Cornell & Diehl Yorktown

(3.02)
For Yorktown, the folks at Cornell & Diehl combine stoved red Virginia with bright Virginia and restoved it. Straight red Virginia is then added to this remarkable base for sweetness. The acme of mixtures for the Virginia purist!

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.02 / 4
18

15

11

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 47 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2022 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I like this tobacco.

From the pouch it smells sweet and fragrant, like a pack of good quality Va cigarettes.

Lighting it up is easy, and the flavor is that of good VA. It is sweet and grassy at the beginning and builds up a darker flavor as you go.

There is that nice buttery aroma when you blow gently into the bowl.

It smokes cool but can bite if pushed. Sipping it works best.

Four Stars. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: different briars
Age When Smoked: various batches
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
The stoved red Virginia offers some tangy stewed, sugary, fermented ripe dark fruit, earth, wood, plenty of bread, a few blades of grass, light vegetation, a little citrus, and touches of spice and floralness. It takes a small lead. In a support role is the tart and tangy citrusy, bready and mildly toasty, grassy, lightly floral and acidic tart lemony, moderately sugary, bright Virginia. A dash of fermented red Virginia provides a burst of tangy ripe dark fruit, earth, bread, vegetation, and wood along with light vinegar and hint of spice. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste barely reaches the medium mark. The nic-hit is in the center of mild to medium. Mildly complex and well balanced, you’ll notice every nuance in virtually every puff. It's a little dry, so I slightly moistened it to slow the burn rate, and bring out a little more of the flavors. Has a few rough edges. Won’t bite, and I experienced no harshness, though I do recommend smoking at a moderate pace. Burns fairly cool and very clean at a reasonable rate with a very consistent sweet and tart, tangy sour flavor from top to bottom. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasantly sweet, short lived after taste, and room note. A fairly easy going all day smoke that would make a good mixer, too. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
50 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
After so many average to poor reviews of Yorktown I was hesitant to try this blend, but was convinced by a You Tube video from C&D. I’m glad I was as I find myself only the second four star review of this blend. The pouch scent is quite inviting and sweet which led me to believe that there might be some added topping to Yorktown. After smoking several bowls, I don’t think that’s the case, but rather a result of the processing of the Virginia's, but that’s a guess. There is no bite, and it smokes sweet. It will burn a little hot if pushed. Also, if not smoked with the proper cadence, it can get a little ashy. But if smoked properly, the rewards are worth it. While there is very little complexity, a bit of a surprise given the components, I found it quite tasty. My only issue with this blend would be around cellaring it. It arrives a bit dry and I prefer to smoke it that way. But without the moisture content needed to get the best results from aging I am hesitant to buy larger quantities of it. This may likely be an issue with the retailer rather than C&D. I have finally found a bulk Virginia blend from C&D that hits the mark!
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
It's been in the neighborhood of 5 years since this blend has been reviewed. Perhaps some changes have occurred.

I find this to be the best straight Virginia I've smoked. The flavors are rich and delicious. Raisins and hay with ample sweetness. There's also a touch of spice. There is some complexity, but not a lot. Then again, I wouldn't expect a lot. Medium bodied with the flavors running medium to full. It's just a wonderful smoke. There's not even the hint of a bite.

I also see a lot of potential here for use as a blending component. If I ever get around to building my own English or Balkan these are the Virginias I will use.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I have used C&D Yorktown blend for over 10+ years now as my day-to-day go-to pipe smoking tobacco. In one of my conversations with Craig, the founder of C&D, we discussed this blend at length. He was always a supreme example of customer service and never shied away from doing so with his customers (something the new owners seem to shy away from...) That said, as far as the blend specifics itself, no, it has not been cased with anything. It is a 'pure' blend, in the English tobacco making tradition of stoved and cured Virginias.

I had already tried a huge number of C&D offerings with the intent of finding that just right for me blend that was lower in nicotine but slightly higher in sugars blend, but one that did not smoke hot, as some sugar-rich tobacco blends too often possess. Craig hit the nail head on this one as far as a light pleasant smoking blend that produced only a small amount of moisture (determined by the pipe type smoking it of course, and that I smoke filtered pipes), was not too smoky like burley blends and heavily cased tobaccos are, is very mild on the palate regarding tongue bite or roof of mouth burn, has a pleasant taste to the smoker but is also pleasant to the surrounding people, smokes at a very steady rate when properly packed - requiring few lights when tamped regularly, and doesn't cause the kind of nicotine hit so often seen with other heavier or robust tobacco blends.

On reviewing the two and three start ratings of other reviewers I've noted that maybe they're comparing this tobacco blend to other more heavy/robust blends, which is really a mistake, as Craig clearly told me that this is a blend intended to stand on its own and was never intended to compete or be comparable to other blends. In fact, when I told him what I was looking for as a daily go-to blend he immediately and without hesitation recommended Yorktown for me. I bought a packed 1# tin from him (which sadly, is no longer available, and I must say actually enhances the quality of the blend). Since then I have purchased pounds of C&D Yorktown, though I must say that in recent times it appears they have changed the blend to where it is much looser in its packing in the pipe and smoke slightly faster than the 'original' blends I purchased prior to their being taken over by another concern.

