Orlik Tobacco Company A/S Golden Sliced (Red Tin)

(3.33)
A blend of golden, fully ripe Virginia leaves from the traditional districts of the United States and a smidgen of perique. Natural sweetness and freshness with hints of citrus.
Notes: Previous edits to this blend have averred that a dispute exists whether or not Golden Sliced contains perique. It does. Please note that the website stglanepipe.com states on its Orlik page that certain of its blends (including Golden Sliced) contain "fully ripe Virginia and a little perique." Moderator.

Details

Brand Orlik Tobacco Company A/S
Blended By Orlik
Manufactured By Orlik
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin and pouch, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
249

179

57

14

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 248 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2009 Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
I've appreciated Flake tobacco for over forty years. Coming back to OGS was like visiting an old friend. In OGS, Orlik has produced what I consider to be the "primo" of Flakes. I can honestly say that I have never smoked a Flake I didn't like. But, OGS is special. It is the best presentation of Flake tobacco I have had the pleasure to enjoy. I love those thin slices that hold together, fold and pack easily. An easy light, wonderulf taste, no bite and very satisfying smoke. If OGS was the only blend available to me, I could be satisfied to smoke it for as long as my puffer holds out. A true Masterpiece of Flake tobacco. An investment in pure satisfying pleasure.
99 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2002 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
If you like pure tobacco taste that carries just a tiny hint of sweetness, then this stuff will work for you. It contains enough nicotine to satisfy the most ardent veteran, and because it does taste like tobacco, I suggest that aromatic fanciers look elsewhere.

Because it is a flake, it can be rubbed out to any degree you like. The slices are just a tad on the moist side, so, some may prefer to let it air out a bit before smoking. I like to fully rub my flake tobacco and find the 'baccy dries quicker that way.

As for the Perique debate; my take is this; if a blend has Perique that cannot be tasted in the blend, then I don't call it a VaPer. Golden Sliced, in the form that I smoked, was NOT a VaPer. (-:

If you want a light and flavorful tobacco tasting smoke that can be enjoyed all day long, then look here. If you want something sweeter and less tobaccoyee, then look elsewhere.
46 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This one lives up to the hype. Honey sweet notes of citrus. A touch of hay or straw. Simple, but delicious. There is just the slightest amount of spice. Doesn't seem Periquey to me. More like a Virginia spice. If this has Perique I can't taste it. Just a marvelous, very relaxing smoke.

Mild to medium in body. Same for flavor but mostly medium. Ready to smoke right out of the tin. Burns very well.

On a side note: When I smoke a tobacco for review I always push it a time or two to see how it responds. This is one you don't want to push. The hay-like flavor comes strongly to the front and it gets very harsh. A horse might like that but I don't. Slow and easy will reward you with a top notch smoke. A puffer will suffer.....heh, made a rhyme that time.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman, MM Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
44 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
For the price, there is no better VA flake out there. And it beats out almost everything else anyway, regardless of price. The Perique in the blend is extremely subtle, and is hardly detectible once this stuff as some age on it. It would even be a stretch to call this a Va/Per. I have a hundred tins of this brooding for the tobacco apocalypse and plan on buying many more. It's smooth, sweet, and creamy with grassy citrus notes and a subtle hint of spice every now and again. And on special occasions when the pipe tobacco gods are smiling down on me, midway through the bowl the creaminess builds up to the point where it's like sweet butter. I dream at night about smoking this stuff.
Pipe Used: MM Cob, Orlik Prince Regent, Peterson Meerschuam
PurchasedFrom: Beehive Cigars, Salt Lake City, UT
Age When Smoked: 2 years
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I consider Orlik Golden Sliced to be one of the quintessential VaPers (the other being Solani 633), against which I judge all others. It comes in long flakes that have a strong aroma of licorice, a citrusy/honey taste and considerable sweetness, which are the hallmarks of good Virgina tobacco. I used to rub it out before smoking but have found that, like most flakes, it smokes longer, cooler and stronger if I just fold it and stuff it in my pipe (although this requires a extra few relights to get it going).

I am intrigued by the debate over whether OGS contains perique. I would point out that perique is a type of burley tobacco and therefore the statement that previously graced the OGS label, that it contained burley, is not surprising or incorrect. As to whether it contains perique, if Orlik says it does then I assume it does because their's is a reputable company and I don't believe they would make false claims about their tobaccos (not to mention that doing so would be illegal). That said, I would note that, among VaPers, OGS probably has relatively less perique than some others.

