Lane Limited HGL

(2.92)
Toasted cavendish is laced with mountain Latakia, then blended with white burley and golden Virginia to produce a sweet, fuller-bodied smoke, yet cool and slow burning. The Lat is used as a condiment, not to build a Lat-bomb.
Notes: This is Lane's RLP-6 with a touch of Latakia added.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
21

31

21

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2014 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A reading of the reviews for HGL falls into two camps, perhaps three. The first are a number of Latakia heads. Now mind you, Latakia tobaccos are indeed condiments, but not for these smokeheads. Those of you who have or are aware of blending whisky know that a smokey profile like the great single malts of Islay, eg Laphroig 10 year is indeed an acquired taste for those few that enjoy being powered over by this sensation. But the blendmasters of great blended whisky know that it doesn't take much more than a tiny bit to greatly affect the blend.

The same is true in blending tobacco. Some might advise that it takes little more than a touch - say 3 to 5% of a Latakia to achieve the goal of adding a pleasant smokey overtone or background, not the 30 to 50% that the Latakia smokeheads demand, or that they critique this HGL for lacking.

Let's add a third group - those who know what's really in HGL. They know because they were long time buyers with a close relationship with their Lane rep, and can say with some credibility that HGL is simply RLP-6 (great on it's own) with a nice touch of Latakia. They are exactly right.

Now the same can be said for the fervor which some like to attach to classifying this blend. Hey, it's not really an English they condescend, naw it's just a "crossover" or a light American transition blend. For noobs, you know. These attempts to impose classifications that are unclear in the first place is a losing and confusing battle.

Then there are those who found this well done Latakia blend just about right, and said so. Only slightly aromatic, and a well-balanced blend containing Latakia, Burley, Virgina and Cavendish.

In my opinion and experience, I'm going with a third group. These reviewers believe - with good reason - that this is RLP-6 with enough Latakia added to make itself known, but in lovely concert with the rest. It's not a Latakia bomb, and they are glad it isn't. The pouch tone is a smokey RLP, and the taste likewise. The Latakia addition means more attention to drying and re-lighting but within reason. It's just another step up in interest and compexity, a bit stronger, a bit tastier, and still retains that bit of flavoring/room aroma to remain pleasurable for all.

Lane became famous for their 1-Q, whose sales continue based more on momentum than actual taste. Their real stars - in order - are BCA, the HLP-6 and leading to HGL. This order is also a nice way to proceed, to find your own sweet spot. For those who don't like Latakia, the HLP-6 is a great place to call home, but for those who do - add the proper touch of Latakia and hang out with the HGL lovers.

**********

Addenda (years later): To my surprise, I found a couple ounces of HGL that had been stashed for a couple years. I would add only that it simply got better and to my mind, aged VERY well. Enjoy...

Pipe Used: MM Cob - Eaton
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: 1 month
44 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2017 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The tobacco comes at a good level of hydration for me. It is a wide short ribbon, and is about half black with the rest a mix of tan and brown. The pouch note is almost like whiff a sweet BBQ sauce with no vinegar in the base. It is a whiff of brown sugar maybe and a little smokiness.

The smoking experience is good. It is easy to keep lit, and the flavor is a mild caramel with a hint of campfire from the condimental latakia. It did not leave me with a wet heel or require pipe cleaners midbowl. The flavor was fairly consistent. Puffed you get just a little more tart, and something that is almost salty. There might be a little hay from the Virginia when sipped. Black Cavendish often tastes musty to me, and I got none of the musty with HGL.

This tobacco is really a premium OTC from another era. It has a pleasant room note and got favorable comments at the office and at home as well. This is an easy one to repeat. I enjoyed it.

