McClelland Frog Morton

(3.24)
An exceptionally dark, rich and full Latakia Mixture designed for those who desire really satisfying Latakia flavor but want a pipe tobacco soft enough to smoke anytime. It took Frog Morton four years to perfect this unique blend designed for smoking in quiet serenity. It is his proudest achievement.
Notes: The name Frog Morton comes to us from the works of JRR Tolkien. Frogmorton: A village in the Eastfarthing of the Shire. It stood on the East Road, between the Three-farthing Stone (fourteen miles to the west) and the Brandywine Bridge (twenty-two miles to the east). Immediately to the north of the village, the stream known as the Water broke into two, creating a wide watery region - this feature seems to have given Frogmorton its name, which means "frog marsh".

Details

Brand McClelland
Series Craftsbury Series
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.24 / 4
189

109

52

23

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 51 - 60 of 373 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2006 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant
I am a dedicated smoker of the Frog. I use this as my all day smoke. I find that it keeps fresh in its can for long periods. This being the case I keep several cans open wherever I smoke: garage, car, office, rec room, etc. I think the Frog is the perfect blend for me. Taste is very satisfying over the entire day. It is a dark Latakia taste that I enjoy. I never have nicotine problems with the Frog. The tobacco lights well, and stays lit to the bottom of the bowl. This also means that the tobacco smokes dry and has no gurgle. I enjoy some tobaccos that are stronger than Frog, and some that are milder. But I always return to the Frog for real enjoyment. New pipes are always broken in with the Frog as I find that it does not unduly flavor the pipe so as to spoil the pipe for other blends.

Update: 7/25/06. It has been almost 4 years since I posted my notes on the Frog. I still enjoy it very much and fairly often. I continue to try other blends, and from time to time smoke much more of the other blends than I smoke the Frog. But, I always come back to the Frog when I get tired of the others, or when they start to disappoint me. The Frog has become my "old faithful" and when I need to re-adjust my taste in Tobacco, or just sit back and enjoy a smoke, it is time for a Frog. Always satisfying, always a good smoke.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2006 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I remember my first tin of Frog Morton . I was new to Latikia, I think Crowning achievement was my first of this type and FM was next in line. It was January and my passion for the leathery taste of the new tobacco was at a peak. I smoked three tins of this in a row and I remember thinking I would never smoke anything else ! But by the fourth tin something strange happened. It was a though I had become immune. Suddenly it seemed bland and I decided to move on and I have never returned. I think I just over dosed on this very monochromatic blend but it was nice while it lasted. If you have never tried it you should , it?s still a very good memory for me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2005 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I am in the process of going back to some of my old favorite tobaccos that I have stored away. This review concerns a four year old can of Frog Morton. This blend used to be a regular in my rotation a couple of years ago. I had to give this a try to see if I wanted to include it in my lineup again. Except for Squadron Leader, I usually reserve my English blends for the evening. Frog Morton was one, if we can call it an English blend (?), that I enjoyed any time of the day. I now find my all day smokes to be either Squadron Leader, Stratford, or Barbary Coast. Somehow Frog Morton just can't get me to jump like it used to. I would finish my day with something like Dunhill's My Mixture 965 at that time. I might be primed for the Latakia with Froggy, but I could really enjoy it in 965 late in the day. Well, 965 isn't in my regular line up anymore, either. I will occasionally pop a tin of the old Dunhill stuff now and then, for a treat. My evenings are usually spent with Durbar, Nightcap,Esoterica's Penzance, Balkan Sasieni, or, if I would like a Virginia/Perique blend...Haddo's Delight. Frog Morton is a great all day smoke, however. It doesn't overpower you. It's great to hand to a piper who want to make the switch from aromatics to English blends. Some will stay within this "pergatory" of tobacco styles, but others will move in another direction to satify their tastes. I moved on. Even a can as old as mine doesn't excite me even if it burns cool and dry without a hitch. If you are a new English smoker I would give this a four star rating. It won't challenge you. Well, it doesn't challenge me, either. I'll step my rating down a notch to three stars simply because Frog Morton doesn't offer me the complexity that I am looking for. I didn't spend my time describing the experience of smoking Frog Morton because so many others have so well. Still, I would recommend that all who haven't tried Frog Morton should give it a whirl.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
JB
Apr 14, 2004 Medium Medium Medium Tolerable
I think pipestud's description works for me. This is not my cup of tea, but it certainly seems to be very popular.

Have you ever noticed that this tobacco never dries out? I wonder why that is?
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2004 Extremely Mild Medium Very Mild Tolerable
I bought Frog Morton to try on the strength of some of the reviews above. Many people whose taste has guided me to very pleasant tobaccos have said that they like this blend. I do not. I am actually shocked at the divergence of opinion on this tobacco. De gustibus non disputandum, I guess.

On opening the tin, the tobacco is faintly damp and quite sticky. After it dries a little, it lights easily and smokes evenly. There is no bite at all, no matter how hard you puff. These are the good things about Frog Morton.

The taste has been called monochromatic by other reviewers and that is fair. But, I have seen many monochrome photos that I admire and enjoy looking at. Not so this stuff. The taste of Frog Morton is boring. It is like a latakia-spiked candy bar, sweet and sticky to the end. I will spend my time in the future with tobaccos that taste like tobacco, not with this stuff. If you enjoy Frog Morton, please go ahead. I won't be competing with you for the last tin of this on the shelf, that's for sure.

