Mac Baren Amphora Full Aroma

(2.83)
Centuries of tobacco craftmanship go into Amphora Full. In addition to the Virginia tobaccos an exact amount of burley and Oriental tobaccos from three continents balance the blend. And the result is a well rounded and slow burning blend. Amphora is the trademark of high quality pipe tobacco.
Notes: Made by MacBaren since 2006, the company owns the blend as of 2015. Now reintroduced back into the UK, under the name of Amphora Full, this is due to new legislation that has been introduced in 2017.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Floral Essences, Orange, Raspberry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.83 / 4
60

85

56

21

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 05, 2016 Mild Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
I received my 2 pouches yesterday, being distrubuted in the USA again, by Macbarren. I will spare everyone the pain of discribing the Virgin that gave birth to Virginas natural sweetness, the cavendish supplied by none other that Lord Cavindish himself, and the red, white and blue burly grown by Cheif Cheepskate Burley, next to his TeePees. And the Alchemist and his minions along with the accounting staff. After 25 years and a number of so called matches, I had given up on finding such a great smoking pleasure. I was sooo full of anticipation... breaking the seal...the note...just as I had remembered. Careful packing, a nice char, and off the the races!!!!....NOT. My pallete was engrossed with a horid taste of bitter rasberry, not even close to the Douwe Egberts formulae. Gone is the thick creamy smoke hinting of chocolate, hazelnut and orange. The tell tale scent of an Amphora smoker. After experienting with several briars, they all were in agreement. Unfortunalty this once fabulous blend is now lost to the ages as are so many others. What an old fool I am, you cant ever go home, as to speak. 20 dollars flushed and the tobac in the trash. I will say that Ive fallen into this trap before, but with less sadening results as this offering is. Wife said...WTF is that??? And how much was it? In my despair I got my all day smoke, Prince Albert. And yes im a verteran piper. Balkans, VaPers, English. 40 years of piping pleasure....untill now. Get yourself some Trout Stream and get with the program
John Lennon was asked about a Beatles reunion....You cant reheat souffle......
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie 7733 apple
PurchasedFrom: I wont bash for supplying this blend
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TEO
Dec 05, 2015 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
When I was a novice, I heard a lot about Amphoras, and other low end mixtures available in Italy as Classic Forte, or Clan. Still I can't comprehend what's so special about these kind of mixtures..I do think these are 100% drugstore mixtures.

Anyway, those "grandpa advices" not always are good advices. I find this tobacco to be fairly absent. It takes no position, I can't see the complexity. With Forte at least you know you're smokin cigar leaf, cut into fine fine shag but it's straight earthy full kentucky..but about this Amphora, I don't know what to say. It shows no "courage or fantasy". Less then average mixture.
Pipe Used: Half Bents Aro, Medium and large bowls
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
Definitely not my tobacco type. It has no flavor and for what it cost doesn’t seems to satisfy the minimum requirement. Not recommended tobacco other amphora are wayyy better.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2013 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Must be because I'm a novice (relative to the other reviews hereunder). Only marginally better than Captain Black's White. I know; apples and oranges.

It does pack well and it does have a nice burn but I found the flavour to be unremarkable. The War Department says she doesn't mind the aroma and the neighbours say that I've smoked some nicer tobaccos.

I do find it to burn cooler than I thought it would so that's positive. I purchased it because I was certain that my grandfather smoked Amphora and we all loved the room note. But this isn't it. Gonna give the original blend a go.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2015 Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one cheap tobacco. As in, it lacks a certain quality that I look for. It says full aroma, but I can hardly call it an aromatic. Yes I admit it reeks of a certain smell of chocolate etc. but it is not pleasant at all. The taste is sour, peppery and not in a good way. If this was the only pipe tobacco remaining in the world, I would not consider smoking it...

Not recommended. Smoke grass instead.
Pipe Used: Briar
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 01, 2014 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
It's cheap, and the price matches it's taste. It happened to be one of my firsts, and I don't regret it. For a beginner it might be good for start, but overall it's overrated
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2014 Mild None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
Smoke this if you like cigarettes. I felt like an air freshner smoking this blend: everyone seemed to be enjoying it but me. Bland taste and hot hot smoke. And the tongue bite...I don't know how so many people rated this above 2 stars. For me, it was like Captain Black Regular without the sweetness.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2020 Medium Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
Is this 2020 "modern version" of the old Amphora Full Aroma an aromatic? is it "fully" aromatic, as the name suggests? Are its "companion" tobaccos Amphora Rich and Original aromatics? If by "aromatic" we intend a tobacco that will give the smoker the experience of aromas that are FOREIGN to the ones of raw tobacco, namely, aromas that have been added to the blend to ENRICH the smoking experience beyond the sensations provided by raw leaves (e.g., aromas of fruit, whisky, rum, etc.), my opinion is that this blend is not an aromatic tobacco in the classic sense. I understand and respect the modern trend of Mac Baren, namely the effort to let the smoker enjoy the taste and aroma of minimally cased raw tobaccos as much as possible (exactly as Samuel Gawith does). However, this is achieved by transforming what in the past were true aromatics into tobaccos which convey to the smoker barely detectable "other" aromas besides the ones of the usual Virginias, burleys, etc... Fortunately, this does not happen with excellent Amphora Black Cavendish Special Reserve, a sumptuous aromatic which has not been deprived (for how long though?) of its marvelous aroma of dark ripe fruits, sweet liquor, etc. Someone may object that Mac Baren offers to lovers of traditional aromatics the 7-Seas series. Ok, I admit, these USA-style tobaccos may partly meet the needs of a fraction of European aro-lovers. But why do we have to mimic the extra-sweet, "glycerin-ish" American taste? Why can't we enjoy a quality "Danish" blend conveying the dry and full aroma of a good Whisky, brandy or rum, with a touch of cavendish sweetness? I fully and honestly respect smokers who dislike aromatic tobaccos. I greatly enjoy mild English blends and natural mixtures from time to time. But I hope that lovers of aromatics may continue to savor their favorite blends, without feeling the disappointment of opening with great expectation a pouch of an alleged "fully" aromatic mixture, that in the end reveals itself once again as one more Va-Bur "minestrone".
Pipe Used: various freehand
Age When Smoked: just purchased
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2020 Mild Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
After reading several encomiastic comments and evaluations I grabbed a pouch in a Madrid estanco. I had nebulous memories on my early encounters with this brand, 40 o 50 years ago. I do not remember the blends I tried. But this time I found Amphora Full Aroma as an uninteresting bland blend. After a couple of bowls, I forgot about it.
Pipe Used: Bulldog
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2011 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant
On the package it says: "A complex mix of subtle aromas inspired by the sweetness of the Virginia leaf" I expected more flavor from a "FULL AROMA" blend. It was very difficult to notice the flavor. The tobacco burns with good temperature and somewhat evenly. I wouldn't buy another pack.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"