Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

100

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 293 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2009 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
A good middle of the road English Tobacco. Opening the tin reveals high quality ready to smoke tobacco with no stems to be found. The moisture content seemed fine even at first but I found it is easier to light as you progress through a tin so maybe a little drying right at the start, while not necessary, might not hurt.

The aroma of the tobacco itself is smokey with nutty overtones and is quite pleasant.

I found this to smoke cool and evenly to the end with no bite at all. Good smokey latakia taste but without the pine overtones or sour tang that I find in MM965. Nothing too distinctive but also nothing to offend or to have to get used to.

This tobacco has currently become my "go to" tobacco when I want something a bit stronger in nicotine and with no bite, generally towards the end of the day. The fact that the taste is not overly strong or fancy makes for a nice relaxing, non- distracting smoke.




Bottom Line: A good solid English Blend; pleasant smokey flavor but without the sour tang seen in My Mixture 965, nothing exciting and so perfect for the times when you are not looking for exciting
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2006 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a solid and approachable blend. The only problem I have, is that there are many blends I have tried that cost less, and are just as good or better. The big plus for this blend is an apparent lack of preference for pipe size or style. Old Dublin soldiers on, no matter what.

Not a blend for contemplation, but a pleasant, quiet companion. Who knows? You may love it. It is certainly worth a try.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2003 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
I've decided to edit my original review (2003). I've been smoking quite a bit of this tobacco lately and it has really grown on me. This is a fine English mixture, with the added bit of what I believe is unsweetened black cavendish, so it may also be thought of as a Scottish mixture. It is very refined, not all abrasive, slow burning, and very palatable. I find it an excellent tobacco for the evening. Unlike Balkans, this is not as strong in the Oriental/Latakia department (no Ismir or Yenidje here). The balance between Orientals, Latakia and Virginia is admirable, and the black Cavendish remains in the background, just to round things up. Where I bought it is almost five dollars cheaper than similar Dunhills. A very nice, elegant and satisfying English/Scottish mixture.
Pipe Used: Several (as of late, a Stanwell straight billiard)
PurchasedFrom: Dean's fine cigars (San Francisco).
Age When Smoked: N/A
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2022 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
An incredibly pleasant tobacco in classic "english" style. Straight from the tin it is not to wet but easily catches the flame, no matter if match or lighter. The tobacco looks like any loose cut with Virginias and Latakia giving a vivid colouring.

The smell in the tin is strong, smokey and intense. It reminds me a lot of Talisker. To the surprise of the inexperienced smoker the tobacco tastes mild and very pleasant. The unflavoured mixture gives a true tobacco taste with the Latakia always present but nicely incorporated in the complete aroma profile. It burns without any problems. The taste gets to more deep and earthly aromas, from the fresh, crisp almost grassy taste of the first draughts, at the second third of the pipes filling. But it remains clear and hones throughout. A great tobacco indeed and a recommendation for the beginner, since it burns without any problems and tastes like tobacco. Give it a try. I surely did not regret it.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Royal Guard
Age When Smoked: not aged
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
After smoking the half tin is my favourite tobacco. the Strength is medium to high, latakia is bold in this tobacco. good luck and happy piping.
Pipe Used: TROKASH
PurchasedFrom: https://trokash.com/
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2022 Medium None Detected Full Very Strong
A staple in my rotation to this day, this is the first English I ever smoked, my introduction to sweet Lady Latakia that made me fall in love with pipe smoking all those years ago. Very creamy and smooth, consistent, tasty, deep and rich. While there is perfect balance between the Virginia, Latakia, Orientals and Cavendish, what makes this blend so unique and delicious is the synergy between the Latakia and Basma Orientals. Cool burn, no bite. Great smoke. A classic that still conjures up memories of times long ago and all the decades together.
Pipe Used: Briar, Meer, Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 18, 2021 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Strong
What could I say bout this that hasn't been said?

My second lat blend. First being 965 and that rang my bell (my first nirvana smoke) so my tobacconist suggested this as something diff than that. Well not a bell ringer I could tell even as novice I was that OD is Quality w a capital Q.

