Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Ennerdale Flake

(3.11)
Notes: Our best selling flake by a wide margin. Predominately Virginia leaf from Brazil, Zimbabwe and Malawi (86%) but with the addition of sun cured Malawi (10%) to add sweetness, strength and to cool the smoke and Malawi burley (4%) to "carry the flavour" in addition to its cooling and strength qualities. (burley is very good at absorbing casings and flavours) A background flavour of almond is enhanced with the addition of fruit flavours, vanilla, and the special 'English type' flavours which give this tobacco its distinctive, yet typical 'English' Aroma associated with the UK best selling brands such as Condor, St Bruno and Mellow Virginia.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Arom√°tico
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Almond, Floral Essences, Fruit / Citrus, Rum, Vanilla
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Actualmente disponible

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.11 / 4
105

68

30

25

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 221 - 228 of 228 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2010 Medium Strong Full Pleasant
I adore this blend's perfume. It's something I imagine the lovely; vivacious English actress Susan Hampshire might have worn when she was younger.

The downside is that upon first lighting, this tobacco has a distinctly peppery bitter taste that you have to endure before a nuttier, sweeter, more balanced tobacco flavor asserts itself. I suppose that's the "soap" burning off.

The bitterness never entirely goes away and at times can impart an ashy taste. I'd say it comes and goes almost as if it depends on the brain offering different interpretations of a hard-to-pin-down taste. The room note is not quite so perfumy. It's a distinctly English scent of leathery tobacco and flowers. The blend burns well, does not bite and has a moderate nicotine kick, less than that of Kendal Flake, another GH tobacco I've smoked.

There was a time when I would have given Ennerdale four stars, but I find I'm less tolerant of the bitterness that comes with the perfume than I used to be.

UPDATE Rubbing out the flake and packing lightly eliminated the bitterness that kept me from giving this tobacco four stars. I'm upgrading my recommendation accordingly. When packed lightly, the tobacco burns nicely down to a fine, light ash and the topping becomes delicate instead of overpowering and the bitterness vanishes.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Ennerdale Flake has the top particularities of a classical fruity- sweet Virginia blends of Lakeland style. It is similar to St. Bruno as underlined by the other reviewers. However it has an important point that the mild casing never shadows the true Virgina flavor in this blend. That's I think why GH has a top seller here. It is not a strong blend. Smokes cool, nutty and fruity (maybe soapy for some of us). An all day high quality smoke for me.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2009 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yeah this is great tobacco...Uniq and delightful...First i see somewhere, blender's top selling flake...Its so right this is finest GH... Smokes cool and dry...Good composition of virginia and burley...

Always 2-3 tins in my stash...I like it so much...
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2008 Mild to Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This aromatic has become one of my treasured blends in terms of being unique.The virginias and burleys provide a nice touch to the smoke providing a nice mild yet a little medium smoked with a very earthy undertone.Now the topping is something very different,a very floralesque casing has been added to the blend(ignore the description saying 'fruit and vanilla' believe me,it's very floral yet it provides depth and character with the burleys and stands in it's own as an aromatic.Recommended for a spring or summertime smoke.Don't worry about the room note though, it doesn't linger too long.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2007 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Upon opening my bulk sample I was intoxicated with this tobacco's scent. It was sorta soapy sorta licorice and definately like nothing I came across before. I was leary but rubbed out a bit for a bowl. It rubbed out to fine strands that were noticably soft more like a clothe fiber then any flake tobacco I've tried. Lighting this was a breeze and the flavor was yes soapy but not lasting. The soap faded to a tobacco taste that well seemed ok all the way to the bottom of the bowl. Nothing grand but I noticed over the next few days I'd gravitate towards this blend enjoying all the flavors from odd to regular to hey pretty darn good. Then I lost my sample of this tobacco and I went goofy looking for it. No luck but until I get more in I am reluctant to give 4 stars, but I did order more in desperation so will update soon.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2005 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a great well balanced flake in my opinion. It smells terrific and doesn,t dissapoint when lit. I find a lot of flakes smell good and have a nice aroma but taste strong and harsh - not this one. Good all round flake tobacco.

Update:

This is it. I've decided this is my favourite, and will smoke no other apart from Balkan Mixture.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2005 Medium to Strong Strong Full Pleasant
After trying a few of the more prominent lakeland blends, the fitting end of the road (for me) is Ennerdale.

It seems to be what the other tobaccos in the category are striving for. Variations on the theme of Ennerdale Flake. It is certainly the best of the lot if you prefer lakeland style blends. I do not and think about smoking this style of weed except perhaps twice per year. Therefore I probably won't keep any of this on hand with the numerous other tobaccos I look forward to smoking. Vanilla, fruits, liquor, tobacco - it is all there and all obviously high quality. But you are smoking perfume - there are very few other ways to say it. Unlike some of the other flakes, the additive intensifies - instead of melding in with the tobacco - as the smoke continues - becoming a bit murky rich. The burley adds a zesty undertone, which is pleasant - but does not quite bring the tobacco in line with my tastes.

When I reach for a lakeland blend, it is almost always the dark and rosey Kendal Flake. If you like heavily flavored tobacco - try this. If not, avoid putting it in your Balkan dedicated briar at all costs!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2004 Medium Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Although I have enjoyed smoking a sample of this tobacco forwarded to me by the esteemed Old Sea Rock, I have to agree with NEWMAN that the heavy floral taste and scent keep me from giving this tobacco a better review. It is without doubt a fine tobacco, and very good of its kind, if you like the kind. I have made progress, and can now imagine smoking some of these scented flakes from time to time with pleasure, but in general this just isn't my thing. Excellent for educating the palate, though.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"