Rattray Red Rapparee

(3.39)
Exhilarating and elusive, quaint and seductive. Prepared from choice red Virginias and heavily flavored with Orientals, giving it a red tinge. It burns in the pipe with the spontaneity of a fine cigar. New description: A charming, perfectly balanced dark mixture of Virginia tobaccos, Orientals, black cavendish and a luxurious quantity of latakia. The ash is pale grey and similar to that of a good cigar. A wonderful, spicy mixture.

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
108

76

18

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 50 of 207 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
Red Rapparee is a medium brown mixture with a share of dark, almost black tobaccos. It's a fine ribbon cut that feels rather soft, but not too moist.

The tin note is dominated by the smokiness of the Cypriotic Latakia it contains.

In order to fill my pipe I like to make small balls of tobacco, which I use to stuff the bowl rather loosely. After the charring light I level out the ashes before applying the true light.

To me this is a typical English blend. As far as taste is concerned, the peat fire smokiness of the Latakia and the floral spiciness of the Orientals are in the forefront with a distinct tangy sweetness of the Virginias and the Black Cavendish always in the background, which make Red Rapparee a mellow smoke. The tobacco dosn't require much attention, however, it should be enjoyed with leisure. As long as you smoke it coolly, there's no tongue bite whatsoever. It burns down evenly. leaving some greying, dry ash.

In spite of a certain sweetness from the Virginias and the Black Cavendish, the room note is quite fumy.
Pipe Used: Rattray's 110th Anniversary, Parker Prince
PurchasedFrom: Local Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Red Rapparee ... I have no idea what 'rapparee' means, nor how it's pronounced correctly, but what I DO know is that this is about as close to perfect as it gets when it comes to a classic English/ Oriental blend.

Medium strength but with a full aroma. Complex and well behaved, this has pretty much everything you could want from an Oriental. Great stuff that will always be in my rotation.
Pipe Used: Peterson, Aldo Morelli, Ermanno Elite
PurchasedFrom: Brucciani Ltd
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2013 Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Good Blend nothing out of the usual. Latakia level good. Oriental up front. Smokey & Musky a good thing. But the blend goes flat half way through the bowl. A bit to moist
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoked Red Raparee back in the 1970s. It was not a favorite then because it never stood up to Balkan Sobranie on Dunhill's. However, back then, it had a good strong English edge to it. The new German version is very flat to my taste. Not bad but not really great either.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I struggled between 2 and 3 stars on this, but deferred to 3 due to the quality of the leaf and perhaps a bias on behalf of myself with respect to Rattray.

I had always assumed this was a standard Scottish/Latakia mixture and was surprised to see that it did not contain Latakia, or perhaps a small amount as some contend. It does taste somewhat smoky to me, but that may be due to the oriental varietals used. Whichever orientals are used, the combination tended to run the blend a little dry and sour to my tastes, but at times there were zesty citrus notes that I found enjoyable. Overall of the 100g, I can't say I had too many bowls that were great.

RR is not a go to tobacco for me and I doubt I will ever repurchase it; however, it is quality balkan with shifting flavor profiles that keep it interesting. Anyway, I am not sure how helpful this will be to anyone but myself but it is my two cents.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2012 Very Mild Mild Medium Tolerable
Here is one more in the endless row of "English" tobaccos. It's not bad, but I will not buy it again: there are more valuable alternatives in this class.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 27, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
I know enough to know that this is really quality tobacco.

I also know that there is waaaaay too much perfumey oriental tobacco in here for me to enjoy it.

I rolled the dice when I bought this knowing I don't really care for blends that have oriental as the main component. Keep that in mind if you are like me.

thbg
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
On paper, reading all the reviews here, this should have become a favourite of mine. But in factual smoking it just bores me. I cannot find any fault with this but it took me 4 months to smoke not even a third of the tin.

A friend of mine is now finishing my tin as it has become his favourite tobacco but for me: 2 stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2009 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I reviewed RR a few weeks ago, but it was a bad review because I did not smoke Latakia for several days so the desire of Latakia has influenced my opinion. Now, after trying again RR, I can confirm that is a mixture with a fine flavor and the taste is interesting even a bit edgy, but the thing that disappointed me is that the mixture gets too hot and for me the coolness (especially for a EM) is one of the most important things ..... too important to be able to recommend to you RR.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 30, 2008 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I enjoy red rapparree very much. Most Tobaccos I do, as I avoid pipe tobacco and cigars that seem to be revolting as we all should. To some this may sound arrogant but it is not. It is realistic. Don't smoke crap and for the sake of all that's holy avoid cigarettes. They will kill you! Never mind that they taste and smell like poo. Smoke Cigars, Smoke Pipes, and good cigars and good pipe tobacco at that! Especially pipes!!! Anyway, I am done with my rant and am probably preaching to the choir. Red Rapparee is delicious. It has some nice middle eastern tobaccos, a bit of virginies and a spot o' the tasty all time favorite latatkia. A good all around smoke, though my wife does not like the room note of this... no not at all my precious. Still this stuff is awsome. I like it as much as Hal O'the wynd even though it is so ridiculously different from it that a comparison is absurd. Another good blend from Rattrays, or the German Co. that blends this tobacco. Right tasty stuff!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"