Orlik Tobacco Company A/S Golden Sliced (Red Tin)

(3.33)
A blend of golden, fully ripe Virginia leaves from the traditional districts of the United States and a smidgen of perique. Natural sweetness and freshness with hints of citrus.
Notes: Previous edits to this blend have averred that a dispute exists whether or not Golden Sliced contains perique. It does. Please note that the website stglanepipe.com states on its Orlik page that certain of its blends (including Golden Sliced) contain "fully ripe Virginia and a little perique." Moderator.

Details

Brand Orlik Tobacco Company A/S
Blended By Orlik
Manufactured By Orlik
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin and pouch, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
249

179

57

14

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 179 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Perique? There is a very slight spice note, and it's all the perique has to offer. Obviously only a pinch or two of it is present. I get a sweet, tart and tangy citrus, lemon, toasty bread, light floral, sugar and acidic notes with a lot of grass and hay from the Virginias. I suspect there's a touch of sharp, nutty white burley in it. The topping is mildly citrusy (perhaps bergamot) with a hint of apricot, and lightly sublimates the tobaccos, though I tend to think it's a cohesive addition. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the mild mark. The taste is a slot past the center of mild to medium. Won't bite or get harsh. Has a few very small rough edges. Burns a little slow, depending upon how you break up the flake, with a very clean and cool consistent citrus and grass flavor all the way to the finish. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasant, short lived after taste and room note. An easy going all day, uncomplicated product that doesn't wear out its welcome. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
136 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Orlik Golden Sliced (Red) is described on the English language label as being "composed of golden Virginia tobaccos with a touch of perique." Readers of this and other pipe tobacco forums are aware of the fact that for years the label listed a touch of burley rather than perique. A spokesperson for the Scandinavian Tobacco Group has asserted that the previous mention of burley was a mistranslation (?!) The debate continues to rage as to whether Golden Sliced has perique. I always thought so even when the label did not so state, not because I tasted perique, but because I got a slight perique tingle when exhaling the smoke through my nose.

I personally do not think the perique versus burley controversy matters at all. Golden Sliced should be considered just a Virginia flake--and a very fine one at that. The taste for me has a slight citrus undertone, not perique. I do not taste burley. Burley in small amounts will smooth out a mixture, but it takes a significant amount for the burley taste to come through. (Kentucky, smoked burley, asserts its taste with much smaller amounts.)

For me, this is a golden Virginia with a taste on the mild side of medium and a pleasant room note. The label directs "rub the tobacco slices gently before filling your pipe." I have had equal success both with a gentle rub out and just cramming the thin slices down into the pipe.

Golden Sliced is well behaved for a Virginia in the bite category.

This tobacco holds up well when frequently smoked. Some tobaccos tire the taste and are best smoked as a change of pace. Not so with OGS. I have not given it the fourth star, but I seriously considered it.
65 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 19, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I've been smoking this flake tobacco for many, many years and after reading the reviews I have gotten many, many laughs. Let me set the record straight; THIS TOBACCO HAS NEVER EVER HAD PERIQUE IN IT, NOR DOES IT NOW HAVE PERIQUE IN IT. The label on the back of the tin has always said "Virginia and Burley",but all of a sudden the maker says they meant to say "Perique" when they said "burley". The maker of this fine tobacco knows darn well between the two tobaccos and their spelling. Ok, enough of my soapbox. This is true pressed Virginia with a just a smidgen of burley tobacco blended in. Smooth,satisfying, and tangy. The burley tobacco gives this flake a roundness. A very fine flake I've been puffing on for more than thirty years.

NOTICE: Look back on reviews of this tobacco a few years ago before the maker stated there was perique in the blend. You will see no mention of tasting any perique in the blend at all.
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2010 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I've had this 100 gm tin in my cellar for the last 2 years, but always put it off for something else. Finally cracked it and I've finished over half of it. The 2nd half will be an occasional smoke.

I'm very glad others have mentioned the citrus nature of this blend. Specifically, I taste a huge orange essence with a slight bit of lemon. The VA's take center stage and I can't say with any certainty that I tasted burley, unless it's cased with this orange flavor. The entire concoction tastes like it's mildly cased, as it is the most "citrus-y" VA I've ever smoked, even more so than Mac Baren's Virginia #1, and fans of it should also like this one. The tobacco is presented beautifully in spun form and breaks apart easily for rubbing. It came at near-perfect moisture in the tin and I've experimented with various degrees of dryness. It's a very congenial blend, never biting or hot, always smooth and flavorful.

The only downside - if it could be considered one - is that I could never smoke this all day. The orange taste would wear me out. It never dies down, even when bone dry and even down the bowl. When I'm in the mood for it, this tobacco was a refreshing change of pace. When I wasn't, it became a bit cloying. But it's an excellent tobacco and should be tried by every confirmed VA smoker... and from the number of reviews written here, it has! Glad I finally got to it.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Agree with those reviewers who say the "dash of perique or burley" issue is not an issue. If there's something else there beside sunny Virginia leaf, it's in such miniscule quantities that it's undetectable.

