Lane Limited HGL

(2.91)
Toasted cavendish is laced with mountain Latakia, then blended with white burley and golden Virginia to produce a sweet, fuller-bodied smoke, yet cool and slow burning. The Lat is used as a condiment, not to build a Lat-bomb.
Notes: This is Lane's RLP-6 with a touch of Latakia added.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.91 / 4
21

30

22

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 04, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The Virginia offers plenty of grass, and some tart and tangy citrus, and is fairly nondescript. I barely get any nuttiness from the earthy, woody burleys, and its molasses flavor is light because the sugary black cavendish overtakes it. It's light on the smoky, woody, musty, floral, sweet Cyprian Latakia, which is fine for those wanting just a little in their crossover English aromatic. The toppings appear to be caramel and a little vanilla,. They moderately tone down the tobaccos. The strength is in the center of mild to medium. The taste level is a notch past that. The nic-hit a shade more than mild. Burns at a reasonable pace, cool, clean and smooth with a very consistent taste. Leaves some moisture in the bowl as it burns wet, bordering on goop. Requires some relights. Won't bite or get harsh. Has a pleasant after taste, and room note. It is an all day smoke. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2007 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This blend was no different from other Lane blends in that at first they are somewhat unremarkable, then, when you hit the zone, the become enjoyable for a while and finally, half way down your pouch they become sickening.

I enjoyed this blend at first but I couldn't finish smoking the few Oz. I bought. After some time all you can taste is PG, simply put the more you smoke it the less you like it.

Some people will probably call me crazy and to be honest they might be right, how can I expect a cheap blend to be good? at 18 bucks per pound it's a no brainer. However, there are other blends in the same price range that are actually quite enjoyable (as in Peter Stokkebye's).

The bottom line is: If you've tried one of Lane's blends you have tried them all; they are all rough, they all taste the same, and they all have the cheapest leaf with tons of PG.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
this is a mild English (and the only one offered by lane for that matter). it is obvious that a veteran pipe smoker/blender like Mr.Lane would choose something other than 1Q I believe. that being said, it is for those who seek mild all day non aromatic or those who would love to venture into the world of latakia. it is barely there to make stand out as an English yet not over sickening when it comes to proportions. latakia is present in the taste however burly is the dominant player. it takes the fire very well and burns relatively slower than other English blends (perhaps the lane usual humidity character was introduced to this mix as well) yet it burns to even ash with no/minimum dottles depend on how fast you smoke it. there is no point of describing the room note as you may know that most natural and defiantly English style blends are not intended to please the others. try it if you like a mild all day non aromatic or you want something with enough strength to start your day
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2022 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
I preface all my reviews that I am a new pipe smoker with only 3 months experience. My reviews are simplistic and for new pipe smokers. I do not have the palate nor artistic linguistics as more seasoned pipers.

Prior to this HGL blend my latakia experience is with Early Morning Pipe or Mixture 965. Both of those have orientals, where HGL does not. It packed nicely and remained lit after char lite and tamp. It burned easy but a little fast, but again I am a beginner and I can over cadence.

The smoky sweet Latakia takes lead but is mild and pleasant. The burley and cavendish offer a smooth lightly sweet base. I get a little hay notes in background but not much sweet flavor from the Virginia. The sweetness of burley, cavendish, and Virginia melds for me as I don’t have the palate to decipher them individually.

For a light Latakia blend I still prefer EMP with the orientals, but for the bulk price Lane HGL offers a good introduction Latakia blend for the beginner. Just don’t over cadence or the Virginia can bite.

UPDATE: As my palate improves and after a second bowl I noticed more of the Captain Black original (without Latakia ) flavor which has a medicinal flavor. I think it’s the fake vanilla topping but leaves an aftertaste as if it’s a sugar free fake vanilla. There are much better English available. This is like pouring liquid smoke in a bowl of ice cream. What’s the point.. but to each his own.
Pipe Used: MM Gentlemen Cob
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: The pipe, or tobacco?
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Lane's HGL presents as a range of colors from light to dark brown. The tobacco comes on the damp side, even after sitting in the tobacconist's jar for extended periods of time, suggesting a good dosing of PG. Pouch note is very pleasant: subtle vanilla, wrapped in gently applied, yet noticeable, smoky Latakia.

