Peterson Early Morning Pipe

(3.13)
Sweet Oriental carefully blended with bright and red Virginias, pressed and lightly stoved. Great as the "first pipe" arousing the palate for the further pleasures of the day.
Notes: Alfred Dunhill’s blending has produced for this ‘Early Morning Pipe’ a tobacco that will charm away the cobwebs-leave one aroused and eager for the day’s round. A delicate blend of gentle Virginia and flavourful Turkish. – late 1970’s. Oriental tobacco is carefully blended with bright and red Virginia, pressed and lightly stoved, enhanced by medium fired latakia. -1985 Previously released by Murray's and Sons, UK. Formerly known as Dunhill Early Morning Pipe, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk, 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.13 / 4
255

218

90

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 605 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The textbook light English blend. The standard. If a blender can beat it, they've done something extraordinary.

EMP is perfect. Perfect moisture and cut, so it lights and burns easily. Perfect use of a little Latakia to round out the flavor and cut the edge off of the Orientals. Perfect use of tangy, mouthwatering Orientals that never smoke bitter or acrid. Perfect blend of bright and red Virginia, lending that malty sweet red VA flavor to the back half of the bowl.

I understand the hit-and-miss reviews, lots of folks have palates that aren't tuned to mild blends. I sometimes smoke a full Balkan for breakfast, I could see how EMP would not scratch the itch if that was what you were looking for. However, it makes no sense to sell this blend short. There are lots of sins a blender can cover up with a Lat bomb or by using overpowering flavors. With EMP there is nowhere to hide any mistakes - the blend is in such careful balance that flaws would be overwhelming, but there are none.

This one I judge reviewers by. It's like Casablanca, some film student can say that they didn't like it and I won't grumble, but if they've got to be contrarian and say that it's shit I don't need to hear their opinion any more.
PurchasedFrom: Most everywhere
Age When Smoked: fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Really enjoyed this blend for the mornings, or anytime during the day. You gotta be in the mood for it - it's got a sharpness to it. Smells great in the tin, and tastes delicious. Mild, toasty, sweet hay, easy smoke. Left a slightly sweet taste in my mouth as an aftertaste which is not a bad thing! Fine white ash in the bowl. Room note is slightly on the cigarette smelling side, however. Can get a tad bitter - but mostly good sweet and tangy tobacco smoke.
Pipe Used: Dr Grabow grand duke, MM eaton, Dunhill estate.
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars online
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dunhill Nightcap is one of my favorite tobaccos, so I've been anticipating this blend for a few weeks now. Tin notes, leather, raisin, and pear brandy(?) - some kind of fruit sweetness with an alcohol/phenol bite at the end. Faint smokiness, and big bready/yeasty strawlike compounds.

Initial char, hey... where did the brandy go? I'm getting rye bread with lots of caraway seeds, roasted marshmallow, and as I work my way through to midbowl, a strange nasal curry spice, like fenugreek or brown mustard with lemon. It's really good. I'm also getting a little burley burp, but that's probably more because I went straight to a bowl of this instead of coffee and breakfast. There is a slight spice, and a slight smoky flavor, but I'm still getting mostly a very subdued English flavor from this tobacco. Room is roasted marshmallow and fruit brandy.

At the bottom of the bowl, the phenolic sweet flavor got a bit more intense, that is to say, I could actually taste it. Everything started to come together wrapped up in a neat little bow, but then I started tasting burned maple and realized I had sadly hit the bottom of my new cob.

All in all, the tin description of "delicately flavoured" is spot on. I'm surprised how prevalent the "rye bread" notes were, that's pretty much exactly what I thought of Nightcap, however Early Morning Pipe was much more subdued and mellow, and the topping (if there even is any) was so mild that I really didn't even taste it until the last 3rd of the bowl. I was half expecting to hear Edvard Grieg's Morgenstimmung as I puffed this morning, but nope, just a good tobacco and landscapers trimming my hedges at 7:15am.
Pipe Used: MM Legend
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Unknown
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Been smoking this pretty regularly for a very long time (first tin in the late 70s). The blending notes always, until the switch to Orlik, included latakia. i don't care what anyone says, there's still some in every batch. Regardless, still good at any time of the day. I'm a sucker for light English, oriental forward blends and this does very well. As others have noted, it can get a bit bitter towards the end (last fifth) of the bowl if smoked in anything larger than a mid-sized pipe.
Pipe Used: ben wade bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes; pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 18 months
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This is a very pleasant low content latakia blend.it has all the quality standards of dunhill blends.nice cut,right moisture,easy to pack and light.burns cool and slow, won't bite if you go hard.virginias taste perfect with sweet notes,grass and citrus.latakias aren't dominant and offer camp fire and sweet wood notes.an all day blend to me,pleasant room note a must try to get into light english blends!
Age When Smoked: When opened!
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2014 Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant
I would like to thank you all for your reviews. I have purchased about 15 different 1 oz blends to try and saw this one recommended to explore the English blends. Here is some background to make reviews more meaningful, I wish we had some fields for it as it seems very reasonable that new smokers who are new to pipes may have some general trends in preference that differ from people who have smoked pipes for as long as I have been alive.