This is a solid 3 in the ratings. It would be easy to make this an all-day smoke.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2020 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Bulk purchase is the only option here I believe. Bag aromas of latakia, vanilla and some fruity notes. I prefer to smoke this a little moist. If it is too dry the flavor is lost. The initial light is easy and let's off a lot of smoke. First flavors are a mild smoky latakia followed by that fruitiness I smelled in the bag. Vanilla flavors make themselves known from time to time as the smoke goes on. There isn't much complexity here, and the smoke doesn't change or evolve much. The body is light and the strength is mild. This is a good smoke with a morning coffee. Overall a decent blend. Nothing too exciting and not offensive either. 2 stars.

Edit Aug 2020 I have smoked more of this in a few different pipes. I think it does best in latakia pipes. I have noticed a really nice toasted caramel flavor at times during the smoke but most often towards the end. This blend must be smoked slow to get the full flavor profile. I am upgrading to 3 stars.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2014 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a pretty decent smoke. I see a lot of reviewers stating that the Latakia is too light. I didn't see it that way. In fact it seemed to be a Latakia forward American English to me. Nice tasting one. The casing is vanilla-like, but not really vanilla. More like sweet cream or even whipped cream to me. It's an enjoyable smoke, but not something I would want to smoke on a regular basis. More of a change of pace blend. Mild in body and mild to medium in flavor.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2021 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
The cut varies quite a bit. Make sure you shake your bag to mix things evenly. There's a good portion of smaller particles that tend to settle at the bottom, so do make it a point to pick a few pinches for your bowl.

This mix lights up easily. Relighting is infrequent. RLP-6 reminds me a bit of sweet banana's floral bouquet. The embers are easily stoked back to life.

As a Latakia* fan, this aromatic concoction is delightful and light enough to even favor as a daily blend. I've enjoyed it's base, LL's RLP-6, and the touch of Latakia makes this a much more interesting proposition.

* To my knowledge, the tri-syllabic city name of Latakia, Syria is pronounced lah-TAH-kiah, not lah-ta-KI-a.
Pipe Used: Venini (2000) burley diplomat
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco Plus, Norcross, GA
Age When Smoked: 2 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Smoking now:

So I’ve been smoking this blend for a while now but didn’t realize it because it goes by another name at a local BnM store. Picked up an ounce of HGL in bulk from an online store which I am smoking now. Bias alert, I love cross over / American English / sweet Latakia blends.

Smells like, musty herbal smoky Latakia and chocolate. Moisture is perfect no dry time needed.

The first few puffs give me those sweet aromatic notes of RLP6 however soon after the Latakia adds a lovely herbal smokey quality to this. The Latakia really changes the profile of RLP6 which is one of my favorite aromatics. The Virginias are toned down by the earthy burley and sweet cavendish. The nougat/chocolate/vanilla flavor of RLP6 is in second place here as the Latakia herbal smoke flavor beats it out slightly. However the two complement each other the the flavor is wonderful.

There’s not much complexity to this and that’s ok. HGL is a pretty sweet, aromatic, vanilla, chocolate, but musty, herbal, smokey all day type of blend. Provides enough Latakia to make this an enjoyable smoke. Little mouth tingle, retrohale is nice, no bite, nice aftertaste, Easy smoke could be done multiple times a day and the price makes it easier to do.

A descent cross over blend for sure. I would recommend to someone who smokes aromatics and wants to get into smoking Latakia/English blends. Looking for a replacement for FM Cellar??? This may be it for you. I love this stuff.

