Peterson Early Morning Pipe

(3.13)
Sweet Oriental carefully blended with bright and red Virginias, pressed and lightly stoved. Great as the "first pipe" arousing the palate for the further pleasures of the day.
Notes: Alfred Dunhill’s blending has produced for this ‘Early Morning Pipe’ a tobacco that will charm away the cobwebs-leave one aroused and eager for the day’s round. A delicate blend of gentle Virginia and flavourful Turkish. – late 1970’s. Oriental tobacco is carefully blended with bright and red Virginia, pressed and lightly stoved, enhanced by medium fired latakia. -1985 Previously released by Murray's and Sons, UK. Formerly known as Dunhill Early Morning Pipe, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.13 / 4
255

218

90

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 605 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dunhill - Early Morning Pipe.

One of my first reviews that seemed rubbish, so I've had another bash!

The ribbons are on the smaller side, so there's no chunks or clumps in the tin; it's practically a shag cut. Moisture can't be faulted, it's a case of 'open, load, and light', without wasting any time on airing.

On to the smoke: it's a fairly full flavour, but I get no sharp/harsh notes of Latakia, I'd call it a milder English. To me, the flavour seems totally natural: I get no undertones of added flavouring, or anything. I enjoy the first few minutes, but then I begin to notice the heat from it, and this lessens the rating. Also, if I'm honest, the lack of Latakia piquancy begins to bore me; I want to turn down the Orientals, and crank up the Lat'!

The room-note's not too good, and the nicotine's medium.

This is a top quality smoke, it just isn't my idea of how an English should taste. Taking any subjective factors out of the equation leaves a four star blend, but it's worth only two stars to my taste.

That, in my mind, makes three seem fair!

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Mastro Geppetto
PurchasedFrom: My smoking shop
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 17, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
A lot has been written about it. In the 80s and 90s it was part of my rotation and I have not smoked it since. Recently I bought a tin to go for it once again, just for a change and revive memories.

It’s a straight forward English mixture, very simplistic though. No complexity of aromas. Nevertheless, nice Virginias and nice Orientals. I cannot make out any Latakia. But there could be a little fire cured Orientals that deliver this hidden smokiness. What I particularly like, is that touch of sourness, that you first smell when opening the tin and accompanies the taste when you smoke it. It may originate from a different fermentation of some Virginias. There is some sweetness, too, but quite discreet. The sharpness rather comes from the Orientals.

EMP is a good smoke for in between. Not for those special, relaxing, delightful moments. EMP has been on the market for one hundred years, it definitely has its place among the classicals.
Pipe Used: Turkish Meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist.
Age When Smoked: New, out of the tin.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2015 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
Known in the hallowed halls of Pipe-smoking geekdom as “EMP” – Early Morning Pipe, as the name would suggest, is artfully blended to be enjoyed as the first pipe of the day waking up the palate with a full-dose of Oriental and Turkish leaf backed up by a mix of bright and dark Virginias brought together by a generous bit of Latakia.

Despite the name, EMP is not a beginner’s top-of-the-morning smoke unless you consider MMA fighting a mere 'scuffle'. It’s a medium-bodied blend that delivers a good hit of nicotine (that’ll wake anyone right up) and is quite powerful although not as nuanced and enveloping as London Mixture, for example, but very much related.

With less Latakia than London Mixture, and certainly Mixture 965 (Dunhill’s “Latakia bomb”) the Orientals shine through bright and clear with an almost creamy mouth feel. Smoke it hot and it'll put a million pin-needles in your nostrils however... this blend begs for a slower puff and a larger bowl to truly get all the layers to unfurl fully.

Why do most bonafide wine collectors and cognoscenti revere Burgundy? For the same reason this is one of many pipe-smoker's go-to blend and it's easy to understand why.

In fact EMP was a blend a took to early, and sort of left it as I began to experiment more and more with the likes of Pease's, McClelland, and H&H's other English-Orientals... and yet I always come back home to EMP.

Like a doting wife of fifteen years it's easy to take for granted and forget just how much magic there is in a bowl of this stuff with so many newly-fangled blends out there with cuter names and snazzier packaging. But the classics are the classic precisely because they are timeless.

I've moved from buying this by the tin to getting it by the pound. Yea, it's that kind of blend...

RECCOMENDED FOR... those who love a particularly flavorful and big smoke. THIS IS NOT MILD (IMHO) like many people will suggest (I suppose if we're comparing it to Nightcap then yes it is mild-ish, but then again calling this a mild blend utilizing Nightcap as the definition of a standard 'full-bodied' blend is like calling Megan Fox a plain sort-of-girl in a spectrum that ends with Sofia Vergara)-- which is to say, there is a whole word of tobacco out there, strength-wise, before EMP's nod on the richter-scale. This is a medium-to-full bodied blend and sometimes a bit too testicular for the mornings; but just goldilocks right for all day smoking (and room clearing).
Pipe Used: Various (best in briar)
PurchasedFrom: Various
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2015 Strong None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Finally got to try this tobacco as it is very hard to get in my country. The excitement was high, given it being one of the most famous tobaccos around. The tobacco in the tin is your standard Dunhill ribbon cut with varios grades of lighter and darker brown.

The moisture level was almost perfect out of the tin. Packing was very easy.

Lighting was effortless and it stayed lit very well. Needed only a few relights throughout the bowl.

Now to the bad points. I was very disappointed with the taste. Actually, there was almost nothing to taste at all. There was no sweetness from Virginias, a very subtle taste of orientals and I could not taste any Latakia at all. There was some bitter sourness in the taste and I could almost detect menthol like taste in the smoke. Very weird. The tobacco is quite strong in nicotine. Tried to smoke it after a meal and still got buzz from nic hit.

