Orlik Tobacco Company A/S Golden Sliced (Red Tin)

(3.33)
A blend of golden, fully ripe Virginia leaves from the traditional districts of the United States and a smidgen of perique. Natural sweetness and freshness with hints of citrus.
Notes: Previous edits to this blend have averred that a dispute exists whether or not Golden Sliced contains perique. It does. Please note that the website stglanepipe.com states on its Orlik page that certain of its blends (including Golden Sliced) contain "fully ripe Virginia and a little perique." Moderator.

Details

Brand Orlik Tobacco Company A/S
Blended By Orlik
Manufactured By Orlik
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin and pouch, 100 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
247

179

57

14

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2017 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This was my first time having tobacco bacon! I have bought other flake cuts before, but this was the first time they had been pressed and splayed in the tin like layered bacon. I found this annoying, since the flakes wanted to stick together and kept breaking when I tried to peel them apart. The tin had a very mild sweet hay oder, and I knew I was in for a nice peaceful smoke.

The bowl packed nicely, stayed lit and burned long. Hearty clouds of smoke went in and out, without any harsh bite. A clean non-threatening blend you can smoke without much thought. I wouldn't call it bland, just don't expect to contemplate the complexity within.

In the end, I still prefer Escudo Navy De Luxe for that damp barn taste and more manageable discs.
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2016 Very Mild None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Update:- Once upon a time this was a fine tobacco.

Now it's rubbish. I question whether there's tobacco in it!

Another update : Some time later. It's unfair to call this rubbish. It's a cut above Eurotobak and long may yoofs fill their first pipes with this.

For years this has been a benchmark blend. Probably because it is smoked by all screwed judges.

It's a straightforward virginia with a lemony flavour.

There is a lot debate about whether there's perique. It definitely has! The trouble is, I don't know if I've ever tasted the genuine article. Never been to St James parish.

Like all Danish virgins, it burns hot, so beware.
Pipe Used: A billiard.
PurchasedFrom: the corner shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh from
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
This mild tobacco is great for cigarette smokers who are looking to switch to pipe. I can see it's charm and why people enjoy it. For me however, I will probably not purchase another tin and sharing this one as much as possible.
Pipe Used: Pear Root Eagle
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I purchased a bunch of tins a while back with the goal of sampling many of the different types of tobacco. I'd had bad experiences with VaPers before getting to this. And I was very close to reselling it. But I decided maybe the third time's the charm. Well, in a way, it is. This smokes nothing like the previous VaPers I tried. Some reviewers have stated that this contains only trace amounts of Perique. If that's the case, then I think I've discovered the amount I can tolerate. The tobacco smells nice out of the tin. It's pressed into slices of golden rectangles. I'm still quite new to packing tobacco that is not ribbon cut. I've managed to break it up, crumple it, or find some way to stuff it into my pipe. I've managed to light a bowl, but keeping it lit requires several relights. The tobacco burns slowly, at least for me, so I don't need even a whole slice to smoke for 30-45 minutes. The issue I'm having is the constant relights. But again, it's my problem because I haven't learned how to properly prepare and pack this pressed tobacco. The flavor is really mild with little to no bite, whether it's fresh out of the tin or a few days dry. Actually, it's really a plain smoke and I can't understand the hype behind this blend. I'll use it to learn to properly pack pressed tobacco, but, when it's finished, I won't purchase it again. EDIT 1/21/14: This tobacco is for the experienced pipe smoker, as it requires a few tricks to smoke properly. 1) Dry it out for 2 weeks, at least. 2) Regardless of what packing method you use, you MUST do a deep and thorough charring light. 3) Tip the extra ash out frequently. 4) Use a pipe lighter with an angled flame. 5) Tamp frequently, but don't allow the draw hole to get covered. THEN... you'll still get just a very plain smoke. Not changing my rating :-/
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I am a fan of Virginia blends. So i just wanted to try the popular "golden sliced" and made a swap for a 50 gr. pouch.

