Mac Baren Amphora Full Aroma

(2.83)
Centuries of tobacco craftmanship go into Amphora Full. In addition to the Virginia tobaccos an exact amount of burley and Oriental tobaccos from three continents balance the blend. And the result is a well rounded and slow burning blend. Amphora is the trademark of high quality pipe tobacco.
Notes: Made by MacBaren since 2006, the company owns the blend as of 2015. Now reintroduced back into the UK, under the name of Amphora Full, this is due to new legislation that has been introduced in 2017.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Floral Essences, Orange, Raspberry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.83 / 4
60

85

56

21

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 60 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2002 Mild Mild Full Very Pleasant
The fellow at The Tobacco Store in University Pl. said that this is apparently being re-introduced into the American market. I hope this means that all Imperial's offerings will be; I'd love to be able to smoke Amphora, Gold Block and CAPSTAN on a regular basis.

A "drugstore" blend is a burley-based concoction, savagely cased with inexpensive chemical agents, sold in the provinces of the US at "dime" stores and "convenience" retail-chains (called, in an all-purpose kind of way, "drugstores",) usually in bulk.

This is not a 'drugstore' blend. The fact that it was once very widely distributed and thus easily available does not make it a drugstore blend. Anyone who can't tell the difference between this and a drugstore blend, probably can't tell the difference between Balkan Sobranie and "Oriental No 12", either.

AMPHORA, like SAIL, is an older, Dutch Aromatic Cavendish-processed blend. Virginia, Burley, and several condimental tobaccos are blended, pressed together, and steamed. These "married" tastes are then given a natural flavouring, in the same way that tea might be flavoured with oil of bergamot or mint, or coffee with hickory. Or Latakia is flavoured by fumigation, or burley by flue-curing, or Virginia by stoving. These are classic processes that, since the Golden Age of perfumed snuff in XVIII century France, have been carefully followed by age-old practitioners.

The Dutch have traditionally been masters of the subtle flavouring of tobacco. They do not assume that Cavendish leaf is merely a pretext for holding an added flavour. The basic blend is all-important. It is often suprisingly intense, too, defying the chiché that all aromatic blending is lightweight frou-frou. In the best Dutch aromatic blends, too, the flavouring is undefinable, chimerical. If you can tell, "this is cherry", then it is not a good aromatic. Good aromatics are few and far between.

AMPHORA Red is delicious. Virginia, Burley, orientals, and an indescribable floral soupçon build to a full flavour that is tobacco plus. Nothing is in any way overpowering; it has a beautiful balance and finish; the arôme adds the je-ne-sais-quoi.

Burley is burley is burley. Latakia is Latakia is Latakia. They are a positive category, like roast beef. Oriental tobaccoes, fiddled-with Virginia, fermeted Périque: these enter a more religious realm of mystery and surprise: little Merrie England has met New Worlds. Finally the Dutch bring magic and necromancy to the game with their sleight-of-hand parfumerie. I enjoy it all, and would find all-roast-beef-all-the-time BORING.
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Although long gone, this one is in the memories of a lot of older pipe smokers (of which, unfortunately, I am one). it was my "go to" blend in my youth for two reasons, the aroma was indeed so terrific that it attracted the ladies and the second reason; well, it tasted great! You had the tobacco flavor enhanced with that something extra that Amphora Full Aroma was famous for. I am not sure what the contents really were, but I suspect both Virginia and Burley with the Burley pulling double duty by accepting the enhancements added to the blend. Just delicious and I wish it were still around.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 27, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I have wanted to try Amphora Full for some time having never tried before. With its return to the American market, I finally had the opportunity and I wasn’t disappointed. Given the name, I was expecting this to be a very heavily cased OTC aromatic. In the pouch, the tobacco is of a very thin cut and smelled pleasant, but not overpowering and unlike a lot of OTC aro’s it was fairly dry to the touch. It didn’t require much “dry” time and I think that some smokers will be comfortable smoking it straight away. At first light, I didn’t taste any of the chemical taste that I often associate with blends of this genre although I do taste a bit of it in the later stages of the bowl. The Burley leads the way with the Virginias balancing things out nicely. I hardly noticed the Turkish. There is no bite and it didn’t burn hot either. Amphora is sweet, but not cloying. The “fruits” were just right without being overpowering and the Burley has a bit of a chocolate note to it. In rating it in comparison to other OTC aromatics, I believe that this is my favorite, although if one considers Missouri Meerschaum an OTC blend, then I would give the nod to MM as still my favorite OTC. I definitely will keep a pouch of this in my truck for those times when I forget my tobacco! As an OTC definitely four stars.
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I beg to differ from some reviews here... AFA is a great classic and, despite being offeredin a pouch, or called a "Drugstore blend", AFA beats a lot of "prestigious" offerings on the market. Great cut, great aroma, great burning, great taste - dried fruits, vanilla and coco that are not overwhelming, you taste the tobacco as well - and it smokes DRY all the way down. AFA is superior to offereings like Davidoff, Stanwell, WO Larsen. Highly recommended.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2016 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
An excellent European aromatic tobacco. This is not your typical sickly-sweet, goopy, hot-burning, and flavourless American-style aromatic. It's quite dry right out of the pouch with very little propylene glycol, and it burns slowly and coolly down to a grey ash. Due to this dryness, it easily stays lit with very few relights. A very flavourful smoke consisting of cocoa, vanilla, floral, citrus, and a nutty natural tobacco taste. You won't find much sweetness here, but you will find a surprising amount of complexity. Aftertaste is also very good. I regularly smoke Dunhill English blends, and the strength of this tobacco was a pleasant surprise. I would rate nicotine strength somewhere between My Mixture 965 and Nightcap. Room note is also wonderful. You will get many compliments while smoking this.