But still, the smoking qualities have remained constant. If one is looking for a low nicotine hit, lighter go-to daily smoking blend with the qualities I've described, C&D Yorktown nails it square on the head for meeting these criteria.
Pipe Used: Dunhill, Ferndown, Vauen, Peterson, etc.
PurchasedFrom: Formerly direct from C&D, various now.
Age When Smoked: when received and/or a year or so later.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Yorktown.

Yorktown's constructed of very fine ribbons, virtually a shag. This arrived today but rather than cellaring it I decided to have a bowl imminently. It wasn't dry, but not moist enough for storage.

The initial smoke feels a little boring. At first the only real taste is mild hay. I find it takes until five minutes in for the flavours to develop: what starts out as quite a mundane smoke becomes rather good. I get a nice sweetness, some bready/doughy notes, dark fruit, and a touch of spice. Although I get a hay flavour I can't identify any sharp grass, and the fruity note's one of dark fruit, not citrus. Throughout a bowl I find the smoke becomes deeper/richer tasting.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: quite pleasant.

Yorktown? It's nothing flashy, or over the top, but would be a solid all day smoke. Recommended:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Harp #03
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
An interesting blend that has a peculiar combination of bright, slightly earthy Virginia flavor with very mellow and cool smoking characteristics. I point this out because most blends comprised of this much sugary bright leaf have a tendency to bite, or at the very least burn somewhat hot.

According to Cornell and Diehl, Yorktown is a combination of red & bright Virginia, both stoved and unstoved, finished with a bit of black Cavendish. It’s also the only mixture they produce that contains stoved bright leaf. The result? Yorktown has flavor that’s naturally sweet and toasty. The stoved leaf seems to round things out, while also lending a good measure of bottom-end to the overall taste. By mid bowl, Yorktown sweetens some and the flavor gains more depth.

I enjoy smoking this mixture. It’s simple but still quite good. Yorktown is lightly nuanced & delicately sweet with plenty of natural tobacco flavor and a touch of spice. This is also a good blend for seasoning new pipes. It does arrive a bit too dry for me, so I chose to re-hydrate it to my liking with some distilled water which worked perfectly.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the breadiest Virginas I have smoked. There certainly is an evident citrus character from the brights and some dark fruity from the reds, but sweet baked bread is on the forefront. There is a bit of spiciness as well. I believe the stoved virginas which are heat treated in some way to bring out a natural caramelization of the sugars, add a deeper sweetness than you find in the straight brights. I believe it is a good beginnger tobacco as well as its not incredibly complex but has sweetness. Does come quite dry, which is probably why I found little to no moisture in the bowl at the end. Despite the dryness, the flavor was still ample. Leaves a bready room note. I bought this primarily for blending as the C&D bright and red virginas I purchased left me wanting. This is definitely a superior Virginia product. Satisfying enough on its own. Though I prefer flakes and the usual benefits they bring, this blend will stay around for use. Definitely an underrated blend that deserves more attention, especially for the price. 7/10 score for me, so worthy of a "highly recommendation".
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 0-3 months
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I honestly don't see how this blend has any bad reviews (other than from smokers who smoke like steam engines) This blend is a very mild sweet, slightly grassy Virginia that can easily be an all day smoke. I smoke this mainly in cobs and have no problems with it whatsoever. It should be smoked slowly for it burns rather quickly. This is honestly one of the mildest blends in my cellar and if you're looking for a mild all day Virginia, Yorktown is the way to go.
Pipe Used: Tons of cobs , some briars
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: Various
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2016 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Upon opening jar, sweet smell of tobacco. One of my favorite Virginia's but I am also a hoarder and do not smoke it often. It is dry tobacco and I have learned to smoke it slow, it can bite a little. My jar is 17 years old and the pipe tobacco still smokes great. Update: June 2019. My Yorktown is now 20 years old. I don’t smoke this very often but when I do it still tastes great. I bought this back when you could only order by the pound from Cornell & Diehl. I actually called them on the phone to order and talked to a human being, Ha. I bought a pound of this, Gray Ghost, and Pirate Kake that year, not really even knowing much about what I was ordering. I was 39 and had not been smoking a pipe very long. I still have quite a bit of Gray Ghost, Yorktown, and a little bit of the Pirate Kake left. Never intended to cellar these but time has a way of causing this to happen I suppose. I have way too much pipe tobacco and way too many pipes and I sometimes wonder if I would enjoy my hobby more if it was simple like back then when I had a few pipes and a few blends….. ? Guess I will never know.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: Bulk from Cornell & Diehl
Age When Smoked: 17 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I have never found Virginias to be something I enjoyed. After buying a tin of Yorktown and keeping it aging over 3 years, I finally decided to give it a try before planning to pitch the tin in the trash with others I do not enjoy (Yes, TAD is real). I was SHOCKED to find how good this blend actually is. Not only will I smoke it regularly now but it will remain as part of my regular favorites. If you like Burleys and hate the typical Virginia tobacco blends, TRY THIS! It's smooth tasting, good burning, and holds it's flavor 'til the end of the smoking experience.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Cobbit
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 3 years
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"