First Impressions: Pouch contains "half broken" flakes. You can different hues of Virginia leaves. Tin aroma is a mix of natural Virginia and artificial fruit flavours. Flakes requires a bit of drying time. I chose rubbing method to fill them into my pipe.

The taste; well as a fan of many great Virginia blends, i found this blend lacking...

The tobacco seems to be of good quality, burns cool and doesn't need relights. However, probably the producer found the Virginias dull and tried to reinforce them with a strong, artificial fruit-citrus-licorice topping, which is a complete deal breaker for me. It's hard to taste the Virginias and topping leaves an awful aftertaste.

Verdict: Well, if i was in a desert island and only had this tobacco with me, I would probably get used it. But while there are many great Virginia blends around I don't think i will buy this again.
Pipe Used: Several briars.
PurchasedFrom: Received from a friend.
Age When Smoked: 3 month jarred.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2016 Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable
there are many reviews here that said this is a great tobacco.really i dont think this is a "great".i didnt like this one.also this company (orlik) said it has perique .where is the perique?why i couldnt detect any perique in this one?also manty users said this tobacco is low in nicotine but i dont think this idea is true.this is not a heavy smoke but also isnt mild .i wont buy this again
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2014 Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm going against the grain on this one. I like my virginias with a little something else, perique, burley, etc. I detected none of that here. Just a plain hay smelling flake. It folds and burns ver nicely, but there are better blends out there.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 01, 2009 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Tried this on more than one occasion and just can't seem to get past the taste. True, if you really nurse it with lots of extra TLC you'll draw some nice flavors and Virginia sweetness out of it. It doesn't bite and it produces copious white smoke which is fun. But this one requires such a gentle touch that it's difficult to get anything except a very ashy cigarette flavor. I don't like the taste of cigarette ashes, therefore I don't like the taste of this stuff. Also, even with the gentlest sipping the briar heated up to an unacceptable level. Seems to me there are other VAs out there that are so much better, but I am willing to age this stuff for a while and give it every possible chance to redeem itself. With all the rave reviews here, and my own personal experience with the dramatic difference aging can make, I'm hoping I'll learn to eventually like this stuff. I want to...just can't right now...
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2009 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild Tolerable
Nice tin but it stops there at least for my taste.I have had good luck with not frying my tounge but this stuff you need to watch.Be careful it will bite with out warning.It has a licorce topping.If I want licorce ill go to the candy store.Its not a bad baccy but I highly dought i will buy any more.So try it for yourself if you must but its not hard to find better.If i could i would give it one and a half star rating.Sometimes ya win some times ya lose.Its your time and money.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 21, 2008 Mild None Detected Mild Tolerable
This is a high quality VA flake. While not noted in the description, I believe that it has a touch of perique in the blend. If that is so, it does not come through to any appreciable degree in the smoking quality.

It is somewhat moist out of the tin, and requires a bit of drying to smoke. Once rubbed out is packs easily,and I use it as a breaking-in tobacco for new pipes because the flavor is so neutral.

This one, like so many VA's, will burn hot if not smoked slowly and with care. While there is nothing wrong with the execution of this blend, it simply lacks any appreciable flavor or richness that makes it worth smoking over any number of other, better blends. I, like so many of us, only get one or two bowls per day, and it feels like a waste to smoke this, which offers little taste or singularity in experience, when there are other things so much tastier, and nicer smoking, out there. If, however, you are looking for a very mild, neutral blend for any reason, than this would fit the ticket perfectly.

Update: The tobacco field has really opened up in the last ten years or so and there are a lot of offerings now that provide the same type of neutral VA flake experience as this, with tastier results overall. There is really not much to see here unless you want to break in a pipe with a totally neutral smoke. If you can get them the unscented flakes from Gawith & Hogarth are much nicer, and many american blenders have similar offerings with better flavor and less bite.
Pipe Used: Becker & Musico Billiard
Age When Smoked: 5 yrs
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"