Smells great, packs and burns like a tobacco should.. with no fuss. Smokes to ash no problem. As a matter of fact it smokes so we'll towards the bottom of the bowl that I don't realize it's almost finished till my tamper bottoms out in the bowl.

Will always have this on hand as as my go to English (it's pretty close to being an ALL DAY ENGLISH
Pipe Used: Cobs, paneled Dublin,
PurchasedFrom: Brick and morter
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is a classic english blend, and when I say classic english I mean a serious, top quality tobacco, with enough latakia and oriental. When I say classic english blend, I think of blends like Dunhill Nightcap, Dunhill MM964, Dunhill Aperitif, Peterson Wild Atlantic, Ashton Consummate Gentleman and Artisan’s Blend, Samuel Gawith Commonwealth Mixture and Squadron Leader etc. It’s in the same league with these bad boys.

Now, first things first... Tin note is smoky, woody, tangy and fermented tobacco.

Moisture is good, but will require some drying time before packing.

Presents itself as beautifully cut ribbons of medium size, with lots of gold, brown and black leaves.

First bowl I’ve had slapped me in the face for some reason. It was harsh, strong, imposing. It somehow reminded me of Dunhill’s Durbar. However, this mellowed down.

Good amount of latakia and oriental. It’s mostly smoky and spicy with just a little sweetness from the black cavendish and virginia, at times it’s harsh and other times it’s soft. Tastes very natural and you can easily detect all the different tobaccos. The taste is medium to full. If there is any added flavoring, it’s too little and the natural flavors of the tobacco are overtaking the added flavor. Also, since I’ve mentioned black cavendish, it will not be noticeable like in other blends, it’s barely noticeble. Great balance of the tobaccos, though latakia and orientals are dominant (as it should in an english). Very good quality tobacco. Don’t dry this one too much. It’s spicy enough from the orientals, if it’s too dry you’ll feel like smoking a big amount of perique.

As a heavy cigarette smoker, I always need to take a break from smoking a pipe and light up a cigarette to give myself the needed dose of nicotine which I don’t usually get from pipe smoking (I rarely inhale from the pipe). The only pipe tobacco blends that didn’t require cigarettes were from Peterson (ex. 3P’s or University Flake), and the same is with Old Dublin. A good amount of nicotine.

Burns extremely well, with no need or relights, no tonguebite, no hot smoke. Delivers only a cool and thick smoke.

Another great english from Peterson, along with Wild Atlantic. I’ll have to test more of their english blends.

Medium room note with lots of smoky incense smell.

4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 07, 2018 Mild Very Mild Medium Strong
My second favourite Latakia blend. The taste of Latakia and Orientals isn't as distinct, as in SG Skiff Mixture, but I noticed a 'bonus' - very gentle floral aroma, 'aristorcatic' note, like an old-fashioned Cologne water. It brings to my mind victorian London from Picture of Dorian Gray of Oscar Wilde.
Pipe Used: Angelo Biliard
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
JC
Nov 21, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
After many years of smoking aromatics, I diceded to jump to the serious stuff. Maybe that comes with age or time smoking? Does not matter really. What I can tell you is that is my first close encounter with the famous latakia. That smoky girl present in many well scored tobaccos. I have to say that I’m a smoky lover since early times. Smoked meat, salmon, bacon and of course smoked or peaty whiskey (islay whiskey from 🏴scotland: better than many things I know). That almost automatically makes me a Latakia lover. Well, I was in Petersons store in Dublin when I first smelled this mix. I have to tell you that it really has a resemblance of this great city. Even if you carefully smoke it you will be able to feel and smell the smell from the pubs and of course the popular guiness! Sounds very romantic but remembers me so much of that place. It is smooth as the guiness and a good old irish whiskey It could be also revel as a young irish girl that wants to keep partying until drop. A true irish spirit Love it to death!

Enjoy
Pipe Used: Savinelly 9mm
PurchasedFrom: Blatter and Blatter
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"