Peterson Early Morning Pipe

(3.13)
Sweet Oriental carefully blended with bright and red Virginias, pressed and lightly stoved. Great as the "first pipe" arousing the palate for the further pleasures of the day.
Notes: Alfred Dunhill’s blending has produced for this ‘Early Morning Pipe’ a tobacco that will charm away the cobwebs-leave one aroused and eager for the day’s round. A delicate blend of gentle Virginia and flavourful Turkish. – late 1970’s. Oriental tobacco is carefully blended with bright and red Virginia, pressed and lightly stoved, enhanced by medium fired latakia. -1985 Previously released by Murray's and Sons, UK. Formerly known as Dunhill Early Morning Pipe, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.13 / 4
255

218

90

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 605 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2013 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoke aromatics more than I do English blends and I don't smoke very often.

If you are a bit of a weekend warrior with smoking like me then this is a good English blend for you to try.

It is the most finely cut tobacco I have smoked to date, which I think is why it smokes down so consistently and so nicely (just ash at the end of most smokes). The flavor is pretty mild so I can see why folks who smoke daily would get bored with this but for me (1-2 bowls a week on average) it is perfect. It is not sweet like an Aro, but it won't leave you smelling like you slept in a cigar bar the night before.

[RABBIT TRAIL] It has been my experience that the more frequently I smoke, the more I have a taste for stronger English blends.

For example, if I have smoked 3-4 times in a given week and light up a bowl of Billy Budd (which is a full English tobacco) it is actually quite enjoyable. However, if I have gone 2+ weeks without smoking and light up a bowl of Billy Budd... well, it's nasty. Way too strong, and too much flavor.

Not so with EMP. I can light up a bowl of this pretty much whenever and I consistently enjoy the crap out of it[/RABBIT TRAIL]
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend has been around forever, and has been enjoyed by many generations of pipe smokers. I looked up the date that it was first introduced to the market, and near as I can tell it was first introducted in 1912. Ever wonder how a blend remains a top seller for over 100 years? Simple, really - it's very good. EMP is very good - very, very good.

I think that it's been so popular for so long because of its simplicity. It's comprised of Virgina and Oriental leaf. There may or may not be some Latakia in there, but if it is it is only in trace amounts. The color is a pleasing blend of brown and tan tobaccos, and the tin note has a nice Oriental sweetness to it. There is also something vaugly smoky in there, and that may or may not be Latakia. Whatever the case, it's just wonderful. The tin note doesn't really translate to room note, because the room note is just a light tobacco aroma. Very nice. Call it cigarette-like if you care to, but to me (and my wife) it's just a pleasant tobacco aroma.

This is not a blend to smoke if you're looking for some sort of deep experience from your pipe, or you want to play with a broad palate of nuanced flavors. This is a blend to smoke if you just want to mindlessly enjoy a bowl of tobacco while reading or just bumming around the house. True to it's name, it is jut awesome in the early morning hours when you have nothing to contend with but peace and quiet - and a good mug of coffee. In a way, it has a classic OTC character to it. Just fill, char, tamp, light, and puff away. No need for fancy packing techniques, no need for constant relights, and no need to concentrate on it to try to pick out it's sublte hues.

I'm of that generation that was brought up to believe that Dunhill tobaccos are the pinacle of pipe tobaccos. I still think that they are shining examples of class and sophistication, where less is more and elegance is best expressed in an understated manner. (What C&D and Pease blends want to be when they grow up). This blend is no exception, and it is Dunhill's answer for the discriminating pipe smoker who wants a blend that he or she can just kick back and enjoy in those rare moments when life, family, and career are not imposing their demands upon us... those early mornings when it is just us, our cup of coffee, the morning paper, and peace and quiet.

But don't be put off my the "morning" conotation to it, because it is enjoyable thought the rest of the day as well - when all you want is just a nice bowl of tobacco to enjoy on your smoke break, lunch hour, or just doing nothing but enjoying a pipe.
123 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This tobacco was good so good, that it reminded me of a time long ago....

Place, Vietnam. The Year is 1965. The Month, June. Day: The 7th; AKA Day 282 in 'Nam for me. June was the rainy season for 'Nam. I had been given some leave time from my base in Saigon and so I went to explore the City, like usual, my buddies didnt get leave, but I hoped to find some more GI's in some of the local bars. It was unseasonably dry that day. No rain. It was nice for once to not deal with dagum water in the shoes. I felt good, like it was going to be a swell day; I had every reason to think so. A week before, I had killed 10 Charlie in one night. I was satisfied. And now I had leave, who could ask for anything more?