3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Ahhh, HGL. Close to a decade ago I found HGL. I liked the way it packed, smoked, there was nothing negative about it. It was what I looked forward to smoking, unlike anything ever before or since. It had lat, but as a condiment, not out front. There, but not out front. All the tobacco's blended well in a harmony with a caramel/vanilla flavor that only Lane can do. My all time favorite. Then suddenly it was gone... I searched the phone book and the net for people that might just have some left, but no. Any traveling I was looking up shops along the way. Argh! This went on a long time,years. After a while copies started showing up. Some were close but none really had it, I mean really had it. As the corporate changes took place rumor had it it might come back. When it did I bought a pound, cleaned my favorite pipe and started. The cut is not the same. Nor is the flavor. The lat is stronger, which a lot of people will like. It is still mild.The tobacco blend is OK but the Lane caramel/vanilla is completely missing. A great big letdown for me. A big empty spot in the over all flavor. That being said, I have been smoking it, enjoying it for what it is and it is not bad. I will by more when this is gone. Lane if you are listening, tweak it a little. Find out what the old topping was and ad a little then use slightly less lat. You'll sell more of it and make an old fart alot more happy.
Pipe Used: Grabow (old) w/metal filter
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Strong
This is not what I would consider an aromatic. This falls into that ‘crossover’ genre in my opinion. Similar to a Frog Morton Cellar. It definitely has a topping, but it’s not the main player. As I broke up the tobacco and set it to dry, my fingers became a bit sticky. That worried me. It dried out properly after about 15 minutes. After loading up the pipe, I had no issues getting it lit. Smoking the first half of the bowl I was pleasantly surprised. Mild Latakia flavor and a mild vanilla/caramel maybe. Not overly sweet though. Second half of the bowl the Latakia became more prominent and really balanced out the sweet. At this point I would say the body was easily at a medium. Does this tobacco have a sweet topping? Yes. It doesn’t overwhelm the natural flavor of the tobacco though. The room note is very pleasant, but heavy. It lingers big time. I smoked a bowl of Old Joe Krantz in the same room hours later and it still smelled like HGL when I was done. This is likely to ghost a briar. Could bite if not dried properly and/or oversmoked. I’m not an aromatic guy, but I enjoyed this and plan on keeping some around to have now and then.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2018 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Lane Ltd. HGL

I am basing my 3 star rating on value for price of this lovely American crossover blend. No, the tobacco doesn't appear to be of the highest quality, although again it is very acceptable at the price. The topping/casing is not overly heavy (just what you'll find in Lane's RLP-6), the Latakia is of good quality, if a bit muted and flat.

I don't like Lat-heavy blends at this point in my piping career. Once in awhile, a Dunhill Nightcap will hit the spot, but not as often as this does for me. It's ironic to me that one tobacco, popular for its nicotine level and flavor would be suggested as a nightime smoke, as it dries out one's mouth just prior to going to bed.... but I know lots of smokers really enjoy it.

Don't look for nearly that level of Latakia here; HGL is RLP-6 that has been barely kissed by the Cyprian Latakia used here as a condiment.

The resulting blend is superbly smokable; it is smooth, burns very well, leaves virtually no after-smoke refuse in the pipe, exudes a pleasant room note and leaves the smoker smelling nice. It doesn't rate 4 stars for me, because I find it a bit boring. I think a pinch of Oriental tobacco might tweak this up a notch, but as blended this one just isn't all that interesting.

However, based upon flavor, behavior in the pipe and certainly price point, this is a solid 3 star blend, in my book. I've tried to duplicate this using RLP-6 and adding a bit of my own favorite English blends... The result was far less enjoyable than the HGL. HGL is now part of my regular rotation; the four ounces I initially bought went up in smoke in less than a week's time. This one does not provide a big dose of nicotine and therefore is suitable for me as an all day smoke...until I get bored and need to change up. Recommended.
Pipe Used: Large bowl cobbs
PurchasedFrom: Online...not sure which vendor.
Age When Smoked: Fresh from bulk
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Pip
Mar 25, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Another surprise for me as I set the bar pretty low for Lane blends due to its association with the Capt. But low and behold...HGL is pretty good. The tin note was more latakia forward and less sweet that I expected. Also the latakia used in this blend is not a very smoky variety...which in this case is a good thing as it works well. The moisture was perfect and there was no sticky goopy texture to the tobacco at all. It lit right up and there was no bite to be found. As for taste..again not bad for a lat forward aro. You can taste the tobacco and it has smoky and sweet undertones that pretty much last from the top to the bottom of the bowl. Nothing will overpower palette here. The best lat aro in by book Sillems Black but HGL holds its own
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"