Rattray Red Rapparee

(3.39)
Exhilarating and elusive, quaint and seductive. Prepared from choice red Virginias and heavily flavored with Orientals, giving it a red tinge. It burns in the pipe with the spontaneity of a fine cigar. New description: A charming, perfectly balanced dark mixture of Virginia tobaccos, Orientals, black cavendish and a luxurious quantity of latakia. The ash is pale grey and similar to that of a good cigar. A wonderful, spicy mixture.

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Scottish
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
108

76

18

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 61 - 70 of 207 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
1/2
Dec 07, 2019 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This one was recommended to me by Sol Cigar shop in Oslo. I happened to be in the city for one day and the store was recommended to me by a fellow member of the Norwegian pipe smoker community.

This tobacco is quite Nice, especially If you like English and Scotish blends. The flavours are distinct and pleasant, the aroma is one my wife noted as quite pleasant (no Wonder as I tend towards English blends) The tobacco burns Nice and cool. All in all, a very good tobacco to enjoy with coffee or cognac
Pipe Used: Dagner
PurchasedFrom: Sol Cigar as
Age When Smoked: New from store
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2019 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is a very nice tobacco. As many reviewers have noticed, this is an oriental-forward blend, although the taste is very balanced. Very pungent, some slightly leathery notes, with some nuttiness and tanginess. I have the impression the latter are the orientals-latakia input. There is some virginia-oathy properties every now and then. Almost no sweets spots. The best way I can describe this blend’s profile is as very intense without being heavy. Perfect combustion. The room note might rub some people the wrong way. Similar to Gawith’s Skiff Mixture, but the latter is milder and more floral.
PurchasedFrom: Mysmokingshop
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 03, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Another sample from my local tobacco specialist, offering an expected dark and bright leaves and delivering woody, spicy, and grassy notes. It is of perfect moisture, packs really well, and lights simply.

Once lit, it stays lit, and delivers sweet Latakia-woodiness, whilst the Virginia offers sweet and grass like notes. The orientals too dances on the palate with spicy notes, prevalent with pink peppers. The two former bring the most distinctive notes to the smoke, which is is of a slightly more than medium body.

All in all, it’s a good smoke, offering a fine introduction to Latakia.

UPDATE

Reading the other reviews now, the woodiness seems to be prevalent in Orientals as well, (proving my novice), but meaning the tobaccos intermingle well with each other.
Pipe Used: GL Lillehammer 10
PurchasedFrom: Sol Cigar Oslo
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Medium-strength E.M., with a full note of incense (must smoke slowly and as cold as possible to appreciate), spicy at the beginning, earthy and more smoky during the second half, and a little leathery at the end (nicotine is, for the most part, in the last third). One of my preferred E.M., and without a great amount of nicotine.
Pipe Used: many briars
PurchasedFrom: local tabacconist
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Great flavour, I am a Rattary fan it has to be said and love the marlin, gowrie and htw, The red rap follows on in the tradition of good quality red vg with spice and fruity zest a plenty. This provides the fore taste to this brilliant English tobacco. the orientals and latakia just flow in with ease and the whole smoke just melds around your tongue until you exhale and just go straight back for more of the thick lush taste.

With any blend balance is key to enjoying it and this is by far my favourite English I have smoked so far with the smokey latakia taking a back seat but still singing I'm here all the way through the smoke. If I could give this ten stars I would.
Pipe Used: stefano exclusive briar
PurchasedFrom: g q
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
ATW
Dec 11, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I get a hint of flavor kind of similar to Dunhill 965 but for the most part it lacks in flavor after the first 1/4. It also bites me and burns hot. That's probably why it lacks in flavor because my taste buds get fried so quickly with this stuff. I jarred it up but I'm not getting my hopes up. It's already aged about a year so in 6 more months if there is no change then I'm throwing this one out.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend really hits it out of the park for me. The various components come together to form a blend that, for me, really says what a mild English is supposed to be. It comes out of the just opened tin a bit moist to some I am sure, but a little drying time will solve that. It lights easily enough and stays lit with little extra effort needed. The smell in the tin is just wonderful, as is the room note. This seems to burn on the slower side of things, which is fine with me. The more time to enjoy this fine blend, the better. When you work your way to the bottom of the bowl, there is a fine ash left with little else mixed in. The nicotine level is on the light side for me. All in all, highly recommended when its available in your neck of the woods.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
The virginia and orientals are in perfect harmony in this blend. The Latakia is a supporting role. Not to much, but for myself not enough. It packs easy and smokes perfect. But it will bite if you puff to hard. It has a very nice floral smell with a smoky overtone. Medium in strength. I like the blend but it is just to mild medium for myself. Peace.
Pipe Used: Ashton billard
PurchasedFrom: 4 noggins
Age When Smoked: 5 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Being relatively new to the world of pipes, I wanted to start with a blend that I smoke a lot of and this is as good a place as any....

Out of the tin, this tobacco needs a few minutes to dry as it seems to steam quite a bit if I don't....

I reach for this one when I am looking for a medium bodied English that I don't have to think about... delicately spicy with touches of the Orientals shining through here and there...

My wife isn't a big fan of the aroma on this one but I find it to be quite pleasant ... nothing offensive at all...

Pipe Used: Cob
Age When Smoked: 6 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
While i like blends with orientals i don't care for this one. After puffing on this one for about 5 large bowlfuls. i find the taste of the orientals over powering. its starts off soft then gets stronger as you smoke it.I can't find anything else taste wise in this smoke. room note is the same as with most latakia blends. you either like it or you don't. This is not one i will revisit, and would gladly trade this off.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"