I stopped in at a bar in the East Side of Saigon called Do Phing Pan Ngo, where all the action was. The bar was bustling with GI's. Different guys trying to sweep some exotic doll off of her feet and into the bed. I had similar plans. I walked to the bar and ordered myself a tall one, ready to relax and find a target. Then it happened. She walked in lookin like something out of a dream. So gorgeous, she was with her sexy Vietnamese hips and supple behind. I knew what had to be done. I ordered another beer, and started over to her. Just before I did, some officer cut in front of me. Dam. He had beat me to the punch. I was just a lowly grunt. There was nothing that I could do. The babe started shooting me looks as the Officer was talkin her up. I knew this would be my only chance to get laid until i was sent back into the jungles to fight charlie. Charlie would always be there. This doll wouldnt. I made my move. As I did it, I felt my balls grow 3 times larger. A grunt was about to steal a woman from Officer. I approached her; didnt say a word and just took her hand and left with her, leaving the officer to shove it. I led her off to a small hotel room where we made love with out even speaking. We made love many times before the morning of the next day came, i wish I could remember the number, but I lost track after 30. I would have set a company record.

As she is there sleeping I got up to watch the sun rise over beautiful Saigon, with a gentle mist sweeping the rooftops that morning and I smoked a fat stogie in honor of my recent accomplishments. It was the most incredible feeling in the world, despite my man tool nearly falling off. The beautiful woman was still asleep after having the night of her life. I dressed, and left the room, but not before leaving her my picture so that the kid would one day know who his or her father was. And with that I left, returning to base and eventually leaving 'Nam, never to return.

Early Morning Pipe felt like that special morning in Saigon.
75 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Cyprian Latakia is smoky, earthy, woody, musty sweet as the lead component. The red Virginia is a little tangy, dark fruit sweet with some earth and wood, while the lemon Virginia adds light tart citrus and grass as supporting players. The red Virginia is just a little more noticeable than the bright. The dry, slightly sour and buttery sweet, earthy, lightly floral, vegetative, barely spicy, woody Turkish/Orientals competes with the Virginias for attention. The strength is a step short of the center of mild to medium, while the taste is a couple of slots past that center. The nic-hit is a couple rungs past the mild mark. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a very consistent mildly sweet and savory flavor from top to bottom. Requires an average number of relights, leaves little dampness in the bowl, and won't bite or get harsh. Has a pleasant, short lived after taste, and room note. By design, it's an all day smoke. Two and a half stars.

The Murray's version was much richer in flavor, and I give that production three and a half stars. But the difference is not night and day.

-JimInks
69 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2007 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
EMP is a unique smoking experience as it contains all of the elements of what should be a strong blend, yet Murray's was able to pull back on the throttle just enough to give the smoker an "English" experience without being obtrusive.

EMP is mellow, mild, stays lit well, and delivers a sweet and unique taste seldom found (if ever), in any other blend of this type.
46 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2009 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Update 2/17/14

Chanced into this from someone that was curious about how I felt H&H Daybreak compared to this. I haven't finished that tin yet but I smoked enough of this to re-familiarize myself with it. My original review stands, as I find this too limp-wristed for me. It has a gorgeous sour and thick tin aroma and an excellent room note as well, but the flavor is just too light. I can certainly see why it has it's fans, but it just isn't for me. I sure wouldn't mind being around someone who was smoking it, though! Dunhill latakia blends have a certain pungent tin note that Orlik has maintained, but this one is all aroma, little flavor IMHO.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 7/8/09

Let me put my bias out in the open and upfront: If a blend is going to contain latakia, it must either contain enough to drive the blend OR the other tobaccos must be flavorful enough to pick up the slack. Otherwise, what you have is a bland, dull tobacco blend. Such is the case here. I realize this is supposed to be light and mild, as a "first smoke of the day" but this blend would put me back to sleep. I find little going on here, other than a possible palate cleansing to separate two bowls of zestier tobacco blends. This was a Murray's era tin, by the way.

Ok, another bias - I'm no huge fan of Dunhill tobaccos as a rule. If they came back only with Elizabethan and 965, I would not miss the others at all. There's nothing really wrong with them but there's not much to recommend them, either. This one appears an afterthought - as though they decided they simply HAD to offset the heaviness of Nightcap (another uninspiring blend) with something wimpy and bland. There's red virginia in here??? They covered it up nicely, but how and with what?? Nothing asserts itself here.

Finally, some objectivity! My biases aren't necessarily yours. A lot of people like this and if you enjoy light, mild balkan blends, you should definitely give this a spin. Hopefully you like it more than I did. I'm packaging up what's left of my tin and shipping it off to a friend who enjoys it.
39 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Appearance: Typical Dunhill broad ribbon cut, about 70% medium and light leaf, 30% dark.