Background: I am 46, have newly taken up pipe smoking and have only otherwise smoked a few cigars (perhaps 20 or so ever). I would estimate that this is my 11 or so pipe bowl total (not just for this blend).

Impressions, Purchased one Oz baggie, was dryer than other blends I have gotten but not *completely* dried out, I don't yet have a sense for what the preferred humidity norms are. I found this blend flat and kind of boring. Other than when I breathed out (clean) air through my nose, I couldn't detect the latakia at al, it IS there ... but barely. Otherwise I found the taste to be mild tobacco, but otherwise kind of boring and un interesting. For context, I liked 1Q but it had only a little taste, but was pleasant and very slightly sweet. I liked Longbottom Leaf from JFH even more because it was similar, just with the volume *slightly* turned up. This EMP was in no way unpleasant in taste or room note, but it seemed like smoking to be smoking. I'm wondering if my addition to spicy food has left me tongue deaf! ALso, its too bad this site doesn't (seem) to have a forum for exchanging tobaccos that we have tried and do not prefer.
Pipe Used: Commoys Trad Billiard Briar
PurchasedFrom: Romeo's Uptown, Bentonville, AR
Age When Smoked: Unknown, smoked out of package, was Dry
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Well....as a new piper this is about my 10th tobacco. I had already decided English blends are my thing. I thought this would be a little lighter than mm and London mixture and certainly it was, perhaps too far. Lovely pack and burn. No relights. But..... An almost cigarette room note and smoke. I packed it more heavily thereafter. A better result but still some mild disappointment. I shan't reinvest in a tin, back to a heavier blend.
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist in Canterbury
Age When Smoked: New tin
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
One good thing about a lock-down is that it gives you a lot of time to go through your tobaccos and smoke them as if stress never was invented.

MP is good. You notice as soon as you light up and taste hay and citrus and freshness.

The tin promises enjoyment, it smells so good and balanced and of orientals.

It can be packed quite tightly, must be in order to keep it lit all the time.

The first puffs are light, the peppery smokiness is only in the nose if you retrohale.

As you progress the smoke becomes heavier, smokier and spicier. The taste intensifies. I suppose that's why it's called early morning pipe: it gradually wakes up with you.

It's medium to strong, stronger as the bowl gets emptier. Likewise its taste develops from medium to strong.

No flavouring other than the orientals.

The man who sold me the tobacco said that the smoke would keep the mosquitoes away. He clearly didn't care for MP. I quite like it's smoke, tolerable is say.

It delivers what it promises. Highly recommendable.
Pipe Used: Straight billiard
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Early Morning Pipe is a blend that is supposed to be on the mild side, smoked as the first bowl of the day. Thus, this will not be a heavy English; not even a medium English, which is why this review should be examined from what it is supposed to be: mild, and that, it is.

This blend is slightly oriental forward, offering those typical woody, sour, yet subtly sweet notes from the Orientals, while the mixture of red and bright Virginias offer the bed upon which the orientals sit. The Virginias are musty and earthy, with a hint of grassy citrus notes coming here and there from the brighter Virginias. There is hardly, if any, Latakia in there, but I would say that there is a touch, giving the blend a touch of smoke, bringing everything together. About halfway down the bowl, the Orientals smoke a bit sharper, which can lead to a bit of harshness depending on your cadence and how you are smoking it.

The Dunhill ribbon cut is phenomenal, leading to a very easy pack and light. Further, their moisture from the tin is nearly perfect. The controversial nicotine level from this tobacco is somewhere just above mild, I did not notice any effects, really.

Overall, this blend does what it is supposed to do. For me, I found it only a bit harsh and sharp directly from the tin, which could improve some with age, but an enjoyable smoke for the morning or when a very mild English is in order.

___

Update 04/25/2018: Aging this tobacco helps greatly. I lit up a bowl of a tin that I opened at the end of August 2017, and even this short amount of time served to mellow the blend in the areas I described as "harsh" before. Possibly deserves to be bumped up a star...
Pipe Used: Briar
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2017 Mild None Detected Medium Tolerable
Summary: a sweet English blend with less of a Latakia blend and more presence of Orientals, with the Virginias leading.

Dunhill tobaccos are known for their elegance and simplicity, and this blend benefits by showcasing its powerful sweet and rich Virginias but using slightly less Latakia than a full English with a higher proportion of Orientals, giving it a sweet-sour taste with the smoky Latakia backing that up. With the characteristic thin cut and perfect moisture balance for which Dunhill blends are known, "Early Morning Pipe" lights magnificently and burns evenly. As the bowl goes on, the Latakia flavors become more pronounced but also less acidic, bringing out more of the smoky taste than a tangy one. The Virginias caramelize and meld, becoming less sugary and more like honey bread with lemon, upon which the Orientals continue to build, making the mixture more tangy and addictive over time. Many combinations of these flavors appear in ephemeral form, barely grasped before they are gone and not forgotten but reduced to vague impression like waking after a dream.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"