May 2010: I can only say that my opinion of this blend has not changed. It is heavily treated with things that make it burn steadily and taste syrupy sweet. I note that many of the positive reviews of this blend begin with "Well, I have never smoked a pipe before but I really like this one!" Nuff said. I am glad that someone enjoys this stuff. I don't.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2004 Very Mild Very Mild Full Tolerable
Upon opening the tin I noticed the smell of vinegar. Then when I put my nose closer, I smelled latakia, and not much else. The tobacco is in long strands, so it was a bit of trouble to pack. Nothing terrible however. It was a bit moist, but it fired up just fine. It has a strong, smokey,slightly sweet flavor, with hints of chocolate. No bite whatsoever. It has a very mild nicotine strength. The flavor is a bit monochromatic to me. Towards the end of the bowl I notice the vinegar smell in the room note, as well as the smoke. I will finish the tin I have, but this stuff is just too plain for me.

Addendum: I have smoked this one a while now, and it has all the charm of vinegar soaked charcoal. Smoking it is a bit like kissing the bottom of my barbeque grill...
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2002 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Appearance: Very dark leaf throughout, with little variation from dark brown to almost dead black. Looks like Black Cavendish and Latakia, nothing else. Right from the can, it was more moist than I like. It showed no tendency to dry out in the air.

Aroma: Very smoky and somewhat sweet. I could not determine what aroma what present, but it is definitely an aromatic crossover.

Packing: Best done with a light touch, or it will not burn.

Lighting: Took flame well enough when packed properly, nohing unusual.

Initial flavor: Just like the aroma, the Latakia predominates, with a sweet background. Because of the flavoring, I don?t taste any Virginia or Turkish.

Mid-bowl: The flavor does not vary as I progress hrough the bowl. Monochromatic is one word word for it, BORING is another. It does smoke dry and cool, though.

Finish: Still boring, leaves a dry ash but also leaves its aoma in the pipe.

Summary: If you are looking for a crossover, then it would be worth a try. The quality is there, but it is just not my style.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2001 Mild to Medium Very Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin Aroma: dusky, but with sweet overtones.



Physical Characteristics: a fine ribbon cut of mostly oily black pieces, with a ribbon of something slightly lighter, here and there. Packs easily. VERY moist. I let it sit opened for several hours before even attempting to smoke it, and have since found that opening the tin upon purchase and then going back in a week or so to smoke it yields the best results for me.



First Light: Yum. This is a good mellow English blend, in the best sense of the word. Strong Latakia flavor, but not overpowering. The Virginias are in evidence, but sublimated to the Latakia and Orientals, so no complaints from me. I will definately be smoking a good bit of this in the future.



Notes: Like a good virginia, and unlike a lot of English blends, the flavor at the bottom of the bowl is the real treat here. The flavor during the last third of the bowl is bursting with duskiness, and is as smooth and thick as a good single malt. The first two thirds of the bowl are extremely pleasant as well, sweet and with a decidely 'earthy', smoky flavor, the flavor that draws me back to 'English' blends over and over again. A bit lighter in texture than it's cousin, Frog Morton on the Town, and the two of them, alternated bowl for bowl, provide me with a full day of english smoking pleasure. I can see recommending this blend to aromatic smokers who are interested in sampling a good english blend. There is the faintest hint of a topping of some kind, though for the life of me, I can't pin down exactly what it is.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
It was a happy day when I found a jar from 2018 that I had put away back then to be forgotten with some other jars of course. Now in 2021 I brought it back out to the light to give it a go.

The tobaccos are dark, the tin note is smoky. The moisture content is still perfect. Unlike newer tins and other McC's I don't get the ketchup/bbq note anymore from this jar. It's ribbon cut is chunky and easy to pack. It's fairly easy to light with a charring light and then a true light.

The smoke is quite full/creamy. There is a background sweetness with a campfire accent from the latakia. It burns very cool if not pushed and was even more enjoyable than I remembered back then. The nic level is low to my tolerance and it's def something you could smoke multiple times a day in my book. It produces some moisture in the pipe and really shines to me in smaller or taller bowls.

My favorite Frog has always been Bayou with that touch of perique in it, but with some aging I can tell why this was for so long a favorite.
Pipe Used: Radiator Pipes, Canadians
PurchasedFrom: trade
Age When Smoked: 3 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The ole’ Frog! This Latakia based blend is a McClelland staple and favorite of many. First in the Frog Morton series this mild to medium blend greets you with the classic McClelland’s ketchup smell as soon as the tin is popped however it doesn’t translate to the taste of the blend. The Cyprian Latakia is the major player and gives a nice smokey, woodsy flavor. The Virginia’s are typical of McClelland, top notch providing tones of dark fruit, citrus, and grass. Sweet Orientals help round out this blend without overpowering the Latakia or Virginia. Not my favorite of the Frog Morton’s but still an incredible blend that deserves at least one reservation in every smoker’s pipe!
Pipe Used: Dunhill “34” Brandy/Jerry Crawford Bent Egg
PurchasedFrom: Consignor
Age When Smoked: 19 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"