It should be stated that this is not an English blend, nor does it pretend to be. As such, those who smoke mainly English blends should not approach HGL as a light or mild English. HGL isn't even an aromatic English. HGL is what is best categorized as an American English: Primarily burley and flavored Cavendish with some Virginia and a dash of Latakia.

That said, HGL is an average American English. The vanilla is pleasant enough, and the Latakia is a light condiment touch. The flavors are well-balanced. This blend takes a match and performs well enough, despite being damp. It's just that the flavors are somewhat muted and the base tobacco is average, at best. It's hard to complain too loudly about this blend, but it's equally hard to be a raving fan.

For those who enjoy this type of aromatic American-English blend, I recommend Pipeworks & Wilke No. 5 as the pinnacle of the genre, and I would recommend those who enjoy HGL get ahold of some No.5 to see what an expert blender can do with this style of blend. (edit: reading some of the reviews below, I notice I am not alone in making this suggestion)

While I cannot rate this blend higher than two stars, that should not suggest it is a bad blend. Those interested to see what Latakia can add to an aromatic blend should consider this a good starting place.

Note: This blend will ghost a pipe, and I suggest smoking it in a pipe reserved for aromatics rather than English blends.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2013 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
Lane Limited - HGL;

Star Rating = 2.50;

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst;

Pouch Note = 7;

Room Note = 7;

Flavor = 7;

Bite = 7;

Burn = 7;

After Taste = 7;

Raw Score = 42;

Rated Percentage = 70%;

Comment = This has Latakia in it, so I didn't like it very much, a bit of a Bite and a slight After Taste
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 12, 2007 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Two years ago, Smokeasaurus accurately described this tobacco. Almost an aromatic. If you are looking for an English blend, don't try this. I recommend this to aromatic smokers who want an introduction to the world of latakia. HGL accomplished this task for me, and I keep some around when I want an aromatic vanilla smoke. Think 1Q with some latakia. Be advised that this weed flavors pipes pretty quickly.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2006 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I remember this as Cricklewood. The Smoke & Snuff stores are gone now, as is HGL...I believe there is a Build a Bear where the shop once was. Oh well.

I never smoked too much HGL. It isn't too bad at first, but over time, it can build up a to be cloying in flavor. It reminded me of RLP-6 with Latakia.

HGL was a decent intoduction to Cavendish blends with Latakia.

However, if you like this style, I would point you to Wilke's No. 5, and Peretti's 102 blend. I think they will be around for a good while...
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2018 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Strong
I bought this blend unaware of it being an aromatic. There is no other word for it, the tobacco has a strong smell of artificial vanilla and caramel.

In the pipe, it is even more obvious that this has great amounts of added flavouring agents. The tobaccos are more or less irrelevant, I mostly get the taste of sweeteners. Underneath, the burley is the most noticeable tobacco, but who cares.

The room smells strongly of candied smoke too, and it is very hard to get rid of. Two weeks after smoking a couple of bowls of this in a room where I don't usually smoke, the smell is still detectable.

I suspect there is something wrong with the ounces I bought. Anyway, they ended up in the bin after a few bowls. Life's too short.

Edit: After trying another couple of Lane tobaccos, I understand that the strong aromatic component is typical of many American blends. So I guess this is a case of taste rather than quality, and that my taste in pipe tobacco is very un-American. I still think this is awful, but it is probably a decent blend of its kind. I therefore raise the score to two stars, just to be fair. But I will not smoke this again.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Cup O'Joes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2013 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Unnoticeable
This is an economics textbook in tobacco form. Birds flying by and smelling the cloud of smoke fell from the air, dead from boredom.

Call it "mellow" or "nuanced" or "well-balanced." I call it boring, flavorless, and a waste of my time.

There was nothing genuinely unpleasant about it, but there was certainly nothing to write home about.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"