Lane Limited HGL

(2.92)
Toasted cavendish is laced with mountain Latakia, then blended with white burley and golden Virginia to produce a sweet, fuller-bodied smoke, yet cool and slow burning. The Lat is used as a condiment, not to build a Lat-bomb.
Notes: This is Lane's RLP-6 with a touch of Latakia added.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
21

31

21

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 50 of 76 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2005 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I tried this out because I wanted a burley to smoke while I was out camping and it had the most burley out of all the blends at the shop I went to. It got me through the weekend but I dont plan on smoking it again. This blend is just too heavy on the cavendish and while it burns well its sickly sweetness and unpleasant bite makes HGL an iffy blend at best. Definitely not the best aromatic or burley blend I've tried.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
One of my favorite English Aros that hits the "three S's": savory, sweet, and smooth. To me this tastes like a buttered slice of banana & chocolate chip bread that was baked in a Dutchoven over a campfire. Love it as an all day smoke.
Pipe Used: Lorenzetti bent apple, Rossi bent pot
Age When Smoked: 2-3 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 30, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
A very pleasant, easygoing American blend. The experience of smoking it fresh brings more sweetness and with age that sweetness fades a little with the very citrus, sour lemon Virginia standing out more - which makes an interesting counterpoint to the Latakia. I enjoy this one both ways. Could never quite connect with RLP-6 but HGL is an old friend that I always keep around.
PurchasedFrom: Cup O Joes
Age When Smoked: Fresh - 4 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant
Pleasant and smooth. When first opening that baggy I noticed a somewhat leathery smell. Odd yet pleasant. Which put me at odds whether or not to even bother trying it and just leave it on the undesirables shelf. I decided what the hell and packed a half a bowl in to my pipe. My first impression was it is extremely smooth. No bite no initial charring taste either. As for the taste profile I personally find it has a campfire and almost balsam fir note, which I find extremely pleasant. I don’t understand how in most reviews it’s called an aromatic I get no hints of sweetness out of it at all.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 673 unfinished
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 29, 2019 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
To be honest, I have smoked a pipe on and off for well over 30 years and in that time, aromatics have dominated my tobacco cellar with the occasional light english blend such as "P.S. 17 English Luxury" taking up some small space. HGL was one of my first forays into English/American aro cross over blends and remains one of my favorites. It never disappoints as long as you keep in mind what it is supposed to be. It's not intended to appeal to latakia freaks as the lat is only used as a condiment and not as a prominent player. But that being said, there is enough latakia in this blend to be noticed and does so very nicely. The burly and cavendish tobaccos are still the star players in this game along with a light aro topping of vanilla. Blended all together you get a pleasant, mellow, combination that is extremely easy to smoke but still has a little complexity to it. It's a tobacco that can be smoked any time and lends itself to the kind of contemplation and serenity that only a friendly type of tobacco can provide. There is no harshness or disconcerting tastes to be found in this blend and it smokes cool and even from top to bottom leaving a fine ash. Some reviews mention HGL as having an overpowering room note or the ability to "ghost" a pipe, but I have not noticed it being anymore intrusive than the average vanilla cased aromatic. If you are a aromatic smoker that is looking for something a little different without getting into heavy lat forward, woody tasting, English blends, then this might be the tobacco for you.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh to aged 1 year
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 07, 2019 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Back in 2017 there was a Lane Limited bulk sale and I noticed HGL. It was described as Herman G. Lane’s, President, Lane Ltd. personal blend so since I like trying blends smoked by well-known people, I bought some. I tried a few bowls, liked it but it found its way back on the shelf until recently. So, this is RLP-6 with a touch of Latakia. I have smoked RLP-6 and am not going to try to compare the two but this blend is smooth, cool smoking and very mildly smoky. As to what percentage of Latakia is in this blend is anyone’s guess but as stated more of a condiment. Well I spread my condiments somewhat thick but I get the point. Really good and if I was an all-day smoker this would be a good one. If you like aromatics with a little mild smokiness then this is a good choice.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dublin Poker
Age When Smoked: 2 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2018 Extremely Mild Mild Very Mild Unnoticeable
This is Lane RLP 6 with Latakia. It’s quite good and an easy smoke that requires no thought to smoke . Highly recommended for the evening contemplations .
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2018 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Strong
I bought this blend unaware of it being an aromatic. There is no other word for it, the tobacco has a strong smell of artificial vanilla and caramel.

In the pipe, it is even more obvious that this has great amounts of added flavouring agents. The tobaccos are more or less irrelevant, I mostly get the taste of sweeteners. Underneath, the burley is the most noticeable tobacco, but who cares.

The room smells strongly of candied smoke too, and it is very hard to get rid of. Two weeks after smoking a couple of bowls of this in a room where I don't usually smoke, the smell is still detectable.

I suspect there is something wrong with the ounces I bought. Anyway, they ended up in the bin after a few bowls. Life's too short.

Edit: After trying another couple of Lane tobaccos, I understand that the strong aromatic component is typical of many American blends. So I guess this is a case of taste rather than quality, and that my taste in pipe tobacco is very un-American. I still think this is awful, but it is probably a decent blend of its kind. I therefore raise the score to two stars, just to be fair. But I will not smoke this again.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Cup O'Joes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
I received a sample of this from my local tobacco shop and to be honest I wasn't really expecting much. Lo and behold, I was pleasantly surprised. I do enjoy cross-over type English blends and I found this to be a very nice, well balanced smoke. A little sweet from the Cavendish, a little nutty from the burley, A little tangy from the Virginia's and a little smoky from the Latakia. I find that some blends with Latakia tend to have too much and it overpowers the rest of the tobacco's, but not so with this blend, as the Latakia seems to be perfectly applied. This blend will not bite, stays lit easily and burned fairly cool, it was a nice easy effortless smoke. I could see myself smoking this all day and I will be ordering more.
Pipe Used: Peterson Donegal Rocky 221
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacco shop
Age When Smoked: 2 weeks
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2016 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I believe there is only a small hand full of pipe blends in the world that has the perfect balance like HGL. I can see why this was Mr. Lane's own blend, it's delicious. Not to sweet, but sweet. Not to smoky, but smoky. Not goopy at all. Billows of pleasure in every bowl. Just an amazing spicy,easy going blend. I'm so glad this is being produced again. Thank you STG for bringing this one back.
Pipe Used: Ashton Old Church Canadian
PurchasedFrom: pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: few weeks old.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"