Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

100

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 145 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2009 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
THE most underrated English style blend on the market.

Truly a hidden gem. Old Dublin is quite similar to Dunhill's My Mixture 965, albeit not an exact match. This is a great "middle of the road" tobacco. Lights and smokes beautifully. No detectable bite. Excellent tasting with a medium amount of lady nicotine. Very smooth and never overwhelming. Easily an all day blend. The perfect transition from aromatic to English.

In fact, this is the very first English style blend that I tried when I switched from aromatics 5 years ago. Just as good today as it was then. Consistent quality.

The only draw back if you can call it that is - it will stink up a room in a heartbeat and it will stay that way for a prolonged period of time; much more so than any other English blend I have smoked ( dozens of them ). The smell, although I love it, WILL linger as stated. Not an indoor smoke. Try the porch or perhaps a room dedicated to pipe smoking.
66 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2009 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yes! This Old Dublin is a fine English mixture! The generous helping of Latakia in the tin smells like a fireplace or campfire. Novice pipe smokers may find traditional English blends a little off-putting. But in time a good latakia mixture can grow on you. Then one day you discover you can't get enough of the stuff.

Some might say I am wrong. But to me a predominant latakia mixture has similar characteristics to a quality cigar in both flavor and aroma while being smoked. The other tobaccos within the mix, be it burley, virginia, kentucky or what have you, takes the strong edge off the aroma so it becomes somewhat delicate. But a tiny cigar ghost is floating around somewhere in the mixture. The slight cigar undertones are the reason why most smokers and non-smokers alike always complain "that stinks", while other times they praise you for smoking an aromatic.

Old Dublin does a fine job balancing all the baccys in the mix. If you are thinking about venturing off and experiencing the English mixtures, Old Dublin would be a good one to start with.
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
Peterson - Old Dublin.

A remarkable blend that impresses right from the opening!

The unlit tobacco gives of a beautiful smoky smell with a lovely touch of sweetness to it and it is perfect in moistness too. The ribbon cut is very even and enticing as well.

When it comes to lighting the bowl it is incredibly simple, taking to the flame first time. The smoke is brilliant in its balance for me: the different tobaccos can all be identified but there is a prominent smoky hit from the Latakia. Nicotine content is noticeable albeit not too pre-eminent. The burn is very even and cool, giving off a tongue bite free smoke.

For me it conjures up the feeling of sitting in a traditional old bar in about the year 1850, a truly wonderful smoke!

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Mr Brog
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tobacco which probably makes you fall in love with pipe smoking. One of those underrated mixtures, available on the market for a long time and easy to get everywhere. Thus, it seems to be nothing special, cause people always love much more those tobaccos which are no longer available. But that would be a huge mistake.

This mixture is suprisingly tasty, deep, rich and smooth. Like every other Peterson’s tobacco, Old Dublin is not hard to light and keep lit and smoke to the very bottom of the bowl to nice grayish ash. Latakia is not overwhelming here, it is just perfectly balanced with spicy Turkish (and Virginias).

Perfect English mixture to start with. Give it a try.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I was an aromatic smoker but I've never thought that this kind of tobacco, which doesn't smell like cherry, vanilla or fruits, can give you a divine smoking experience. A high quality tobacco with a good dose of nicotine and the Latakia gives it a cool and somewhat spicy smoke. This is a good blend to begin your first steps in the world of Latakia tobacco. Highly recommended.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Old Dublin is a Right Of Passage tobacco guiding a new pipe-smoker from the noob flock to the connoiseurs' world. Read the reviews and see how many people call this blend their first introduction to English blends or strongly recommend it as a perfect transition from aromatics to Latakia.

Same story here, my case isn't unique much. Beginning years ago as a nooby aromatic smoker, I bought my first tin of Old Dublin and was instantly delighted with its sweet and smoky flavour. This blend taught me what a real tobacco tastes like. Old Dublin was my starting point in further exploring the world of quality pipe tobaccos, where I had eventually found some nicer mixtures, still this one forever remains to me the Unforgettable First One. So, my story is just another one of so many similar stories of growing from a beginner into a discerning pipe smoker, and a lot of such stories began with a pipeful of Peterson's Old Dublin.

This mixture embraces three British realms at once: an English blend of a Scottish type under an Irish name. The Latakias are stellar, the Virginias are sweet, the Cavendish is largely unnoticeable (adding a bit to the fullness) and Basma is a rare cherry on top.

Must try. Must have. Absolutely recommended.
Pipe Used: Parker Zulu, Peterson Zulu & many other
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Dont know if I can add to review of the blend that already hasnt been stated. However, I do want to contribute my thoughts as I believe after a cellar full of tins and blends im ready to say this is my favorite and thats something I dont say lightly. Very few blends "wow," me. This one did so much I gave a small chuckle and pulled the pipe from my lips and stared at it for a moment trying to wrap my mind around that surprising flavour. I own several peterson blends with irish oak being my favorite and for the most part Peterson blends have been good but average. I bought a Peterson dublin castle 221 and decided to break it in and devote the pipe just to this blend. As of right now I will say this is my current favorite and if forced to smoke one all my life its Old Dublin. Lately ive leaned towards English blends and this one is a step away from the norm. What a surprise and unique offering from Peterson. I assume its the oriental that is giving it that sweet unique flavor. I highly recommend it for those who want to try an English blend and for those wishing to try something with a sweet delicious unique flavour after the great sam gawith and dunhill english standards.
Pipe Used: Peterson dublin castle 221
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I Love this tobacco.

This has really turned me to English blends. Smell on opening the tin is a beautiful smokey typically English and for my style of smoking it is ready to go straight from the tin. I generally only need to relight this once if at all and I pack this quite lightly.

I won't pretend to be an expert on english blends but like many I started on EMP which I still enjoy however this is by far my favourite English so far. I would say it's middle of the road strength wise but it really offers a pure tobacco taste I get no tongue bite what so ever with this.

I Don't see lots of hype for this blend but nearly everyone who has tried this seems to rate it fairly highly and I can't see myself being without a tin of this in future.
PurchasedFrom: www.mysmokingshop.co.uk
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
After several aromatic blends of Peterson never though they could make an English blend so good and traditional.since the tin cracks a deep,sweet and smoky smell comes out.the blend moisture is a bit more than most english blends have,but no drying time is needed.lights very easy and a few relights are needed.while smoking tha tastes are balanced,clear and natural.the latakias and orientals are balanced between them and they offer smoky notes,woods,earth,some spices and a few peppery notes.the virginias are in the backround and you get some dark fruits and grass notes.the cavendish are only sweet without aromas and this sweet note is supporting the flavours very pleasant.burns cool and medium to slow without chance of tongue bite.the nicotine level is medium and the room note tolerable to unpleasant to others.a really classic blend for english blend lovers though not an all day blend.
Age When Smoked: When opened
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This is realy one of the best Latakia based tobacco's I have smoked. Comparable to Dunhill but with a more pronounced taste to the end of the pipe. Astonishing consistent in his taste through the whole smoke and with an extremely long lasting and very fruitfull aftertaste.

Highly rated Tobacco and surely one i'll keep in my cellar and rotation !
Pipe Used: Peterson bulldog
Age When Smoked: newly purchased
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"