All in all, if you like Virginia tobacco or want to learn what it is all about, you couldn't do better than to try OGS. It's moderate price makes it a real bargain, when one considers the amount of pleasure that it delivers.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: I usually age it for a year or so before smoking
25 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Smoking Qualities - Phenomenal to rub and pack, even better (and longer) smoke when gently folded and screwed into the bowl using air pocket method. Burns evenly with no bite when smoked mindfully.

Flavor - Charring light provides a toasty sweet Va flavor, very clean and warm. Three matches lit a fold n stuff bowl. In the first third, the perique and the harsher notes are apparent. The second third releases a sweeter flavor which lets the Va shine. The final (best) and most complex third has the best balance of flavor, between the mellowed sweetness, built darker notes of leather and nut, and the gentle reminder of perique spice.

Finish - Great burned chocolate and leathery toasted nut flavor, spice ever so slowly fades away. Perfect finish IMO.

Price to Value - Worth way more than what it costs, a top notch tobacco, for the beginner or pro.

As for the perique debate, I am not qualified to judge, but it seems excessively spicy to be composed entirely of Vas to me. Has that nice perique burn through the nose.

Will cellar for a year and report back.
Pipe Used: Peterson Aran Straight Billiard
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: One month
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 14, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
This has been my favorite tobacco since I first tried it. I'm primarily a VaPer smoker, and this just hits it home. It's very similar to Peter Stokkebye's Luxury Navy Flake with an addition of bergamot orange essence to it. I really can't speak highly enough about it. It's not a very nicotine strong blend, but it's burn qualities and flavor make it a great any time or all day smoke. This is a blend (most blends do anyway) which really shines when you keep it as cool as possible, taking only a few sips here and there to keep the pipe lit. Don't puff it too fast. Sidestreams of citrus/bergamot back and forth over hay/grass/perique. Great also if you add just a tiny smidge of extra perique. I dedicate at least 1-2 pipes to just this blend. The nuances can really come to life when you dedicate and have only OGS cake.
Pipe Used: briars, meerschaums, pyrolytic graphite, cob, pear
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: fresh, 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 3 years
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a world class, smooth and light all day smoke. Now I only smoke a few times a week but were I a daily toker it would be hard not to be in my every day rotation.

I'd describe this as a summer smoke. It's light, fresh and has a floral, almost apricot aroma. On the palate, it's very light and accessible, doesn't overwhelm at all yet isn't lacking in interest.

Orlik Golden Sliced will always be in my cellar, it's a true classic, not for being big, heavy and flavoursome (it's not), but for being fresh, easy, interesting and of such high quality.
Pipe Used: small churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: new tin
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This flake is, besides MacBaren Navy, a must try in the flakes segment for every pipe smoker. It is perfectly balanced and interesting fresh, as much as rounded aged. Like all Virginias it can bite, if pushed, but sipped slowly, develops a wonderful spring like taste. Tin note is like fruity hay, similar to freshly mowed spring grass after a few days in the sun and the taste is quite robust. Fully recommended.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
No two ways about it, this is simply a delightful, elegant smoke. A delectable lingering sweetness on the palate, combined with a delicious tangy spiciness dominates the first half of the bowl. The smoke is smooth, incredibly flavorful and has no bite whatsoever. For the price, Golden Sliced is quite possibly the best tinned Virginia flake on the market. It has a sweet, fruity malt-like aroma reminiscent of Stokkebye's Twist Flake. This flake is absolutely marvelous when folded and stuffed into the pipe. Perique? I believe it's there, but it's just enough to amplify and slightly augment the flavor.

End bowl flavors do ramp up and become more complex. The heel of the bowl finishes woody and somewhat astringent but it's not at all unpleasant. As far as performance is concerned, this flake burns so perfectly it practically smokes itself.

Golden Sliced is simply a must try for any fan of Virginia flakes. For me this flake is the chef's pantry equivalent of quality canned tomatoes. It's a must have and for the price I usually double my pleasure and opt for the big 100g tin whenever I purchase it. Hey you only live once, right?
Pipe Used: Peterson
Age When Smoked: 2
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"