Mac Baren Amphora Full Aroma

(2.83)
Centuries of tobacco craftmanship go into Amphora Full. In addition to the Virginia tobaccos an exact amount of burley and Oriental tobaccos from three continents balance the blend. And the result is a well rounded and slow burning blend. Amphora is the trademark of high quality pipe tobacco.
Notes: Made by MacBaren since 2006, the company owns the blend as of 2015. Now reintroduced back into the UK, under the name of Amphora Full, this is due to new legislation that has been introduced in 2017.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Floral Essences, Orange, Raspberry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.83 / 4
60

85

56

21

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 222 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2019 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
To be honest, Amphora Full Aroma is not what I was expecting from an Amphora blend.

It packs, lights and smokes quite well, although for me it came very wet and I had to dry it a bit. Even after that, I sometimes struggle with a "soggy" smoke when giving Amphora Full another chance. The aroma is pretty flat and I have trouble pointing out any interesting notes in it. There is some fruity sweetness, some citrus, a slight hint of vanilla and maybe a little bit of liquor. For me it's just a boring smoke.

All in all, it's not a bad aromatic, there are just a few better ones to choose from, like the similar but superior Special Reserves (both no. 2 and no. 8). Still, for someone else this blend might fit in well and I see how some people enjoy it.

Pipe Used: B&B 212
PurchasedFrom: Smoke; Wroclaw, Poland
Age When Smoked: 2 months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TEO
Dec 05, 2015 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
When I was a novice, I heard a lot about Amphoras, and other low end mixtures available in Italy as Classic Forte, or Clan. Still I can't comprehend what's so special about these kind of mixtures..I do think these are 100% drugstore mixtures.

Anyway, those "grandpa advices" not always are good advices. I find this tobacco to be fairly absent. It takes no position, I can't see the complexity. With Forte at least you know you're smokin cigar leaf, cut into fine fine shag but it's straight earthy full kentucky..but about this Amphora, I don't know what to say. It shows no "courage or fantasy". Less then average mixture.
Pipe Used: Half Bents Aro, Medium and large bowls
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Amphora-Full Aroma.

The ribbons look quite chunky. There are a few that are more like broken flakes, being too robust to be ribbons.

I try to label what the misc./other flavours could be and the only thing I can come up with would be coco. It smells quite chocolaty to me.

I find this to be the same situation with the smoke. It's not a massive chocolate note like Bobs Chocolate Flake but again it's a noticeable addition. After the chocolaty taste I can pick out a sort of honey type of sweetness and for me this becomes stronger about halfway through a bowl.

This burns very evenly and consistent but it does seem to smoke pretty quickly. For a long relaxation I'd recommend something else!

The flavour of the blend is well reflected in the room note. This is good too as it's not overly heavy.

Nicotine is medium in this, for me. Maybe a little below but I find it medium.

To me, this falls slap, bang, into the 'okay' category.

Two stars.

Pipe Used: Peterson St Patrick's 2014 shape 03
PurchasedFrom: Spainish Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2014 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Sometimes you gamble on a blend and you're pleasantly surprised.

I had seen this pouch at the local tobacconist every trip I made. It was one of the cheaper ones (In Japan all tobaccos are much more expensive than usual).

Opening the pouch I was surprised to see a nicely fine cut ribbon but also with some specks of broken flake. I am a flake fan and anything that was once in flake form is a fan of mine.

Moisture was a teeny bit higher than I prefer but not sopping we by any measure. Packing this tobacco is a breeze as I usually take the aforementioned broken flakes and put them in the bottom to act as a "filter" or barrier over the draft hole. After that, a typical 3 part bowl filling.

Lighting this tobacco is a cinch, I can usually make it down to the bottom with one match. It burns very evenly and leaves very little dottle.

The flavoring compliments the Va very well IMO. There is a subtle hint of zesty orange and some cloves. The room note always has fans and I can smoke this anywhere and ne'er does anyone complain.

My best smokes with this tobacco came from a Peterson Irish Second Bulldog. I don't think a Pot shape would be a good idea but a 3/4 inch tobacco chamber seemed to bring out the most in this blend.

I would highly recommend this tobacco for a beginner as there is very little tongue bite, it is a high quality leaf and can even be enjoyed by a "veteran"
Pipe Used: Irish Second Bulldog
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
Definitely not my tobacco type. It has no flavor and for what it cost doesn’t seems to satisfy the minimum requirement. Not recommended tobacco other amphora are wayyy better.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2013 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Must be because I'm a novice (relative to the other reviews hereunder). Only marginally better than Captain Black's White. I know; apples and oranges.

It does pack well and it does have a nice burn but I found the flavour to be unremarkable. The War Department says she doesn't mind the aroma and the neighbours say that I've smoked some nicer tobaccos.

I do find it to burn cooler than I thought it would so that's positive. I purchased it because I was certain that my grandfather smoked Amphora and we all loved the room note. But this isn't it. Gonna give the original blend a go.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2013 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
God in heaven, I wish this tobacco was available in the states! This was the single pipe tobacco that kept me loyal to the pipe as a beginner, and I stuck with it religiously until one could not get it anymore. I would always shift to "premium" blends, and tins, but I could never stay away! Loved this stuff! If anyone could help me acquire this again, OR give me an EXCELLENT COPYCAT of Amphora Full, please contact me! Thanks!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Nothing special. Sometimes I feel a bit roasted nut taste. It has very good smell, but it always attack my tongue when I can't pay enough attention for it. I think Full Aroma name is an overstatement.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2012 Mild Mild Full Very Pleasant
Not that too promising smell when opening the package, moisture is okay, cut and look is also ok. Lights up nicely, burns evenly trough the bowl, and has a very pleasant mild sweetness without the feel of any artificial aroma. It also has a very nice vanilla flavor that kicks in smoothly every now and then from the background. No bite of course at all. The best I smoked so far of the relatively cheap ones, highly recommended.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The Amphora Full is an intersting aromatic tobacco. The blend, in according with the pounch description and I trust in the pounch, is composed by Burley, Virginia and Orientals. Due to the flavoring I have difficult to recognize the Orientals. The cut is broken flake/ribbon, but is easy to pack and during the smoke doesn't require many attentions. The fragrance is intense and pleasant, fruity base notes can be perceived but it has a marked woody aroma, however pleasant and naturally sweet. During the smoke is possible to recognize floral aromas enriched by hints of fruit and nuts with slight perceptions of cocoa. In conclusion Amphora Full is pleasant tobacco, ideal for who like sligthly flavored tobacco. For the quality, for the easiness, for the relaxation I give three stars, but if it had been possible I would have given two and a half.
Pipe Used: Chacom, Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Tabacconist in Italia
Age When Smoked: After the purchase
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"