It's easy on the tongue and is my everyday, all-day smoke. This is by far one of my most favourite blends. I never tire of it. You really can't go wrong with this tobacco. It tastes great, burns slowly and coolly, has a wonderful room note, and it is affordable. Plus it's readily available worldwide. It easily compares in quality and taste to more expensive European aromatics such as Peterson. There's good reason why it's been around for 60+ years. Get some now.
Pipe Used: Half-bent Briar
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2009 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Bright golden Virginia ready rubbed, this the best medium aromatic drugstore tobacco out there, with an excellent tobacco quality, lovely fruity aroma, not excessively cased or top flavored, the cherry/chocolate flavor is truly wonderful, the room note is top class!, Actually I am smoking this fine tobacco on daily basis and I am enjoying it bowl after bowl, it is ridiculously good and ridiculously inexpensive, widely available. Outstanding quality!!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2016 Medium Medium to Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
Amphora bring back me to an another time when I have a hard time to find a good tobacco, I combine it with everything, and it is precisely this "red" Amphora I regularly brought from Italy, my neighbor now sadly deceased g. Carnelutti and that day when he arrived with a bag Amphora was a folk festival for me - young pipe smoker this days! But either way I'll try to be objective. At the time when I had I received the gift producing her company Douwe Egberts, and now to see on the bag - manufacturer is Van Neele. Tobacco seems to me that it was the same - it's a rich, aromatic Cavendish, a first when it opens the bag felt the intense smell of chocolate and a little less intense smell of figs that remain present the whole time smoking. Halfway down the pipe to carry the burley which obviously has a lot in a mixture prepared for Cavendish, but there is also a "fruity" notes that it is difficult to determine, perhaps some hazelnut ... They feel that the overtones of oriental tobacco, but only around "at the top of the charts" and of course Virginia to the mix gives the "body" and in a way, from beginning to end smoking holds the last word. It's not light tobacco. It's a nice, rounded mix, Cavendish, not "bite" to the tongue, but if you are careless risk "nicotine attack"! Otherwise tobacco burns beautifully and evenly, without a hitch is held zeal and remains only a small pile of white ash. In the palate and tongue long after smoking remains its aroma, flavor of chocolate, dried figs and hazelnuts ... Rating 4.5 / 5th These 0.5 for "Madeleine cookies"
Pipe Used: Savinelli Autograph
PurchasedFrom: Dreier, Graz, Austria
Age When Smoked: fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2017 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I love this stuff. This is a very well done aro. The topping starts very evident, but quickly becomes very mild. Mostly raspberry with a lesser floral note and an even lesser note from the orange. The Burley leads the natural flavors with the Kentucky second and the Virginias in the background. There's a fair amount of sweetness. A very pleasant and enjoyable smoke.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in taste. Very mild in flavoring. Burns very well and burns cool.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
For me, this is the par for OTC blends. It is quite beautiful in many ways, that I always consider it a premium blend. From the pouch note, I knew this was special. And when I started packing, the ribbons are large and easy to pack and light.. Almost as a rubbed flake.. It has a welcoming charring flavour of chocolate/cacao and it burns consistently.. Never fades in aroma or flavour..A very pleasant blend indeed, one that I always seek and keep in my rotation. And even my mum said this reminds her of her uncle as he used to smoke it when she was young
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula 999
PurchasedFrom: Local B&M
Age When Smoked: N/A
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 30, 2019 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I finally bought a pouch of full aroma. Quite an impressive aromatic guys, I might add. Right of the bat, it seems to be more of a broken flake than a ribbon cut. Very moist out of the pouch, with a sweet nose resembling something in between dried fall fruit (plum, dates, quince maybe'?') and dark cocoa, perhaps a little floral but very subtle. Whenever I open a tin or a pouch I hardly have any patience to dry it out, so I figure I load it in a Dr Grabow with balsa, in order to tone down the moisture. This is one of those aromatics that actually tastes the way it smells. The burley is quite up front, but very nicely balanced by the other tobaccos, being able to feel a burley smoke with just the right pinch of Kentucky, oriental and a sweet Virginia. It burns evenly all the way, and if you are careful you can smoke it without a relight if you do not tamp that often. 3/4 down the bowl ashing may be necessary, while the balsa filter towards the end gets really moist, giving the sensation of a wet straight casing draw. I tried to smoke it after 30 min drying, but for some odd reason I prefer it wet, as dry it gets a tad harsh. Overall, I am more than impressed with this blend, well above and beyond what one would expect from a pouch packaging.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a medium nicotine, well balanced aromatic with no candy like smell and rich taste, this is something I warmly recommend.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"