McClelland Frog Morton

(3.23)
An exceptionally dark, rich and full Latakia Mixture designed for those who desire really satisfying Latakia flavor but want a pipe tobacco soft enough to smoke anytime. It took Frog Morton four years to perfect this unique blend designed for smoking in quiet serenity. It is his proudest achievement.
Notes: The name Frog Morton comes to us from the works of JRR Tolkien. Frogmorton: A village in the Eastfarthing of the Shire. It stood on the East Road, between the Three-farthing Stone (fourteen miles to the west) and the Brandywine Bridge (twenty-two miles to the east). Immediately to the north of the village, the stream known as the Water broke into two, creating a wide watery region - this feature seems to have given Frogmorton its name, which means "frog marsh".

Details

Brand McClelland
Series Craftsbury Series
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.23 / 4
189

109

53

24

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 189 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2005 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I started with the Frog Morton spin offs and not the original product. I didn?t expect this one to be as great as Across the Pond or On the Town, but was I proved wrong. This has the more characteristic McClelland Worcestershire aroma in the tin, but the taste and burn are exceptional. The Frog, as I am finding out, is a magnificent critter in all its manifestations.

The leaf is dark stoved Virginia in thick cut ribbons and rubbed out flakes with a nice background of Latakia. The smoke is cool and even, with one charring light usually enough to keep the whole thing going for about an hour of pure smoking delight. The room note is heavenly, and the Latakia, while evident, takes its part gently in the background without crowding out any of the other players. The taste develops and gets better as the bowl progresses. At times the warm & toasty Virginias stand out, but not for long, because the Latakia rears its head to provide curiosity to the nose and palate. This is a tobacco I could smoke all day. The only reason I don?t is that I would run out of the tin in a couple days and have to rush right down to the store to buy another.

I take back all the nasty things I?ve said about McClelland and its barbeque tin aroma throughout the years. When I first tried them, I was too young and foolish to appreciate the quality and magnificence of its pedigree. Frog is a must try for every pipe smoker. Even though taste is such a personal thing, I can?t imagine anyone not liking it, especially those new to non-aromatic English blends. While so many tobaccos are overrated, Frog Morton truly deserves all its accolades.

As for all the embarrassment about the chintzy tin art and the 3rd grade level froggy illustrations, get over it! Okay, so it?s not a visual masterpiece, and it?s a bit on the cutesy side. Is there no room for a bit of playfulness? Besides, it?s the contents that count, and the Frog never disappoints.

Five of five stars
59 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
Froggie is popular with the latakia crowd because it is almost biteless and subdued in its palate sensory projection. If you eat a plate of straight latakia, you might get more in your system than what Froggie delivers in a pipe. The ripe Virginia leaf and delicate and sweet Orientals play just far enough in the background so as not to interfere with the richly rewarding Latakia taste of this specially processed Latakia leaf. A remarkable blend that has been a featured staple in the McClelland's lineup for a long time.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
I just opened a tin of this coded 45702, which I guess makes it 12 years old. Somebody correct me if I've got the age wrong. WELL: no funny smells anymore, no ketchup, Worcestire, nothing but tobacco & CHOCOLATE!!! in the tin. I would have sworn it smelled like Latakia & dark chocolate & the better half agrees. In the pipe, though, it's just tobacco & one of the best lat blends I can remember. The Va's come through now & then, but the smoking characteristics are what's best for me - really RICH flavor, totally smooth, no bite, no acidic aftertaste, almost floral at the top, though pleasantly sweet, smoke drier & richer down the bowl. Twice already I have been surprised by a mouthful of ashes at the bottom, not realizing iot was done. Just wonderful stuff.
Pipe Used: Dunhill pot from 1964 etc
PurchasedFrom: Don't remember
Age When Smoked: 12 years
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2015 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
A mostly black short ribbon tobacco with a smidgeon of golden leaf. The tin note is mostly the Christmas pudding aromas expected of McC Virginias, altho the Lat aroma sits squarely in the mix.

Takes a light beautifully and burns without attention. Produces pillows of creamy smoke. The aromas fill the nose and mouth with soft and sweet notes.

