Peterson Old Dublin

(3.29)
A supreme style of pipe tobacco based on the renowned cool smoky aroma of Cyprus Latakia. To perfect this delightful tobacco there are selected golden Virginias with aromatic Black Cavendish and sweet Greek grades added to satisfy the fastidious pipe smoker.
Notes: Albeit no flavoring is mentioned in the description, the additives list reveals 3.1 grams of added flavoring to 100 grams of tobacco.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
145

101

35

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 294 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is a fine English blend I wish i had bought more of. The smell when you open the tin is what you would imagine an old beaten down leather boot smells like and as a fellow pipe smoker and I agreed, "that's how you know it's good." The smoke itself is very pleasant to taste and the room note is fine for smokers though may bother non smokers as any English would. If you like English and get a chance buy this tobacco.
Pipe Used: Variety
Age When Smoked: 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2009 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
THE most underrated English style blend on the market.

Truly a hidden gem. Old Dublin is quite similar to Dunhill's My Mixture 965, albeit not an exact match. This is a great "middle of the road" tobacco. Lights and smokes beautifully. No detectable bite. Excellent tasting with a medium amount of lady nicotine. Very smooth and never overwhelming. Easily an all day blend. The perfect transition from aromatic to English.

In fact, this is the very first English style blend that I tried when I switched from aromatics 5 years ago. Just as good today as it was then. Consistent quality.

The only draw back if you can call it that is - it will stink up a room in a heartbeat and it will stay that way for a prolonged period of time; much more so than any other English blend I have smoked ( dozens of them ). The smell, although I love it, WILL linger as stated. Not an indoor smoke. Try the porch or perhaps a room dedicated to pipe smoking.
66 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2009 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yes! This Old Dublin is a fine English mixture! The generous helping of Latakia in the tin smells like a fireplace or campfire. Novice pipe smokers may find traditional English blends a little off-putting. But in time a good latakia mixture can grow on you. Then one day you discover you can't get enough of the stuff.

Some might say I am wrong. But to me a predominant latakia mixture has similar characteristics to a quality cigar in both flavor and aroma while being smoked. The other tobaccos within the mix, be it burley, virginia, kentucky or what have you, takes the strong edge off the aroma so it becomes somewhat delicate. But a tiny cigar ghost is floating around somewhere in the mixture. The slight cigar undertones are the reason why most smokers and non-smokers alike always complain "that stinks", while other times they praise you for smoking an aromatic.

Old Dublin does a fine job balancing all the baccys in the mix. If you are thinking about venturing off and experiencing the English mixtures, Old Dublin would be a good one to start with.
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
Peterson - Old Dublin.

A remarkable blend that impresses right from the opening!

The unlit tobacco gives of a beautiful smoky smell with a lovely touch of sweetness to it and it is perfect in moistness too. The ribbon cut is very even and enticing as well.

When it comes to lighting the bowl it is incredibly simple, taking to the flame first time. The smoke is brilliant in its balance for me: the different tobaccos can all be identified but there is a prominent smoky hit from the Latakia. Nicotine content is noticeable albeit not too pre-eminent. The burn is very even and cool, giving off a tongue bite free smoke.

For me it conjures up the feeling of sitting in a traditional old bar in about the year 1850, a truly wonderful smoke!

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Mr Brog
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Now this is a tobacco sort of like kissing your sister...not an unpleasant experience, but it certainly won't excite you. The latakia is there, the virginia is there, the unsweetened black cavandish is there. The mix of the three is not threatening at all, and you will finish a bowl happily.

27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
After smoking nearly the entire tin, I'm beginning to better appreciate Old Dublin. That's normal for me--there is a period of adjustment moving from predominantly smoking one blend to another. It's ideal, I suppose, to rotate tobaccos, but my problem is that when I like something, I have to see it to the end.

My initial opinion of Old Dublin was that of a boring, indistinct smoke, which I attributed to the Cavendish--a tobacco which I assumed had little unique flavor, mostly employed by blenders to stretch out a blend. But other English blends I enjoy share the same component, from Black Mallory to 965, and I can't imagine 965 lacking flavor.

I think, more accurately, the primary cause for my initial disillusionment was a perceived lack of strength...having just come off a tin of Abingdon. To be fair, I picked Old Dublin up because I liked Presbyterian Mixture very much, to somewhat of a surprise. Old Dublin appeared similar to me in its inclusion of a less common Oriental leaf--Basma, like Presbyterian's Macedonian leaf, and I was curious to compare the two.

Here the Oriental component is readily apparent, spicy, and always detectable, a wonderful contrast to overly heavy Latakia Englishes, with the bright Virginia providing a high note that avoids heaviness. After polishing the tin I would now characterize the strength at the lighter end of medium, again, along the lines of Presbyterian--the two seem to be natural peers.

