Peterson Early Morning Pipe

(3.13)
Sweet Oriental carefully blended with bright and red Virginias, pressed and lightly stoved. Great as the "first pipe" arousing the palate for the further pleasures of the day.
Notes: Alfred Dunhill’s blending has produced for this ‘Early Morning Pipe’ a tobacco that will charm away the cobwebs-leave one aroused and eager for the day’s round. A delicate blend of gentle Virginia and flavourful Turkish. – late 1970’s. Oriental tobacco is carefully blended with bright and red Virginia, pressed and lightly stoved, enhanced by medium fired latakia. -1985 Previously released by Murray's and Sons, UK. Formerly known as Dunhill Early Morning Pipe, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.13 / 4
255

217

90

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 217 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Really enjoyed this blend for the mornings, or anytime during the day. You gotta be in the mood for it - it's got a sharpness to it. Smells great in the tin, and tastes delicious. Mild, toasty, sweet hay, easy smoke. Left a slightly sweet taste in my mouth as an aftertaste which is not a bad thing! Fine white ash in the bowl. Room note is slightly on the cigarette smelling side, however. Can get a tad bitter - but mostly good sweet and tangy tobacco smoke.
Pipe Used: Dr Grabow grand duke, MM eaton, Dunhill estate.
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars online
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Been smoking this pretty regularly for a very long time (first tin in the late 70s). The blending notes always, until the switch to Orlik, included latakia. i don't care what anyone says, there's still some in every batch. Regardless, still good at any time of the day. I'm a sucker for light English, oriental forward blends and this does very well. As others have noted, it can get a bit bitter towards the end (last fifth) of the bowl if smoked in anything larger than a mid-sized pipe.
Pipe Used: ben wade bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes; pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 18 months
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dunhill - Early Morning Pipe.

One of my first reviews that seemed rubbish, so I've had another bash!

The ribbons are on the smaller side, so there's no chunks or clumps in the tin; it's practically a shag cut. Moisture can't be faulted, it's a case of 'open, load, and light', without wasting any time on airing.

On to the smoke: it's a fairly full flavour, but I get no sharp/harsh notes of Latakia, I'd call it a milder English. To me, the flavour seems totally natural: I get no undertones of added flavouring, or anything. I enjoy the first few minutes, but then I begin to notice the heat from it, and this lessens the rating. Also, if I'm honest, the lack of Latakia piquancy begins to bore me; I want to turn down the Orientals, and crank up the Lat'!

The room-note's not too good, and the nicotine's medium.

This is a top quality smoke, it just isn't my idea of how an English should taste. Taking any subjective factors out of the equation leaves a four star blend, but it's worth only two stars to my taste.

That, in my mind, makes three seem fair!

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Mastro Geppetto
PurchasedFrom: My smoking shop
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
A lot has been written about it. In the 80s and 90s it was part of my rotation and I have not smoked it since. Recently I bought a tin to go for it once again, just for a change and revive memories.

It’s a straight forward English mixture, very simplistic though. No complexity of aromas. Nevertheless, nice Virginias and nice Orientals. I cannot make out any Latakia. But there could be a little fire cured Orientals that deliver this hidden smokiness. What I particularly like, is that touch of sourness, that you first smell when opening the tin and accompanies the taste when you smoke it. It may originate from a different fermentation of some Virginias. There is some sweetness, too, but quite discreet. The sharpness rather comes from the Orientals.

EMP is a good smoke for in between. Not for those special, relaxing, delightful moments. EMP has been on the market for one hundred years, it definitely has its place among the classicals.
Pipe Used: Turkish Meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist.
Age When Smoked: New, out of the tin.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I really like this blend. I might even grow to love it someday. Although the Latakia is light, it's always present. The Orientals add a nice sour woody touch. I can't say that I can taste the Red Virginias, but the Brights are very clear. They make this blend for me adding wonderful sweet citrusy notes that counter the other components perfectly. This is a great flavor profile. I like strong blends in the morning and evening and mellower fare in the afternoon. This fits nicely in the afternoon slot. 3.5 stars.

Mild to medium in body and flavor. Burns like a charm.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Mark Twain, Patriot
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the first premium pipe tobacco I ever bought, purchased from a local vendor, before I started handing over my military pension every month to smokingpipes.com and 4noggins. (That first tin bought in Canada at market price cost me $50!) For about the first month of my pipe odyssey this was the only thing I had to smoke, and I soon became very bored with it. This may be no fault of the tobacco. Anything can become boring, I guess, if it's all you have. Just ask most married people. (Though I should say that I love my wife and would have no other, unto eternity, amen.)

