Mac Baren Amphora Full Aroma

(2.83)
Centuries of tobacco craftmanship go into Amphora Full. In addition to the Virginia tobaccos an exact amount of burley and Oriental tobaccos from three continents balance the blend. And the result is a well rounded and slow burning blend. Amphora is the trademark of high quality pipe tobacco.
Notes: Made by MacBaren since 2006, the company owns the blend as of 2015. Now reintroduced back into the UK, under the name of Amphora Full, this is due to new legislation that has been introduced in 2017.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Floral Essences, Orange, Raspberry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.83 / 4
60

85

56

21

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 222 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2016 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
An excellent European aromatic tobacco. This is not your typical sickly-sweet, goopy, hot-burning, and flavourless American-style aromatic. It's quite dry right out of the pouch with very little propylene glycol, and it burns slowly and coolly down to a grey ash. Due to this dryness, it easily stays lit with very few relights. A very flavourful smoke consisting of cocoa, vanilla, floral, citrus, and a nutty natural tobacco taste. You won't find much sweetness here, but you will find a surprising amount of complexity. Aftertaste is also very good. I regularly smoke Dunhill English blends, and the strength of this tobacco was a pleasant surprise. I would rate nicotine strength somewhere between My Mixture 965 and Nightcap. Room note is also wonderful. You will get many compliments while smoking this.

It's easy on the tongue and is my everyday, all-day smoke. This is by far one of my most favourite blends. I never tire of it. You really can't go wrong with this tobacco. It tastes great, burns slowly and coolly, has a wonderful room note, and it is affordable. Plus it's readily available worldwide. It easily compares in quality and taste to more expensive European aromatics such as Peterson. There's good reason why it's been around for 60+ years. Get some now.
Pipe Used: Half-bent Briar
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2009 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Bright golden Virginia ready rubbed, this the best medium aromatic drugstore tobacco out there, with an excellent tobacco quality, lovely fruity aroma, not excessively cased or top flavored, the cherry/chocolate flavor is truly wonderful, the room note is top class!, Actually I am smoking this fine tobacco on daily basis and I am enjoying it bowl after bowl, it is ridiculously good and ridiculously inexpensive, widely available. Outstanding quality!!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 20, 2015 Medium Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This tobacco is simpley nice... There is so much good smoke of it, room note is nice, smokes beautifuly. When it is in my new pipe it is very nice smoking, cool and perfect. I guess I will stay to this one, for a couple of months...

Gives me more good thinking: I feel like I have a pleasant time for writing some novel, or maybe just a short story. It give's me impressions!

Larsen's "Master's Blend" is very similiar with Amphora, but Larsen is too much bite taking, this ones take it easy; nice and cool
Pipe Used: Limited Colors of Hilson, made in Holland
PurchasedFrom: Gift & Tobacco Shop Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia
Age When Smoked: 1-3
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2016 Medium Medium to Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
Amphora bring back me to an another time when I have a hard time to find a good tobacco, I combine it with everything, and it is precisely this "red" Amphora I regularly brought from Italy, my neighbor now sadly deceased g. Carnelutti and that day when he arrived with a bag Amphora was a folk festival for me - young pipe smoker this days! But either way I'll try to be objective. At the time when I had I received the gift producing her company Douwe Egberts, and now to see on the bag - manufacturer is Van Neele. Tobacco seems to me that it was the same - it's a rich, aromatic Cavendish, a first when it opens the bag felt the intense smell of chocolate and a little less intense smell of figs that remain present the whole time smoking. Halfway down the pipe to carry the burley which obviously has a lot in a mixture prepared for Cavendish, but there is also a "fruity" notes that it is difficult to determine, perhaps some hazelnut ... They feel that the overtones of oriental tobacco, but only around "at the top of the charts" and of course Virginia to the mix gives the "body" and in a way, from beginning to end smoking holds the last word. It's not light tobacco. It's a nice, rounded mix, Cavendish, not "bite" to the tongue, but if you are careless risk "nicotine attack"! Otherwise tobacco burns beautifully and evenly, without a hitch is held zeal and remains only a small pile of white ash. In the palate and tongue long after smoking remains its aroma, flavor of chocolate, dried figs and hazelnuts ... Rating 4.5 / 5th These 0.5 for "Madeleine cookies"
Pipe Used: Savinelli Autograph
PurchasedFrom: Dreier, Graz, Austria
Age When Smoked: fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mac
Dec 16, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the first blends i ever tried and one of the very few imported into Australia. Smokes well and tastes great . Burns down to a fine white ash in any pipe i have smoked it in. I very seldom smoke it now as i can purchase tobaccos online from OS. In saying that its nice to try some every so often. A 50g tin retails here for $45 hence the online shopping.
Pipe Used: Jake Hackert Custom MM Diplomat
PurchasedFrom: Port Augusta SA Australia
Age When Smoked: 6 Months
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2013 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the few tobaccos that I can find nearly everywhere near where I live. I bought this one for the name "Full Aroma", as I enjoy aromatics with a good room note. It disappointed.

