Cornell & Diehl Yorktown

(3.00)
For Yorktown, the folks at Cornell & Diehl combine stoved red Virginia with bright Virginia and restoved it. Straight red Virginia is then added to this remarkable base for sweetness. The acme of mixtures for the Virginia purist!

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
18

15

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
The stoved red Virginia offers some tangy stewed, sugary, fermented ripe dark fruit, earth, wood, plenty of bread, a few blades of grass, light vegetation, a little citrus, and touches of spice and floralness. It takes a small lead. In a support role is the tart and tangy citrusy, bready and mildly toasty, grassy, lightly floral and acidic tart lemony, moderately sugary, bright Virginia. A dash of fermented red Virginia provides a burst of tangy ripe dark fruit, earth, bread, vegetation, and wood along with light vinegar and hint of spice. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste barely reaches the medium mark. The nic-hit is in the center of mild to medium. Mildly complex and well balanced, you’ll notice every nuance in virtually every puff. It's a little dry, so I slightly moistened it to slow the burn rate, and bring out a little more of the flavors. Has a few rough edges. Won’t bite, and I experienced no harshness, though I do recommend smoking at a moderate pace. Burns fairly cool and very clean at a reasonable rate with a very consistent sweet and tart, tangy sour flavor from top to bottom. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasantly sweet, short lived after taste, and room note. A fairly easy going all day smoke that would make a good mixer, too. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
51 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 15, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Yorktown.

Yorktown's constructed of very fine ribbons, virtually a shag. This arrived today but rather than cellaring it I decided to have a bowl imminently. It wasn't dry, but not moist enough for storage.

The initial smoke feels a little boring. At first the only real taste is mild hay. I find it takes until five minutes in for the flavours to develop: what starts out as quite a mundane smoke becomes rather good. I get a nice sweetness, some bready/doughy notes, dark fruit, and a touch of spice. Although I get a hay flavour I can't identify any sharp grass, and the fruity note's one of dark fruit, not citrus. Throughout a bowl I find the smoke becomes deeper/richer tasting.

Nicotine: mild to medium. Room-note: quite pleasant.

Yorktown? It's nothing flashy, or over the top, but would be a solid all day smoke. Recommended:

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Harp #03
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
An interesting blend that has a peculiar combination of bright, slightly earthy Virginia flavor with very mellow and cool smoking characteristics. I point this out because most blends comprised of this much sugary bright leaf have a tendency to bite, or at the very least burn somewhat hot.

According to Cornell and Diehl, Yorktown is a combination of red & bright Virginia, both stoved and unstoved, finished with a bit of black Cavendish. It’s also the only mixture they produce that contains stoved bright leaf. The result? Yorktown has flavor that’s naturally sweet and toasty. The stoved leaf seems to round things out, while also lending a good measure of bottom-end to the overall taste. By mid bowl, Yorktown sweetens some and the flavor gains more depth.

I enjoy smoking this mixture. It’s simple but still quite good. Yorktown is lightly nuanced & delicately sweet with plenty of natural tobacco flavor and a touch of spice. This is also a good blend for seasoning new pipes. It does arrive a bit too dry for me, so I chose to re-hydrate it to my liking with some distilled water which worked perfectly.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2016 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Upon opening jar, sweet smell of tobacco. One of my favorite Virginia's but I am also a hoarder and do not smoke it often. It is dry tobacco and I have learned to smoke it slow, it can bite a little. My jar is 17 years old and the pipe tobacco still smokes great. Update: June 2019. My Yorktown is now 20 years old. I don’t smoke this very often but when I do it still tastes great. I bought this back when you could only order by the pound from Cornell & Diehl. I actually called them on the phone to order and talked to a human being, Ha. I bought a pound of this, Gray Ghost, and Pirate Kake that year, not really even knowing much about what I was ordering. I was 39 and had not been smoking a pipe very long. I still have quite a bit of Gray Ghost, Yorktown, and a little bit of the Pirate Kake left. Never intended to cellar these but time has a way of causing this to happen I suppose. I have way too much pipe tobacco and way too many pipes and I sometimes wonder if I would enjoy my hobby more if it was simple like back then when I had a few pipes and a few blends….. ? Guess I will never know.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob
PurchasedFrom: Bulk from Cornell & Diehl
Age When Smoked: 17 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is a great blend for people to try who insist C&D can't make a blend without Burley. Even still I have heard in forum talks some who insist this smokes like it is a burley. I did not experience that at all. What I experienced was a good solid bulk Virginia offering. This will give you all the sweetness you would expect in a Virginia. That being a sugary slightly citrusy haylike sweetness. It is not very strong, so in some ways it is not like your normal C&D blend at all.

