Rattray Red Rapparee

(3.39)
Exhilarating and elusive, quaint and seductive. Prepared from choice red Virginias and heavily flavored with Orientals, giving it a red tinge. It burns in the pipe with the spontaneity of a fine cigar. New description: A charming, perfectly balanced dark mixture of Virginia tobaccos, Orientals, black cavendish and a luxurious quantity of latakia. The ash is pale grey and similar to that of a good cigar. A wonderful, spicy mixture.

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
108

76

18

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 201 - 207 of 207 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2008 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
Illinois has recently outlawed smoking in bars, so the room-note is based on the reactions of only two people (i) my wife, who loves the scent of RR even in the house, and (ii) a vehemently anti-smoking friend of my sister, whom, at the very moment she exclaimed "what is that [exquisite] smell", was railing against cigarette smoking. The tavern patrons over the last year that I smoked all expressed appreciation. Anyway, such is life. Red Rapparee is the quintessence of an English blend--or Scottish blend, I don't care. It is spicy, smoky and sweet, in that order. I enjoy Old Gowrie, but this blend does not emphasize the "Rattray Virginia" taste of that or similiar blends. Buy a few cans before the anti-freedom persons sell us all out. The cut is rather finer than GLPease or McClelland, which causes the tobacco to stay lit better, IMO. (Though I do like Abingdon and 2035.) If I was not hell-bent on finding *the* *perfect* pipe tobacco, this would probably be it. I give K&K four stars for this exquisite tobacco, and God help them if they discombobulate it.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2007 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Rattray is really a great company for offering a good amount of tobacco for a great price. I got this 100gr tin from Jr's for 9 bucks. Unfortunately it wasn't that much of a winner for me. This blend is very mildly seasoned with latakia and the VAs didn't really announce themselves...so I was left with an Oriental blend that had a nice gentle floral flavor and really not much more...for me, not what I prefer. It had good burning properties though there were a few stems. This is advertised as a medium English, but I think not. This would be a good blender with more full English mixtures or for those who like a very mild English/Oriental.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2004 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong
Like many others, the name is what initially attracted me to this one. Good tin aroma and appearance. Easy to pack.

I really like the tanginess of the orientals in this one. I smoke it in the car on my way home from work. It is a nice way to pass the hour drive.

November 2004
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2004 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
September 2004

I purchased this blend believing that it would be more heavily influenced by its Latakia component, and although I am a big Latakia fan I was not at all disappointed with the predomincance of the Orientals and Virginas. To the contrary, I found this to be a fascinating tobacco. The Latakia was present immediately upon fireup, but then dropped into the background in deference to the complexity of the Turkish. The tang of the Virginia was present throughout, and given my propensity for fast smoking it nipped my tongue a tad. No biggie, though; I thought it was a terrific blend and will definitely keep a tin around.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2004 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I have to confess, unlike some others, the name of this one is not what attracted me. In fact, I had no idea what it meant. (I looked it up) Red Rapparee is what I will refer to as the ?parent? blend of a series of three ? 7 Reserve and 3 Noggins being the other two. RR is the heaviest of the three.

The flavors in RR are indeed quite like those in the other two blends, just much more so. Like the other two blends, the Oriental leads of the opening act, and tones down quickly. The charring light and the first few puffs can be a bit harsh, but this is temporary. The biggest difference I noticed was that the Latakia comes out right after the charring light in a much more pronounced way. The Virginias have enough backbone to show themselves amongst the heavier flavors.

I have to say that this is my favorite of the three. I liked the Va strength in 7 Reserve, and the touch of Latakia in 3 Noggins was good. Red Rapparee tastes to me like a combination of the other two - accentuating the best features of each, and then giving the flavor wheel a few turns upward.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2002 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I bought the tin of Rattray's Red Rapparee at my local JR Tobacco outlet. I hadn't smoked this blend in years. When I opened it at home I noticed a strong, pungent odor. I'm not sure which was more powerful, the Turkish or the latakia. The leaf was ribbon cut with shades of brown ranging from medium to almost black. A little bright Virginia could be seen mixed evenly throughout the tin.

For my first pipe I chose a big Barclay Rex straight grain apple. I filled the bowl to the top and lit it with paper matches. At first the taste was innocuous. This quickly changed with the flavor coming through. It was rich, full and smooth. I smoked the bowl halfway through before I had to relight it at which time I received a burst of flavor. The flavor was consistent as I smoked the dottle down to a tight greyish-white ash. As I cleaned out the pipe I noticed a rich odor pervading the room and I liked it. I imagine this is how the sitting room at 221B Baker Street must have smelled.

Following this experience, I chose a calabash to smoke this blend in. As was expected the blend was more tame in this pipe. The flavor increased as the inner bowl tapered down. Overall, I preferred the consistent smoke provided by the straight-walled briar. Therefore, I chose a pot shape for my next pipe, an old Peterson. The pot is not my favorite shape and this is not my favorite pot, but I enjoyed this smoke. The bowl was cooler to the touch as I smoked this than the apple's bowl, which surprised me. Usually, it's the other way around.

The next pipe was a large meerschaum rhodesian. The blend exhibited a dryer smoke and nuttier flavor in this pipe, very enjoyable. It was the best smoke I had in this pipe in recent memory. I followed this with a couple of small briars, a Donegal billiard and a panel marked Strasbourg. The petite Pete provided a consistent smoke throughout, which is a testament to the cut of the leaf and the thoroughness of the blending. The smoke was a little hotter than in the larger briars, but just a little. The panel was a little less flavorful, but that is typical for this particular pipe.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Not really too much I can add on to Noorrmm's review, accept to say I agree with his measure of this blend. This is a blend that I keep an ample supply of. I agree with his statement that there is a slight loss in edge, however, it is still a wonderful smoke. Highly Recommended.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"