Lane Limited HGL

(2.92)
Toasted cavendish is laced with mountain Latakia, then blended with white burley and golden Virginia to produce a sweet, fuller-bodied smoke, yet cool and slow burning. The Lat is used as a condiment, not to build a Lat-bomb.
Notes: This is Lane's RLP-6 with a touch of Latakia added.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
21

31

21

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 76 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2017 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Bravo!! You know, I read all the reviews of lighter English blends, and the main complaint always seems to be, " not enough Latakia". Well, some of us enjoy Latakia, but don't want to be submerged in it. HGL is a perfect smoke for me for many reasons... I know there is Latakia in it, but I am not overwhelmed by it..... It is a great smoke.... It tastes great.... AND MY WIFE DOESN'T MAKE THE SIGN OF THE CROSS WHEN I SMOKE IT NEAR HER. I am a devoted follower of this blend.
Pipe Used: Cobs, briars, meers, clays
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: The tobacco? Fresh out of the pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2016 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
An aromatic with a touch of Latakia. For some reason, I really fell out of touch with any blend with latakia in it for most of the past year. I wanted to give it another chance and so I looked for blends with a very light topping of latakia. If there's too much it tastes like sweat in my mouth.

This blend has just enough that it doesn't repulse me, on top of that, the fact that it's added to an aromatic blend helps keep my interest by offering a little sweetness. To top it off, it smoked incredibly cool.

The result for me was a smoky sweet that was way off my usual path of typically straight Va's.

It's very light on the palate and smells fantastic while smoking. Afterwards, I smell like a pleasant smoke that my girlfriend can approve of.

I'd advise this to anyone who enjoys latakia as a topping and any aromatic smoker.
Pipe Used: cob, briar
Age When Smoked: fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 14, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This starts out with good body, richness, and some depth with the Burley, Virginias, and Latakia. The Latakia is balanced with the other components and provides some smoothness. The Latakia proportional flavor is mild, just enough to taste it in every puff. There is a touch of sweetness from either the Cavendish or the Virginias, but not too much. This is a pleasant morning tobacco with just enough complexity to keep it interesting. The strength is mild to medium in terms of nicotine; less than the median. This tobacco took a while to get lit, but once lit it stays lit. The tobacco burns cool, no bite. I'm smoking it in an Orlik Captain Black straight billiard. I particularly liked the balance of flavors; not too much Latakia. I also liked the good tobacco flavor and the way it stays lit.
Pipe Used: Orlik billiard
PurchasedFrom: National Electronics (local store)
Age When Smoked: 6 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Way back in the early 80s when I lived on Long Island there was a tobacconist at a mall, Wally Frank Tobacconist. After I had spend a few months trying various aromatic house blends, one of the guys there suggested that I try some English blends (house blends). He had several English blends and hooked me up with a few ounces of a mild one and a heavier one.

Those two blends were my introduction to latakia, and non-aromatic pipe tobaccos. Wally Frank went out of business, and I moved upstate, and many years went by.

A few weeks ago I decided to order a few Lane bulk blends, one of which was HGL. When they arrived, I opened the HGL, and fired it up. It took me right back to Wally Frank and his mild English blend. I think his house blend was Lane HGL.

This blend is mild, round, sweet for an English, and just enough Latakia to disappoint a regular English smoker, but shock and amaze an aromatic smoker. It smokes cool, packs and lights easily, and has no problem staying lit.

If you have an aro loving friend whom you'd like to introduce to the world of English tobaccos, this is a good starter blend. It tickles the sweet tooth a bits, and has just enough campfire woodsiness to be a simple easy all day smoke.

These days I tend towards virginia blends and burley blends, but every once in a while a small dose of latakia is good for the palate.

Bugenhagen
Pipe Used: MM Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Newly purchased
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Lane's HGL presents as a range of colors from light to dark brown. The tobacco comes on the damp side, even after sitting in the tobacconist's jar for extended periods of time, suggesting a good dosing of PG. Pouch note is very pleasant: subtle vanilla, wrapped in gently applied, yet noticeable, smoky Latakia.

It should be stated that this is not an English blend, nor does it pretend to be. As such, those who smoke mainly English blends should not approach HGL as a light or mild English. HGL isn't even an aromatic English. HGL is what is best categorized as an American English: Primarily burley and flavored Cavendish with some Virginia and a dash of Latakia.

That said, HGL is an average American English. The vanilla is pleasant enough, and the Latakia is a light condiment touch. The flavors are well-balanced. This blend takes a match and performs well enough, despite being damp. It's just that the flavors are somewhat muted and the base tobacco is average, at best. It's hard to complain too loudly about this blend, but it's equally hard to be a raving fan.

For those who enjoy this type of aromatic American-English blend, I recommend Pipeworks & Wilke No. 5 as the pinnacle of the genre, and I would recommend those who enjoy HGL get ahold of some No.5 to see what an expert blender can do with this style of blend. (edit: reading some of the reviews below, I notice I am not alone in making this suggestion)

While I cannot rate this blend higher than two stars, that should not suggest it is a bad blend. Those interested to see what Latakia can add to an aromatic blend should consider this a good starting place.

Note: This blend will ghost a pipe, and I suggest smoking it in a pipe reserved for aromatics rather than English blends.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2013 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
Lane Limited - HGL;

Star Rating = 2.50;

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst;

Pouch Note = 7;

Room Note = 7;

Flavor = 7;

Bite = 7;

Burn = 7;

After Taste = 7;

Raw Score = 42;

Rated Percentage = 70%;

Comment = This has Latakia in it, so I didn't like it very much, a bit of a Bite and a slight After Taste
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 01, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
OK having been a Aro smoker for about 20 years, I was recently bitten by the "Latakia Bug", so just starting my journey into English Blends, and tobacco containing Latakia, and Orientals. I LIKE IT. I ordered a small amount of this with my last order just the about 2 months ago from my on line shop. I really liked it, so now have just received my order for this month, and I had ordered a pound. This is a nice place to start the journey. Not overwehelming, but just enough Latakia to keep me interested. It's rally addicting. This is now going to become my standard everyday smoke, at least for a while. It packs well, lights well with just 2 lights, and smokes all the way to the bottom of the bowl. And the flavor is consistent all through the pipe. Smokes down completely to a light gray ash, and no goop in the bottom like when smoking ARO. This is a good one for those just starting the adventure into "English Blends".
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 12, 2007 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Two years ago, Smokeasaurus accurately described this tobacco. Almost an aromatic. If you are looking for an English blend, don't try this. I recommend this to aromatic smokers who want an introduction to the world of latakia. HGL accomplished this task for me, and I keep some around when I want an aromatic vanilla smoke. Think 1Q with some latakia. Be advised that this weed flavors pipes pretty quickly.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2006 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I remember this as Cricklewood. The Smoke & Snuff stores are gone now, as is HGL...I believe there is a Build a Bear where the shop once was. Oh well.

I never smoked too much HGL. It isn't too bad at first, but over time, it can build up a to be cloying in flavor. It reminded me of RLP-6 with Latakia.

HGL was a decent intoduction to Cavendish blends with Latakia.

However, if you like this style, I would point you to Wilke's No. 5, and Peretti's 102 blend. I think they will be around for a good while...
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2006 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
The more I smoke this stuff, the better I like it. I cant seem to get enough, after smoking back to back bowls. I love the sweet smokey flavor. I feel this is the best crossover blend out there. Burns to a fairly clean dry ash, and no tongue bite. I just had to update this review. Give it a try, it is wonderful.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"