This is not good enough to replace any of my favorite Virginia blends, but neither is McClellands 5100 and I always like to have some of that on hand, mostly for blending purposes. Yorktown is different than 5100 in that it is more citrusy and grassy, but would serve the same type function in my rotation: a blend that is good on its own and great to improve some other blends I am not that crazy about.

So I do recommend this blend, particularly for those who are looking for a good bulk Virginia offering.

Pipe Used: 1985 Dunhill Shell 5103
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Straight Virginia Short ribbon cut, very smooth, mild to medium taste and strength, medium nic, unlike some straight Virginias this blend does not burn hot, burns even with very little relights. No bite. Soft mouth feel.

No topping detected, just a very nice tobacco flavor. Tin note is old school pipe tobacco, no fuss just an outstanding solid Virginia flavor.

I like this blend a lot, great for relaxing, not complicated but not boring, a good blend for savoring the experience of smoking.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Roma 122 (Pot)
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2008 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Another winner of a Virginia blend from C&D. This one is better with my favorite Scotch than some of the others. It stands up and the flavor blends well the malt of the whisky. I smoke it more in the evening either with whisky or a good tea blend from across the pond.

Try it in your medium sized pipes. It's a dandy.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Sometimes you wonder when buying bulk if you get the correct tobacco. My pouch tastes like a medium English dominated by Oriental leaf. Sort of a Durbar clone. A quality blend, it won't make my top ten at this time.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2004 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I concur with the esteemed reviewers before me that this is a nice VA that could be an all-dayer for some or a good evening smoke to finish off the day. Visually appealing with shades of gold & brown, nice cut for easy packing & lighting, burns nice and even to gray ash and leaves the pipe clean & dry. Nice citrusy flavors are there at the start & through 1/2 the bowl with a light sweetness here & there for balance. Subtle spice notes now & then. Becomes more full as you near the end of the smoke. I notice slight "ashiness" at this point but it is not unpleasant. I had no gurgle trouble at all and used no cleaners till the smoke was done and the ash emptied. The pipe I used was a full bent carved IL Ceppo apple that is exclusively a VA pipe. This is a dry smoking pipe in most cases, but I have had good results with other pipes including a coupla' straights. As advised by the others, keep your puffing moderate or you could fry your tongue a bit. Good VA flavors, smokes & burns well...not bad. Works for me.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2003 Mild Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is another excellent go to tobacco for nice smoke after dinner.

I packed this in a Bjarne Brandy Glass (A) and gently glided over the tobacco with a lit match, before firing up the second mmatch. I immediately detected the taste of a mild Lemon, which gradually became an almost full delightful Virginia. This blend needs to be smoked very slow as not to cause tongue bite.

As I was nearing the end of the smoke I could taste just a bit of sweetness but not overwhelming. This tobacco really needs to have a chance to entice a dedicated Virginia Connoisseur, the first 7 to 10 puffs leaves you wondering if this tobacco is really that satsifying; It is, very much so. I noticed this blend needs a little more attention when it comes to tamping, but seemed to me to be a very even buring tobacco.

For those who have never had the pleasure of a Virginia Tobacco, beware this is a medium to full taste with more of an emphasis on the full. Myself, I thoroughly enjoyed the rich tasteful tobaccos and I do smoke this on occasions.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"