It seemed pretty average or maybe even slightly below average in every regard. The taste was too mild, room note wasn't as nice as I expected either.

It would do in a pinch if I needed some tobacco NOW rather than wait a few days to order something nicer online.

Overall, not bad, definitely smokable, just pretty average.

Got a bit of a sour taste near the end of the bowl, but no harsh biting or anything.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2012 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
This is one of few blends I can find locally. I had to smoke some aromatics before I got my hands on well, "straight" tobaccos.

Smells good in pouch, comes in right moisture. Packs and lights easily. Smokes on the dry side for an aromatic.

Wife loves the smell. Taste (and nicotine) leaves me wanting more though; especially with a name like "Full Aroma".

All in all, it's nothing to write home about but slightly better than most aromatics since it won't bite you that much or leave you with a handful of dottle.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2010 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
it's mentioned several times but I'd like to repeat anyway, this blend consists of burley, virginia, oriental and kentucky (burley and kentucky being dominant) so you get almost cigarette-like flavor from this blend. no surprise there since it's produced by imperial tobacco. it's definetely not an A class blend for the experienced smoker but it's not as bad as other drugstore offerings, infact it's quite above drugstore line (or "lane" I should say?) it's absolutely an "in between" blend. I used to smoke this a lot and still keeping a pouch or two for emergency (though turkiye is one of the biggest tobacco producers --ranking number two-- we don't have as many alternatives as one would imagine) Less than half the price of superior blends but much better in quality and taste compared to those drugstore blends.

Being ultra sensitive with my gums/tongue never got tongue bite (you should -literally- be smoking like a chimney to get one) easy to keep lit and tastes best smoked with a meerschaum pipe. Probably you won't get those oranges, raspberries or floral notes the pouch promises at first or second smoke but through the end of your first pouch you'll decide not to buy any other drugstore blend ever again.

If there was a pipe smoking course A to Z, then amphora full aroma would be my choice to start with. I was lucky to start with this.

PS. compared to superior blends it deserves 2 out of 4 but as I said I see it somewhere in between and price/performance ratio led me towards 3 out of 4. Simply; recommended to beginners.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Its still good, but lighter and unfortunately less flavor intensty. This blend was best when Douwe and Egberts made it. They made it with more kentucky and less oriental and a coarser cut. The aroma is a lot less now, i wouldnt call it full aroma these days. It used to be fruitier with an aroma of pound cake, roses and cherry/raspberry. Now its reminicent of that but toned down. People liked this because it smelled aromatic but tasted like tobacco. Its been diminished everytiime a different company took over. Its a good tobacco if you never had the D&E version, if you have had it you will probably find it dissapointing as i do.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes.com
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2017 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I love this stuff. This is a very well done aro. The topping starts very evident, but quickly becomes very mild. Mostly raspberry with a lesser floral note and an even lesser note from the orange. The Burley leads the natural flavors with the Kentucky second and the Virginias in the background. There's a fair amount of sweetness. A very pleasant and enjoyable smoke.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in taste. Very mild in flavoring. Burns very well and burns cool.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"