Aroma: The Virginias seem to be on the sharrp side, rather than sweet and mellow. There is a fairly good Latakia and urkish presence.

Packing: Packs easily into medium and large pipes.

Lighting: Again, typical Dunhill. Always needs a full charring light. Slow, steady burn rae follows immediately.

Initial flavor: First taste is slightly harsh, not as gentle as I expected. There is more strength of flavor here than in Std. Mild Mixture.

Mid-bowl: This is not my wake up pipe tobacco. It seems to be more of a medium blend, but harsher than most other Dunhill?s. There is nice complexiy from the condiments, but the sharp edge keeps me from enjoying it. It also causes me to produce more saliva as a reaction to the flavor.

Finish: Even harsher at the end.

Summary: Not a nice tobacco at all, IMHO. It needs more mellow red Va. to smooth it down. It?s hard for me to imagine why this is as popular as it is.
31 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
I'm new to pipe smoking, and have smoked cigars in the past and always enjoyed the more fuller tasting ones. I haven't a clue as to why people that are new to pipe smoking are always told to start with an aromatic. I've tried and smoked at least a 1/2 a dozen aromatics and always found them lacking something. Sure, the g/f always mentions how great they smell, but when I'm smoking them I can't smell a thing.

And then there was EMP....I bought an ounce of EMP to try to "venture" out in the "English" blend world, and I have to say, it was a good thing I was sitting down when I had my first light of this magic. Not because it's strong, but I was so surprised at how great it tasted. Nothing like the aromatics I've ever had. The smoke was tasty, and a more complex than anything else I've smoked in the past. The taste and smell of the latakia, and the orientals really played their parts well. I sat there for a good hour enjoying the hell out of my first "real" bowl of tobacco. The next day I ordered a full pound, and threw out most of the aromatics I had.

They say you never forget your first love, and I think this will have to be mine.(in regards to tobacco that is) There's always have a place for EMP in my cellar.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars in Bulk
Age When Smoked: New
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2013 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
If you're looking to move beyond aromatics to dabble in the realm of the English blend, what better way than to purchase a tin of Early Morning Pipe from one of England's most renowned tobacconist names? Dunhill is as synonymous with tobacco as Nike is with athletic footwear. It's the perfect place to start when seeking an introduction to English blends.

Early Morning Pipe is great on its own, but I found it wanting a little help from its big, grizzled brother, Nightcap. Adding some Nightcap to Early Morning Pipe is like putting a leather jacket and red bandana on Basil Rathbone...

About a month ago I found myself in a curious predicament: I had half a tin of Dunhill Nightcap and about three-quarters of a tin of Dunhill Early Morning Pipe. The Nightcap was a tad too strong, the EMP was a tad too soft. So what did I do? I mixed them together in a large mason jar with the intent to establish a nice medium-bodied Dunhill English. And the result has been absolutely wonderful! Matter of fact, it's the blend I smoke most often.

I've ingeniously dubbed it: "Early Morning Nightcap."

So if you, like me, find Early Morning Pipe to be ohhhh soooo delicious but maybe a bit too soft, mix a little Nightcap in there with it, christen the blend "Early Morning Nightcap," and there you have it, a beautiful Dunhill medium-bodied English blend that smells and tastes as good as you could imagine.
25 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2002 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
One of my favorite English blends. Complex, shifting flavors. Very well-integrated Oriental tobaccos with a restrained Latakia element. This is my favorite Dunhill, and Dunhill's only Latakia blend that I like. It was one of my first tobaccos, and has stood the test of time magnificently.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2010 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Many say that absence makes the heart grow fonder. Since I am reviewing this while smoking what little EMP I have left, I guess it could taint my review. I have always loved the Dunhill blends, especially EMP. It leads with wonderful Orientals with the Virginia's and Latakia playing great supporting roles. EMP has a subtle sweetness with a "leathery, toasty" taste. The topping is, I am nearly sure, a fine mist of scotch applied so lightly that the spirits flavor normally found in some blends can easily be mistaken for something else in this blend. I find Red Rapparee as my new "go to" in this category. EMP will sadly be missed. Like many folks, I have sent a note of protest to BAT. Hopefully they will sell the blend to another manufacturer.

UPDATE 2/10/11. I enjoy the Orlik EMP very much. It is my desert island smoke. I disagree with those that say this is half strength and half taste of the Murray's. I think that opinion is true of the Orlik 965 but not of EMP. I have smoked EMP every day of my pipe smoking life and tasted an entire sleeve of Murray's side by side with Orlik and Orlik might be just very slightly lighter, but its so close that I think many would have a very hard time in a blind taste taste. Don't be swayed by old memories. Still highly recommended!
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"