The room note was tolerable.

Only few times I managed to smoke to the end of the bowl. It is very harsh in taste after two thirds of the bowl. Definitely will never buy this tobacco again. I don't get what the hype is about this tobacco, there are so much better tobaccos out there.
Pipe Used: Stanwell No. 11
Age When Smoked: 1 month
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I really like this blend. I might even grow to love it someday. Although the Latakia is light, it's always present. The Orientals add a nice sour woody touch. I can't say that I can taste the Red Virginias, but the Brights are very clear. They make this blend for me adding wonderful sweet citrusy notes that counter the other components perfectly. This is a great flavor profile. I like strong blends in the morning and evening and mellower fare in the afternoon. This fits nicely in the afternoon slot. 3.5 stars.

Mild to medium in body and flavor. Burns like a charm.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Mark Twain, Patriot
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 27, 2020 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The stoving deepens the sweetness of the Virginas and Orientals, delivering more of an earthy and dark fruity notes. I find a hint of light brown sugar as well, possibly from the stoving. The latakia is light but always present and very supportive. The orientals are spicy, earthy, and makes this blend feel more as lighter London Mixture (which I long to return). A favorite light English blend and stands up to its reputation. You've probably tried it but if not, every pipe smoker needs to.
Pipe Used: Peterson system, Erik Nording, Lorenzo Spitfire
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: 6 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is the first premium pipe tobacco I ever bought, purchased from a local vendor, before I started handing over my military pension every month to smokingpipes.com and 4noggins. (That first tin bought in Canada at market price cost me $50!) For about the first month of my pipe odyssey this was the only thing I had to smoke, and I soon became very bored with it. This may be no fault of the tobacco. Anything can become boring, I guess, if it's all you have. Just ask most married people. (Though I should say that I love my wife and would have no other, unto eternity, amen.)

Hearing of the imminent (supposed) demise of Dunhill tobaccos, I bit the bullet and cellared a few more tins of Royal Yacht, 965, Nightcap, Durbar, etc., but held off on EMP, making a bulk purchase for immediate evaluation. I have to say, I looooooove the way this stuff smells. I've already developed a certain amount of nostalgia for the tin note. And I realize this is not meant to be a full-flavoured, "deep" experience. As a light english, I suppose it fills a niche. But there are just sooooo many more superior blends available on the market today, and so many I haven't even tried yet, that EMP, at least in its current Orlik iteration, doesn't make the cut. I'd much rather smoke Meridian or Red Rapparee or White Knight, etc. Maybe the comparisons aren't fair, but the bottom line for my pallet is that EMP simply lacks much flavour and becomes tiresome in fairly short order.

The other thing is, since I'm not a morning person, this product seemingly lacks applicability to my life.

Update 2018-10-13

Went back to this jar of EMP, and what do you know? the flavour has opened up quite a bit. It seems to me like all Dunhill tobaccos need about 6 months in a jar before they taste like much. I've actually been enjoying this in the mornings (what do you know?) now that fall is in the air. (Plus my wife and I have had our first child so mornings — of necessity — have become a thing for me...once in a while.)

When I first smoked this (as a newb) I guess I was expecting more smoky Latakia flavour, but I appreciate this for what it is, which is mostly a virginia and oriental-dominant blend, with a bare smidge of Latakia. I've seen this compared to Royal Yacht, which I couldn't understand in the least at the time, but now, it seems the Virginia component here is in the same ballpark, and maybe even has a bit of the same sauce on it. I still find this very light in flavour, and it seems (imho) to have — like — zero aftertaste. Nevertheless it's good for early morning dog walks, and (like most Dunhills) nothing else really compares to it. I think this blend does exactly what it is meant to do, and if that's a worthwhile trait, then it's hard to fault it. I'm upgrading my rating from 2 to 3 stars, but I think this needs to be aged before it's really any good.

(I've recently purchased a few tins of this because it is about to go extinct!)
Pipe Used: Various briars and cobs
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh and aged up to 3 months.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
"Do yourself a favor and buy this tobacco. It's better than sex." category for this one. Very spicy, sweet, smoky, burns ultra fast. On the second part of the bowl the fragrance reminded me of the pleasant smell of a burned spruce/pine cone.
Pipe Used: MM Corn cobs
Age When Smoked: 4 years
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2018 Very Mild None Detected Very Mild Tolerable to Strong
Man, what can I say that all the previous reviewers haven't. This tobacco is why people smoke pipes. It's a wonderful blend that is simple, tasty and perfect for puffing on throughout the day without overwhelming your tastebuds and senses. The tin note smells like tobacco, that's it. The room note smells like tobacco, that's it. "Don't smoke that when I'm in the house, it smells too much like cigarettes." - Wifey. but man what a great smoke to enjoy while sitting in my office doing my daily tasks throughout the day.
Pipe Used: Tinder Box Bent Bulldog
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 10 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I smoke this tobacco every morning as my first pipe, and sometimes in the evenings as my last. It is perfectly consistent, never fails to burn down to the bottom, and is forgiving of lazy pipe filling. It has just the right mix of oriental and latakia tobaccos to hit the spot, without being overly tangy or smokey. I happen to be especially sensitive to nicotine content, and I find this blend to be fairly mild as long as I am not greedy or in a hurry. Near the end of the bowl I will start to get that familiar nicotine tingle, but it never sets me spinning(I am looking at you Nightcap). I have also never gotten bitten by this blend, no matter how reckless I am with it.

Great all day tobacco for me, and is what I usually recommend to those wanting to dip their toe into English/Balkan blends.
Pipe Used: MM Cobs, Nording Classic, Dr. G Grand Duke
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh, 6 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"