be a truly fortunate son (or daughter) if you can find this blend in a tin that looks like the one pictured above. The tin I bought has a Royal Blue and white sticker on the top, indicating, among other things, that this is now blended by Orlik, rather than Stokebey. Peter, R.I.P.

Though popping the tin will remind one of the old London Blend by Dunhill, this blend ain't no Maxwell House. It tastes awful! Another reviewer likened the Turkish in this mixture to a Camel cigarette. He was spot-on but he did not go far enough. The Latakia was bought on the cheap, as well. All-in-all, if one would take a pack of Camels, soak them in creosote, let dry, shred and place in a vacuum sealed can...well, you'd do better than this abomination.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2012 Mild None Detected Mild Tolerable
I really wanted to like this tobacco but could and and only had two bowls but it tastes to much like a camel Turkish gold cigarette very terrible. It is a mild tobacco blend and if one is afraid of English blends this one would a good one to start on but only if you like the taste of the turkish tobacco. I would advise for thwm to try artisans blend from astonishing in.stead has a vwry nice taste and is a better blend in my mine and isn't overpowering and the Turkish is only somewhat present instead of being overpowering.

When you open the tin you automatically smell the latakia and when you light up you can taste it, but after that and its fully lit all you can taste is the turkish tobacco, and the Virginia is nowhere to be found if it was it might help this blend out a lot. It give you tongue bite a lot throughout the smoke. It does burn somewhat cool like the tin says but not all the time. I have smoke it three different pipe and all three tasted the same. One was a Mr brog churchwarden, a Peterson system 309 and a cheap roma pipe. The churchwarden didn't bite as much as it did in the other two pipe probably because its a churchwarden and it produces a cooler smoke. So I think it burns the best in a churchwarden because in other pipes it burns to quick and bites harshly.

I was very disappointed because their pipes are awesome and and believed that their tobacco would be that way too and so far its not. If i can find someone to trade me tins for something else I'm either going to toss it or let it be for a while and I'm not in a patient mood for wait. Another reason why I was very disappointed because I smoke captain black which isnt good tobacco but tasted better and was more enjoyable th an this old dublin blend. I would give it 2 stars out of 4 there are better tobaccos out there for the price.

Pros: Smells great in the tin. Packs easy and burn great when fully lit

Cons: Smell like cigarettes and tastes like cigarettes while smoking it Seams like it burns to quickly if not carefull with it And bites the tongue harshly at times
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2009 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Absolutely WRETCHED!! Not worth writing about & into the TRASH CAN!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 13, 2007 Strong None Detected Medium Strong
Old Dublin.... How can you not get sucked in by a name like that?

So, I picked up a tin of this along with my usual supply of English. The smell upon opening the tin could best be described as gross. As mentioned earlier, a smell of sour loam and pine needles. The tobacco was very damp, so I fluffed it, gagged a little, and closed it up again. A week later when my curiosity/courage was back up, I tried again.

The "smell" had lost alot of it's mildewy dampness, and while not palatable, was at least not off-putting. I packed it up, lit it up and thought, "Hmmm, kinda nice." Then it went out. Long story short, if it stayed lit at all, the pipe gurgled like a cheap ventriloquist.

So, it got the overnight treatment in a brown paper bag. The drier tobacco didn't smoke much better. It was still hot, wet, and sour. After a full bowl I had a very sour "swampy" taste in my throat.

The smoke had a traditional English spiciness, but the usual "peat" taste had a very sour "bog" like quality to it. On top of it there was a very weird umm, pine(?)/anis flavor that stuck in my throat. It even survived drinking coffee to get rid of it. The flavor, while strong, was unchanging and boring. When the bowl was done, I was glad.

It wasn't absolutely terrible, and some cellaring and rubbing could help alot most likely, but not a recommended English with it being the same price as many finer blends.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"