Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

100

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2006 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a solid and approachable blend. The only problem I have, is that there are many blends I have tried that cost less, and are just as good or better. The big plus for this blend is an apparent lack of preference for pipe size or style. Old Dublin soldiers on, no matter what.

Not a blend for contemplation, but a pleasant, quiet companion. Who knows? You may love it. It is certainly worth a try.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2022 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend is probably great when trying to switch from aromatics to non-aromatics (English blends in particular). I thought there was a hint of perique at first, but a simple glance at the tobacco description shows this cannot be. Pardoxically, it could be the black cavendish or an additive, burning slightly too tangy in the mix. I could not detect the orientals, and found the slight aromatic nature of the blend dominating too much for my taste. Still a decent English.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 10, 2013 Mild None Detected Medium Strong
I wasn't completely convinced by this EM, sometimes seems to get interesting, but most of the times it's straight and easy, without expectations. The golden virginia is pratically absent until you reach the end of the bowl, and the black cavendish is truly absent (but I think this is a pro); the cyprus latakia it's less smoky and more tasty than the syrian and has that classic liquirice aftertaste, the greek oriental it's probably the more interesting ingredient, and probably the reason of the sporadic presence of strange and unexpected undertones. This EM is a mild, allday, expensive and not rewarding mixture, and personally I can't give it more than 2 stars.

Type: Mild English mixture ; Contents: Golden Virginia, Cyprus Latakia, Greek Oriental, Black Cavendish ; Cut: Shag ; Humidity: Like most Peterson mix have a medium/low level of humidity, with a tendence to dry fast ; Lighting: Simple, regular burning, quick but not rush smoking ; Pipe recommended: Medium or small bowls, half bent or straight pipes recommended.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Not a stand-out blend for me. A decent straight English but nothing exceptional IMO.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
It has good quality and smokes well, but it was not attractive to me. It burns well but has no special taste. I often get confused as to what I am smoking. It doesn't bite at all, even if you want it to. 😉
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2021 Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Tolerable
This is an OK blend in its category. A little too far on the mild scale for my tastes. I got this tobacco early on and thought I would enjoy it. For a while I did, but with all things tastes graduate eventually. I am still a big fan of the category it falls in, but lean toward what I consider far better. This would serve as a good intro for folks thinking about trying “English” blends. It’s not going to overwhelm you in any way. I picked this up early in pipe smoking based on the Peterson name and people’s reviews of the brand.

The tobacco comes pretty much ready to smoke. Dry time has changed nothing for me. It lights easy enough and burns well, but needs relights. Because the flavors are so mild, I’m not sure it’s worth venturing into a discussion on them. If you want a taste of the style of blend - I can easily recommend this to a new smoker. In fact, I might encourage new smokers to dip their toes in with this one to see if the subtle hints they are getting are worth further exploring.

So, I can recommend this blend but I think it’s more for new smokers. It’s a bit airy or perhaps a lite beer compared to nice lager when considering other, and better, options available. I will still keep nightcap around, but unlikely to maintain many Peterson blends outside of it. Just personal tastes I suppose.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2020 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
There isn't much flavor going on here with this one, even compared to most English blends, but this blend has a certain meditative effect that I find calming to it. The latakia is the forefront blend here, though I can still make out some of the orientals, but only slightly.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Extra Full Tolerable to Strong
Seems pretty well balanced but too strong for my tastes. Slightly strange note that I don't like so much. Recommended if you like strong English with a good balance of lat and orientals.
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh from a new tin
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2016 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
All I can say is WOW! Awesome blend, it is on the stronger side and the nicotine hit is harsh down the middle of the bowl, there was no tongue bite. On the charing light it tasted like tar, oh dear... Tamped it down and re-lit the tobacco, all I say is wow awesome tobacco, tasted buttery/creamy, nutty and smokey. Sadly the nicotine hit is a tad too much for me half way down the bowl, it came out of nowhere and hit me straight in the gut.

I ended up giving this to an old gentlemen at our local Clay target shooting club. I just could not smoke it after it made me feel sick. Might be because it was my first english blend or I might be a light weight or I smoked it too fast.

Will I recommend it, Indeed I will if the fellow pipe smoker enjoys full strength blends. Will I purchase it again, not soon unless I feel generous as I will give it away probably after the second bowl.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Group 5 Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Local Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
My 2nd english-style tobacco, the 1st being a ''house'' mixture from my local B&M (which immediately got me into lat blends!). Old Dublin failed to impress me. It is rather mild in latakia, keeping closer to a malty, neutral tobacco taste. Some would call it balanced, and i agree that it might be a good crossover from aromatics.

My dad and I are having an english mixture marathon, in which London Mixture is used as the benchmark. In this light, Old Dublin seemed even more boring, being neither as spicy, as woodsy, or even as fruity as London. Some say the basma leaf gives this a floral taste, i did not detect it.

Meh, nothing really wrong with this tobacco, i just feel that in its category, there are much better options.

2020/03 update: more and more, I feel like Old Dublin belongs in the same category as Early Morning Pipe. It is light on the Lat, and while EMP evolves into a very leathery taste, Old Dublin is more earthy and floral, hitting some cigar-like notes past the halfway mark.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kinsale and straight billiard Peterson
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"