Mac Baren Amphora Full Aroma

(2.83)
Centuries of tobacco craftmanship go into Amphora Full. In addition to the Virginia tobaccos an exact amount of burley and Oriental tobaccos from three continents balance the blend. And the result is a well rounded and slow burning blend. Amphora is the trademark of high quality pipe tobacco.
Notes: Made by MacBaren since 2006, the company owns the blend as of 2015. Now reintroduced back into the UK, under the name of Amphora Full, this is due to new legislation that has been introduced in 2017.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Floral Essences, Orange, Raspberry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.83 / 4
60

85

56

21

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2012 Medium Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is a classic tobacco. For me,is somewhat stronger than desired. Slow burning, witch is a good caractheristic. The Cocoa-Chocolate flavour and taste. cannot be scented easily, since the tobacco is strong and surpasses the flavours. Good quality, but recommended for people that need strong mixtures.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2013 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the few tobaccos that I can find nearly everywhere near where I live. I bought this one for the name "Full Aroma", as I enjoy aromatics with a good room note. It disappointed.

It seemed pretty average or maybe even slightly below average in every regard. The taste was too mild, room note wasn't as nice as I expected either.

It would do in a pinch if I needed some tobacco NOW rather than wait a few days to order something nicer online.

Overall, not bad, definitely smokable, just pretty average.

Got a bit of a sour taste near the end of the bowl, but no harsh biting or anything.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2012 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
This is one of few blends I can find locally. I had to smoke some aromatics before I got my hands on well, "straight" tobaccos.

Smells good in pouch, comes in right moisture. Packs and lights easily. Smokes on the dry side for an aromatic.

Wife loves the smell. Taste (and nicotine) leaves me wanting more though; especially with a name like "Full Aroma".

All in all, it's nothing to write home about but slightly better than most aromatics since it won't bite you that much or leave you with a handful of dottle.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Its still good, but lighter and unfortunately less flavor intensty. This blend was best when Douwe and Egberts made it. They made it with more kentucky and less oriental and a coarser cut. The aroma is a lot less now, i wouldnt call it full aroma these days. It used to be fruitier with an aroma of pound cake, roses and cherry/raspberry. Now its reminicent of that but toned down. People liked this because it smelled aromatic but tasted like tobacco. Its been diminished everytiime a different company took over. Its a good tobacco if you never had the D&E version, if you have had it you will probably find it dissapointing as i do.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes.com
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2019 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
To be honest, Amphora Full Aroma is not what I was expecting from an Amphora blend.

It packs, lights and smokes quite well, although for me it came very wet and I had to dry it a bit. Even after that, I sometimes struggle with a "soggy" smoke when giving Amphora Full another chance. The aroma is pretty flat and I have trouble pointing out any interesting notes in it. There is some fruity sweetness, some citrus, a slight hint of vanilla and maybe a little bit of liquor. For me it's just a boring smoke.

All in all, it's not a bad aromatic, there are just a few better ones to choose from, like the similar but superior Special Reserves (both no. 2 and no. 8). Still, for someone else this blend might fit in well and I see how some people enjoy it.

Pipe Used: B&B 212
PurchasedFrom: Smoke; Wroclaw, Poland
Age When Smoked: 2 months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Amphora-Full Aroma.

The ribbons look quite chunky. There are a few that are more like broken flakes, being too robust to be ribbons.

I try to label what the misc./other flavours could be and the only thing I can come up with would be coco. It smells quite chocolaty to me.

I find this to be the same situation with the smoke. It's not a massive chocolate note like Bobs Chocolate Flake but again it's a noticeable addition. After the chocolaty taste I can pick out a sort of honey type of sweetness and for me this becomes stronger about halfway through a bowl.

This burns very evenly and consistent but it does seem to smoke pretty quickly. For a long relaxation I'd recommend something else!

The flavour of the blend is well reflected in the room note. This is good too as it's not overly heavy.

Nicotine is medium in this, for me. Maybe a little below but I find it medium.

To me, this falls slap, bang, into the 'okay' category.

Two stars.

Pipe Used: Peterson St Patrick's 2014 shape 03
PurchasedFrom: Spainish Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Nothing special. Sometimes I feel a bit roasted nut taste. It has very good smell, but it always attack my tongue when I can't pay enough attention for it. I think Full Aroma name is an overstatement.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A solid european style aromatic. The tobacco is in the forefront and the topping takes a back seat. A bit too moist out of the pouch for me, benefited from a few hours dry time. Not gloopy. Nice pouch aroma. Definitely get some cocoa and chocolate notes and hints of fruitiness if smoked slowly. Burns fairly well, can get a tad harsh if smoked too hard. Overall a pleasant if unexceptional smoke.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 627 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 6 mos
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Strong
Not too strong and not too mild. Ideal for occasionnal smokers.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2022 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Although this blend has an amazing chocolate and fruity smell, it tastes completely different. Woody, earthy with prominent players the burleys and the orientals. Sometimes tastes blunt, sometimes good. But not the greatest aromatic in my opinion.
Pipe Used: Olive wood
Age When Smoked: 6 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"