I'll only reach for a straight Virginia occasionally, but I like this one. Nice roundness to the tin note, which is the classic bright VA aroma of sweet, freshly mowed grass as well as some enjoyable citrus notes. The flakes are well made and the moisture level is just about right. They don't need a whole lot of dry time to smoke well (although it helps), and you can fold and stuff or rub and pack. I find it burns at a very leisurely pace. The nicotine is on the soft side. The flavor is really nice--soft and toasty with a little tang. And my tin seems to be aging very nicely. I'd recommend it, especially given the relatively low price.
Pipe Used: large MM cob
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2016 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is about the OGS sold in Germany. Over here it is a light aromatic. The German STG catalogue states a pure golden Virginia flake (no perique) with an orange-lemon aromatization (2 out of 5).

The German government states 138 mg aroma per 1000 mg tobacco. This is quite a lot. Stanwell Melange has 122 mg / 1000 mg.

UPDATE Feb 2018: Considerung my discovered love for Mac Baren's Virginia No. 1, I have to readjust to 3.5 Stars. Also in the meantime the casing of OGS tastes more and more annoying for me. I think it is still one of the best virginias out there but no more for me, because I always reach for my MB V1 while the OGS dries out more and more.

In taste and roomnote, there is only a very slight, barely noticeable citrusy aroma. I guess, the aromatization is more an enhacing and smoothig agend (much like flavor enhancers in food).

I think it is the reason for this very smooth and wounderful round taste which should not be possible with such a light virginia (you would expect much more harshness - flake or not).

So, what is ist? To me ,the OGS is a light, golden virginia flake which does taste more virginia-ish than virginia (like strawberry ice cream does taste more strawberry-ish than real strawberrys) -- and it does so in a wonderful and perfect way (and, hey, who doesn't like strawberry ice cream?!).

So, this is a perfect virginia, a perfect summer smoke.

It goes well with a mild fruity coffee, and with Darjeeling tea (esp. first flush) as well as with a fruity Oolong.
Pipe Used: Different Briars
PurchasedFrom: local B&M
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Orlik’s Golden Sliced is definitely a friend to flake lovers that enjoy a lot of high notes. The flakes come neatly cut and offer the nose a little bit of citrus, some of which I believe to be manually added. Some may view this as the “poor man’s” Long Golden Sliced, but I think that Golden Sliced is a better tobacco than that moniker describes. The lower price point shouldn’t put you off either. If there is some Perique in LG, it is just a whisper. I know that in addition to the Perique debate, Burley is often debated with this blend too but I don’t taste any. However, I wouldn’t bet the farm on that. The topping smells stronger (especially on an aged tin) in the tin than it tastes in the smoke. GF offers a clean, burning, refreshing smoke. It won’t win any awards in the complexity department, but it’s an enjoyable smoke.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
What can I say, this is a nice, consistent, smooth tobacco. There's nothing out of the ordinary about it, no super wow factor. Having said that, I will always have some on hand. Its a tobacco you can count on to deliver consistently.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Billiard
Age When Smoked: 1 year
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Very smooth smoke. The tin note is exactly the same as dried apricots with a slight hay like smell. You can detect a little bit of apricot in the smoke, but mostly it's the sweet even toasty hay with a hint of citrus. Very clean tobacco. Really nice and light change of pace. I find the nicotine on the high side as I seem to experience with most virginias.
Pipe Used: Hilson ball
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes online
Age When Smoked: 2 months old tin freshly opened
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 09, 2016 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I am reviewing the 100 gram round tin, not the square tin with flakes. Very interesting and peculiar cut with rarity value. It is basically a Flake Cut that has been sliced into very long, narrow ribbons, which sets it between a Broken Flake, and a Ready Rubbed Cut. I like this cut. I do not rub it out, I cram it into my pipe straight out of the tin for best results.

There is this never ending controversy whether or not this mixture contains Perique. My tin description, which is rather long compared to others, does not mention Perique. Since original Saint-James-Parish-Perique is a quite expensive and exclusive tobacco, I think the producer would be delighted to mention it on the tin description, if there was any. The other side of the story is, on the internet homepage of (former Lane Ltd., now STG) Scandinavian Tobacco Group of USA www.stglanepipe.com they mention, that there is “a touch of Perique” in this blend.

GOLDEN SLICED is what I call a typical Danish Mixture, which by definition is mellow, pure natural tobacco with a gentle, subtle fruit (or liquor) casing. This mixture develops a remarkable fan of delicate aromas, mainly those known of Virginia, citrus fruits and some hidden fruit-flavours commonly attributed to Perique. I’d say this blend is young, bright, fresh, crisp; an ideal hot weather smoke. There is a reserved hint of sweetness in this blend. I am not a Danish, even less an Aromatic smoker, but I somewhat like GOLDEN SLICED, because all casing has been done unobtrusively, with great prudence and skill.
Age When Smoked: New, out of the tin.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"