Rattray Red Rapparee

(3.39)
Exhilarating and elusive, quaint and seductive. Prepared from choice red Virginias and heavily flavored with Orientals, giving it a red tinge. It burns in the pipe with the spontaneity of a fine cigar. New description: A charming, perfectly balanced dark mixture of Virginia tobaccos, Orientals, black cavendish and a luxurious quantity of latakia. The ash is pale grey and similar to that of a good cigar. A wonderful, spicy mixture.

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
108

76

18

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 207 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend in the tin reminds me of Black Mallory but a step lighter in color than the previous. One can smell less latakia as well, though it's definitely present. More red virginia sweetness entices the nose from the tin with this blend as well, giving hints of bread, earth, with a bit of hay and tang.

Packed very easily into the pipe and lit well. It remained lit and behaved itself wonderfully. Flavors of smokiness and earth tones balanced against the spice of orientals and natural sweetness for the first 1/4 of the bowl. After that the latakia dies down and the virginias, cavendish, and orientals take center stage. Flavors of natural sweetness, not overpowering, with some bread and earth with the balance of spice and incense, but ever so subtle.

This blend doesn't bite and has a wonderful finish. I'm a fan. It reminds me of a mid-day smoke similar to Meridian (since both have red va's and less latakia as their other sibling (Black-Mallory & Quiet Nights). An enticing and enjoyable blend that I will keep around for years to come.
Pipe Used: Billard, Corn-Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New from store
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Red Rapparee, at least the only version I have smoked (K, K, and Co) comes in proper uniform fine ribbons. This alone endears it to me. The cut makes the tobacco extremely easy to work with. It is a good mixture, which means it has lots of diverse flavors that are pleasing because they both contrast and support one another.

If I were to posit that English mixtures contain four basic flavor elements present in some particular character, strength, and proportion to one another (coffee stout, campfire, cinnamon/spice, and incense), AND that Dunhill's London Mixture has these four in precisely equal proportion, then I would also say that Red Rapparee is balanced heavily to the coffee stout and campfire points of the compass in comparison. It is rich, sweet, and complex, with chocolate, coffee, and woodsmoke flavors dominating, although there is a little spicy twang detectable. I think this flavor profile is common to most of the blends that have the word "Balkan" associated with them.
Pipe Used: cob
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Very Pleasant
I'll get right to the point: This is a remarkably pleasant tobacco with a full oriental flavour without the slightest hint of harshness, even if smoked quick and hot . It really is quite extraordinary and has become my favorite blend after only a month of smoking it.

The can I bought is brand new, fresh packed by Kohlhase und Kopp. So if you would go out and buy a can of Red Rapparee right now, this is what you would get.
Pipe Used: various briar pipes
PurchasedFrom: http://www.pipe-shop.net
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2005 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Splendid stuff! Spicy, musty, rich aromas drift up as you open the tin, with just a hint of smokiness. I can spend ages just smelling ths stuff before I get round to loading a pipe. The red and brown ribbon cut packs with ease if you tease the strands apart a little first, and a single match will kindle it with no trouble, which surprised me considering that it is packed quite moist.

The flavour is dominated by the orientals, savoury, spiced and delicious. A hint of sweetness is provided by the virginias and there seems to be an elusive smokiness somewhere in the background. It has been suggested that this blend contains no Latakia, but I suspect there may be some fired leaf in there. In any case, this is not like miost of the Latakia dominated English blends, the stronged characteristic is the orientals.

The aroma, too is rather different to most English mixtures, very pungent but without the campfire smell. Rather pleasant I think, there are probably those who would disagree.

Personally I like to smoke this stuff quite moist. There was a time when I carefully dried all my English mixtures, as it made the Latakia taste stand out. Orientals definitely work better a little moist, so don't risk loosing this blends seductive complexity drying it out- If you have trouble keeping it lit, just light it again, it doesnt suffer for it.

Highly recommended. To everybody.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
Like the exclamation written by astronomer Jerry Ehman after receiving a truly unique radio signal from deep space on August 15, 1977. This one is "Wow!". I was able to smoke some of this great blend dated Aug 2020 this evening with my Café Mocha and found this blend to be excellent. Something my jaded taste buds could really enjoy. This is considered Scottish due to the Cavendish but most upon tasting it would think “English” I would assume like I did. Nor did I notice a red tinge to the cuts of tobacco as described, mostly black, brown, and light brown. This one has the taste of other blends I have smoked but cannot name them off the top of my head. Though my description may be lacking this is one that I appreciate being able to try as it was a nice sample from a fellow piper. After 187 reviews I can see its popularity.
Pipe Used: Peterson's Dublin Poker
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2019 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Great looking blend in the tin. Lots of thick chunks and some springy ribbons. Arrived a touch moist for me so about half an hour of dry time was needed. Aromas of Latakia, sweet Orientals and earthy Virginia's. This smells and looks great. The pack is easy and the light is taken well. Initial flavors are silky smooth Latakia and oriental notes. The Virginia's are tart and present throughout the bowl. The Latakia is truly a background player . The Orientals and Latakia work in perfect harmony maintaining a smooth silky smoke. The burn rate is slow and even, until a fine ash is all that is left. This can be an all day smoke but I prefer to save it for when I have time to thoroughly enjoy it.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2016 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
On my latest Pipe Club meeting a fellow-member offered us one of his treasures: a RED RAPPAREE of 1974. He carefully kept the tin sealed and cellared for 42 years! Of course, this old-timer is appreciably different from a new one. Pleasant tin note and perfect moisture.

RR is a mild English Mixture. Ageing obviously mellowed the blend. No peaks, no rough edges, just like a soft pillow. Well balanced, not digging deep though, but still offering a complex aroma palette. Each tobacco can easily be identified. Latakia plays a reserved role, accompanying the mild-spicy, rounded-off Orientals. All outstandingly harmonious. The natural tobacco-sweetness has become really delicious through ageing. And there is also this quaint, hidden, kind of soury, outmoded taste, so typical to real vintage blends. What a wonderful experience!
Age When Smoked: 42 years !
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
Classical English mixture. It doesn't excel, but it has no defects. The wish and the will are to realize a perfect English mixture, but really underneath it is still the same old thing. Mild in strenght. In my rating (from 0 to 10) my mark is 7 and two stars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Nice balance between the Orientals and the Virginias with the Latakia in a supporting role providing some depth. Flavors are quite rich and spicy with ample sweetness. A nice, enjoyable medium bodied smoke.
Pipe Used: MM Freehand, MM General
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2007 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
This one just didn't thrill me. Sure, I'm coming from the English side of the aisle, so missing out on the Latakia punch was a bit disappointing. I do like orientals and aged or otherwise-cured VAs, but RR just ... didn't. Tin note was indeed sour, almost vinegary. Packed fine in my Peterson, but the tin note was already setting me in a bad frame of mind. I lit it up and there were the sour O's and the brassy VAs, and I kept wishing for some creamy Latakia to hold it all together. Maybe I like my VAs aged and sweet and crystalline, or maybe I just had my head in the wrong channel that evening, but I really didn't like it. I've since enjoyed other OVA blends like Peterson's "Irish Flake" (really good, but not outstanding) and CAO's "Midnight Ride" (now THAT's a blend.) I jarred up my RR for some basement time and will give it another whirl as summer comes along - but for now I can only give it 2 stars. It seems a bit lacking, and I've had better OVA mixtures. As Dalton says, "Opinions vary."
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"