Hearing of the imminent (supposed) demise of Dunhill tobaccos, I bit the bullet and cellared a few more tins of Royal Yacht, 965, Nightcap, Durbar, etc., but held off on EMP, making a bulk purchase for immediate evaluation. I have to say, I looooooove the way this stuff smells. I've already developed a certain amount of nostalgia for the tin note. And I realize this is not meant to be a full-flavoured, "deep" experience. As a light english, I suppose it fills a niche. But there are just sooooo many more superior blends available on the market today, and so many I haven't even tried yet, that EMP, at least in its current Orlik iteration, doesn't make the cut. I'd much rather smoke Meridian or Red Rapparee or White Knight, etc. Maybe the comparisons aren't fair, but the bottom line for my pallet is that EMP simply lacks much flavour and becomes tiresome in fairly short order.

The other thing is, since I'm not a morning person, this product seemingly lacks applicability to my life.

Update 2018-10-13

Went back to this jar of EMP, and what do you know? the flavour has opened up quite a bit. It seems to me like all Dunhill tobaccos need about 6 months in a jar before they taste like much. I've actually been enjoying this in the mornings (what do you know?) now that fall is in the air. (Plus my wife and I have had our first child so mornings — of necessity — have become a thing for me...once in a while.)

When I first smoked this (as a newb) I guess I was expecting more smoky Latakia flavour, but I appreciate this for what it is, which is mostly a virginia and oriental-dominant blend, with a bare smidge of Latakia. I've seen this compared to Royal Yacht, which I couldn't understand in the least at the time, but now, it seems the Virginia component here is in the same ballpark, and maybe even has a bit of the same sauce on it. I still find this very light in flavour, and it seems (imho) to have — like — zero aftertaste. Nevertheless it's good for early morning dog walks, and (like most Dunhills) nothing else really compares to it. I think this blend does exactly what it is meant to do, and if that's a worthwhile trait, then it's hard to fault it. I'm upgrading my rating from 2 to 3 stars, but I think this needs to be aged before it's really any good.

(I've recently purchased a few tins of this because it is about to go extinct!)
Pipe Used: Various briars and cobs
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh and aged up to 3 months.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Well, a classic English blend. Fresh outside the tin you can smell the orientals and the latakia. Red Virginia is present but not dominant when you light it up. If you choose to cellar this tobacco, it's going to develop a sweet taste and the leatherness of the latakia will fade away but in a positive way.

Burns cool without any tonge bite.
Pipe Used: Briar
Age When Smoked: 3 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 24, 2020 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note for me is is quite nice. Slight smokiness, ever so light Virginia hay and that wonderful slightly sweet/sour oriental. Packs and smokes nicely with only a couple relights. Taste for me is oriental forward with slight Virginia sweetness followed by a soft Latakia. Overall this is a good mellow smoke.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Roma 305
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the blend that drove me to the conclusion that people try too hard to categorize blends, or maybe that the way the categories are defined are kind of meaningless. I love so called "Balkan" blends...and this tastes nothing like what I would taste in those other blends. This is an oriental forward blend. It is subtle and mild. The tin note is so unique, I love the woody smell of the orientals. the Latakia is almost not detected but adds a sweetness to the scent. This is a woody, nutty smoke and as the name suggest is a great way to start the day. Goes great with coffee and has almost no nic hit.

I have done a 50/50 with London Mixture and it is an outstanding blend...but that is not for this review.
Pipe Used: Briar, meerschaum and cobs
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: 1 year
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 18, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a great, mellow English. As we can see, much ink has already been spilt reviewing this classic blend, so I will be brief. The main thing that I'd like to add is that as someone who is currently not a heavy latakia smoker, I can confirm that latakia is certainly present in this blend. That seems to be an open question for some reviewers. It is included with a light hand indeed, but it is definitely there. I can see how latakia fiends might not be able to detect such a slight amount, but as someone who doesn't smoke it often I always notice when it is present.

I find the blend to be a refreshing mild English with a nice light Oriental/Balkan character. It is a rare combination in that it is fairly mild yet (IMO) also fairly complex and interesting. I would think that it would be a nice change of pace to add to just about anyone's rotation. Three and a half stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"