Seems to be mostly a stoved Va blend, which suits me just fine. Might not please the pipester seeking a nicotine hit or the broad mid palate of a burley blend. I found this beautifully weighted for my current tastes if somewhat lacking in complexity. The latakia presence makes it too rich for an all day blend, the premium tobacco price might rule that out as well, but feels like a great late afternoon indulgence with a big mug of builders tea.
Pipe Used: Lepeltier
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I have a weakness for simple Lat/Va blends. I've liked every one I've tried. If my memory is correct this is the first I've had that uses stoved Virginias and it adds an extra dimension that makes this one stand out. The toasty note really fits in here beautifully. The Latakia is just right, light enough to let the Virginias shine yet heavy enough to do some shining of it's own. Very nicely balanced with plenty of flavor. Burns very well straight from the tin. Most bowls are one match bowls. Sometimes another is required to finish it off. Just a really wonderful smoke.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in flavor. I can't detect any added flavoring.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Diplomat Apple, Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2016 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
McClelland - Frog Morton.

Another blend I received in a trade with Gentleman Zombie. Every time I do a trade with Franck it just reminds me of the great selection of blends available in the U.S.A! From my point of view, this is another one!

The appearance of the blend is very dark: it contains a much higher proportion of Latakia in comparison to the Virginia. The only descriptive word regarding the water content that could be used is Impeccable: not wet, not dry, but ready to smoke. The ribbons are very chunky, I'd say if they were any thicker the blend might pass as being a Broken Flake! The aroma from the tin is absolutely sublime: rich, leathery, and earthy. The second it's lit I feel as though I'm in Utopia:

I love both the texture and flavour of the smoke. Firstly the texture: thick, almost sticky, palpable, and very cool. Secondly, the flavour: Wow, wow, wow; I can see why at present it's the favourite of 48 users (49 once I'm included!). I've not smoked a Latakia-heavy blend anything like this before. Even though the Latakia makes up most of the smoke it's not harsh, nor is it that smoky on the palate: I never realized Latakia could taste so mild! Even though there's more Latakia than Virginia, I get quite a substantial citrus/grass note coming through; combined with the style of Latakia it makes for a brilliantly unique smoke. Although it doesn't have any added flavouring, I'm sure I can taste a black Cavendish-esc vanilla/sweetness. The nicotine's quite mild in this, it would be great to begin the hobby with if you're scared of the stronger Lat' blends.

If Black Cavendish and Latakia were to have a baby, this would be it!

Highly recommended.

Update 09/06/16: this is absolutely superb in a Churchwarden!
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Traded with Gentleman Zombie; he gets the best blends in his country!
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2022 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
The simplest mixture of the Frog Morton series, made up only of Virginia and Latakia, but which provides a rich and pleasant smoke, perfect for pairing with a good whiskey. There is not much complexity in this mixture and in my opinion, it does not need it either. Four solid stars.
Age When Smoked: Old
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
We'll I have to say this is one of the best blends I've had. To me a perfect blend of Latakia when I'm not looking for a lat bomb but a well balanced English. It's been quite humid here (75%) and I was foreseeing a hot biting smoke but was pleasantly surprised. Despite the high humidity FM burnt cool, slow, and smooth. The end was a delicious mix of smokey Latakia with a sweetness from the Virginias. To me this is almost my perfect English blend as I am a huge fan of Latakia, yet love the sweetness of Virginias. I will be educating myself on more blends from mclelland and looking to try more.

*10/4/2014* Still love this blend but still wonder where the big sweetness is coming from. Maybe highly sweetened black cavendish? I dunno. There is no claim of casing on the label... But to me seems sweet for any sugar added please comment...
Pipe Used: Savinelli long jhon
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2014 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This tobacco is simple and delicious. Full yet mild is what it says on the tin. That's true in that it's pleasantly mild, not harsh, yet it's full enough that you feel satisfied from the smoke. The latakia comes through very nice. I get some acidity and something else my taste buds can't quite pinpoint. Some people complain it's one- dimensional, but I think that's the point. FM is meant to be enjoyed without having to think about it. Let your mind wander while FM relaxes you for the journey. Easily an all day smoke.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
My first foray into English blends (along with Pease’s Mephisto) around 2002. The Latakia content of the Frog was more pronounced, and I wound up sticking with this blend till my last can about a year ago. Was considered a mild English sort of aromatic crossover. Like Mephisto, a victim of the warehouse fire some years back. Mclelland itself is now gone also.... very much missed.
Pipe Used: Preben Holm Crowns, many others.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"