CAO Eileen's Dream

(2.92)
Inspired by CAO's flavorful Eileen's Dream Cigarillos, this blend begins with a base of quality Virginia and black cavendish leaf and then infuses the same with a frothed cream that's been laced with superior Irish whiskey and coconut milk, followed by a subtle mixture of hazelnut paste, ground almonds, cocoa and vanilla extracts.

Details

Brand CAO
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cigar Leaf, Virginia
Flavoring Cocco, Cocoa / Chocolate, Cream, Irish Mist, Nuts / Beans, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.92 / 4
39

33

21

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2011 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I got this in a trade, not knowing anything about it. When I cracked the tin, I groaned at the heavy chocolate and liqueur scent. When I finished the bowl, I thought "not bad... not bad at all".

Like most aromatics, the tin aroma is overstated in comparison to the flavor. Dried out sufficiently, this one had a true tobacco taste under the "box of chocolates" aroma. Certainly the truffles and Irish Creme flavors shone through, but this didn't taste like candy. The taste overall was medium in intensity but the tobacco taste was definitely there. The room aroma was nowhere near as powerful as I thought it would be, and I was most impressed that this left no wet dottle or caused my pipes to gurgle very much. Really a very nice example of an aromatic for pipesmokers, rather than an aromatic for those in the same airspace as the smoker.

Not a ringing endorsement but anyone that enjoys exotic smelling tobacco should try this one. It's probably drier and tastier than what you're used to. Now the question is if you like the taste. Try it and see. I'd call this a premium aromatic.
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2012 Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant
a good smoke for beginners but if you thrive on flavor this is NOT your smoke.I was excited when I smelled it opening the tin but extremely disappointed by the lack of flavor once I lit it up.Very mild and almost no flavor.2 stars is being nice.I won't be buying this again
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 19, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
She Who Must Be Obeyed loves this! I really enjoy the taste, and the room note. My truck smells like this and Moontrance. I especially enjoy this in a churchwarden type after supper with a cup of coffee. Only drawback is intown availability. Ready to celler some and try in a month or so after cracking the tin. Highly recommend to everyone that enjoy aro's.

Update: I now alternate this with other aro's and enjoy the variety. SWMBO is a fan of this practice and I think I see a smile when she sees me reach for my pipe. So, win-win. But, be advised-if you have a pipe constantly burning, this blend sometimes bites if pushed or overly drawn. Will also steam if pushed, and become a gloopy mess. Go Slow and enjoy this. If you are like me and always have a pipe in your mouth, this may be alittle too steamy for you. Thats when the chemical taste emerges and my pipe becomes a torture device.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I had been looking forward to this tobacco for quite some time before I bought it. When it first arrived in the mail and I opened the tin, the aroma was VERY different from what I was expecting. It smelled like a barn filled with cows. Not a bad aroma, but definitely not the one I was expecting. A few days later the barn smell faded and was replaced with the smell of Irish Cream. This flavor carries though well into the smoke and is accompanied by a very sweet tobacco. It is best when smoked slow because of its tendency to smoke wet, as is the case with many heavy aromatics. It was a little disappointing to be honest.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2013 Medium Very Strong Medium Very Pleasant
My wife actually enjoys this CAO creation in cigar form on occasion. As I've shed my prejudice against aromatics recently I ordered some up for a try. The aromatic flavors are distinct and top notch. The aroma of the tin is very pleasant and rich. It's flavored something like an Irish Cream treat. Unfortunately, the Virginia tobacco is not tempered with Burley so it has that thin bodied but strong tongue irritating Virginia quality that I dislike. Had this blend had the benefit of the rich, full, grain-like or nutty qualities of Burley added (needless to say I love Burley )it may have been enjoyable. As it is this CAO concoction is just a sweet tongue scorcher. If you are a fan of strongly flavored Virginia tobacco you'll probably like this. As for me, it only deserves one star. However for the Virginia lover this would likely be appreciated so I'll give it two stars. Note: I have added a small amount of this to a home-made blend and due to the quality of the flavorings it made a nice condiment to the mixture.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Reading the other reviews and scratching my head. I could barely taste the casing. This smoked like a Cavendish for me and tasted the same. For my tin, the flavoring was only minutely detectable.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Very Pleasant
I’ve been searching for more solid aros to add to my stable recently. I enjoy a sweet tobacco of an evening sometimes, but I cannot seem to enjoy a tobacco if there is no tobacco flavor, as was the case here. I certainly want to taste the topping, but as a sweet addition to good tobacco flavor, not as a casing which hides a bland base. I loved the tin note and my wife certainly loved the smell in the room as I was smoking this blend, she was really hoping I’d like it, but I simply could seem to find a satisfactory reason to keep puffing away on creamy air.
Pipe Used: MM Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Disclaimer: I'm new to pipe smoking, and to reviewing tobacco

As a new pipe smoker, when I opened the tin of Eileen's Dream, I was pleased by the obvious smell of chocolate, with a hint of vanilla. The tobacco appears to be mostly comprised of black Cavendish, and seems a bit moist right out of the tin. I air dried a small amount for a few minutes before loading my pipe.

One char light, and a light tamp before putting flame to it again briefly. Only had to relight once more, near the bottom of the bowl.

First puff gave a definite taste of vanilla, but it wasn't overbearing as I expected. The smoke was full, but relatively mild. As I progressed through the bowl, I started getting a bit more of a chocolate note. As with the vanilla, it wasn't overpowering in any way, just present.

I expected this stuff to smoke hot, since it seemed a little more moist than I'm used to, and because of the aroma. I was pleasantly surprised, and received no tongue bite at all.

Left a light chocolate after taste, and had a great room note while smoking. Not something I'd smoke on a daily basis, but if I wanted something with some flavor, and something with a pleasant scent for those around me, this one would definitely be an option.
Pipe Used: No-name briar
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2019 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Eileen's Dream: A bowl of meh

The topping is sweet with a pleasant creamy vanilla topping and some liqueur, but is not heavily applied like some other American aromatics. Yet, the tobaccos still seem to get lost and muddled. The black cavendish adds a creamy texture to the smoke and the bright Virginias offer some grassy-crispness. There is just not enough flavor in either the topping or the tobacco to make it stand out from its competitors. The tobacco also gets a bit goopy. On second thought, I would pass on another bowl of Eileen's Dream.

Edit: August 2019 I am picking up on a little earthiness from the cigar leaf. That at least pushes this up this blend to two stars as it helps it stand out a little from other similar aromatic blends.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
The tin note was bland, even more bland when smoking. Room note was pleasant. Taste was very bland with no discernable flavors. Bland flavor was consistent until the last ¼ bowl at which point it becamen bitter and ashy. Extremely disappointing. I had looked forward to this blend the most. Moisture was prefect for smoking and required no drying. Smoked to the finish. NOT an entirely bad blend. Just bland and disappointing.
Pipe Used: Mr. Grabow Lark, Shire Pipes volcano churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"