The leaf moisture was drier than I expected (certainly much more than Presbyterian, which is sopping wet), which avoids wetness and translates to billowing smoke. Tin presentation is immaculate, though I criticize Peterson for ditching the very classy art work on the old tin design in favor of a simple blue, and unimaginative, graphic. In short, the presentation is all quality and shouldn't detract anyone from enjoying Old Dublin.

And now, having thought that I would probably will not pick this up again, I've changed my opinion. I will revisit Old Dublin, though truthfully, I'm not sure when.

Four of Five.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
What a nice tobacco! I might finish this tin in one go. Good balance between the Virginia, Latakia & Orientals. Latakia provides the generous smokiness which I like. The Virginia balance it out and the Orientals give that typical oriental aroma and spiciness. Other notes: creamy smooth smoke, cool burn, no tongue bite.

http://youtu.be/vgMhAkSHF3M

UPDATE: I've just had a bowl in another pipe (GJ) and it was lifeless. So I just had to do another bowl in another pipe (Savinelli) to make my final comments.... and I can safely say: it's still a nice blend. Nutty aromas and taste are evident but I must agree with some reviewers here. Its a lighter, middle of the road blend; not the stronger type like other English blends from GL Pease or Dunhill. Smoky with a hint of nutty and spices. Creamy / silky texture. Typical old tobacco room note.

I'm dropping one star for now for its lightness, but that's just me. Others will gladly take lighter than stronger.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Sigla
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tobacco which probably makes you fall in love with pipe smoking. One of those underrated mixtures, available on the market for a long time and easy to get everywhere. Thus, it seems to be nothing special, cause people always love much more those tobaccos which are no longer available. But that would be a huge mistake.

This mixture is suprisingly tasty, deep, rich and smooth. Like every other Peterson’s tobacco, Old Dublin is not hard to light and keep lit and smoke to the very bottom of the bowl to nice grayish ash. Latakia is not overwhelming here, it is just perfectly balanced with spicy Turkish (and Virginias).

Perfect English mixture to start with. Give it a try.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I was an aromatic smoker but I've never thought that this kind of tobacco, which doesn't smell like cherry, vanilla or fruits, can give you a divine smoking experience. A high quality tobacco with a good dose of nicotine and the Latakia gives it a cool and somewhat spicy smoke. This is a good blend to begin your first steps in the world of Latakia tobacco. Highly recommended.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Old Dublin is a Right Of Passage tobacco guiding a new pipe-smoker from the noob flock to the connoiseurs' world. Read the reviews and see how many people call this blend their first introduction to English blends or strongly recommend it as a perfect transition from aromatics to Latakia.

Same story here, my case isn't unique much. Beginning years ago as a nooby aromatic smoker, I bought my first tin of Old Dublin and was instantly delighted with its sweet and smoky flavour. This blend taught me what a real tobacco tastes like. Old Dublin was my starting point in further exploring the world of quality pipe tobaccos, where I had eventually found some nicer mixtures, still this one forever remains to me the Unforgettable First One. So, my story is just another one of so many similar stories of growing from a beginner into a discerning pipe smoker, and a lot of such stories began with a pipeful of Peterson's Old Dublin.

This mixture embraces three British realms at once: an English blend of a Scottish type under an Irish name. The Latakias are stellar, the Virginias are sweet, the Cavendish is largely unnoticeable (adding a bit to the fullness) and Basma is a rare cherry on top.

Must try. Must have. Absolutely recommended.
Pipe Used: Parker Zulu, Peterson Zulu & many other
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Dont know if I can add to review of the blend that already hasnt been stated. However, I do want to contribute my thoughts as I believe after a cellar full of tins and blends im ready to say this is my favorite and thats something I dont say lightly. Very few blends "wow," me. This one did so much I gave a small chuckle and pulled the pipe from my lips and stared at it for a moment trying to wrap my mind around that surprising flavour. I own several peterson blends with irish oak being my favorite and for the most part Peterson blends have been good but average. I bought a Peterson dublin castle 221 and decided to break it in and devote the pipe just to this blend. As of right now I will say this is my current favorite and if forced to smoke one all my life its Old Dublin. Lately ive leaned towards English blends and this one is a step away from the norm. What a surprise and unique offering from Peterson. I assume its the oriental that is giving it that sweet unique flavor. I highly recommend it for those who want to try an English blend and for those wishing to try something with a sweet delicious unique flavour after the great sam gawith and dunhill english standards.
Pipe Used: Peterson dublin castle 221
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"