Cornell & Diehl Yorktown

(3.00)
For Yorktown, the folks at Cornell & Diehl combine stoved red Virginia with bright Virginia and restoved it. Straight red Virginia is then added to this remarkable base for sweetness. The acme of mixtures for the Virginia purist!

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
18

15

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
After so many average to poor reviews of Yorktown I was hesitant to try this blend, but was convinced by a You Tube video from C&D. I’m glad I was as I find myself only the second four star review of this blend. The pouch scent is quite inviting and sweet which led me to believe that there might be some added topping to Yorktown. After smoking several bowls, I don’t think that’s the case, but rather a result of the processing of the Virginia's, but that’s a guess. There is no bite, and it smokes sweet. It will burn a little hot if pushed. Also, if not smoked with the proper cadence, it can get a little ashy. But if smoked properly, the rewards are worth it. While there is very little complexity, a bit of a surprise given the components, I found it quite tasty. My only issue with this blend would be around cellaring it. It arrives a bit dry and I prefer to smoke it that way. But without the moisture content needed to get the best results from aging I am hesitant to buy larger quantities of it. This may likely be an issue with the retailer rather than C&D. I have finally found a bulk Virginia blend from C&D that hits the mark!
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
It's been in the neighborhood of 5 years since this blend has been reviewed. Perhaps some changes have occurred.

I find this to be the best straight Virginia I've smoked. The flavors are rich and delicious. Raisins and hay with ample sweetness. There's also a touch of spice. There is some complexity, but not a lot. Then again, I wouldn't expect a lot. Medium bodied with the flavors running medium to full. It's just a wonderful smoke. There's not even the hint of a bite.

I also see a lot of potential here for use as a blending component. If I ever get around to building my own English or Balkan these are the Virginias I will use.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I have used C&D Yorktown blend for over 10+ years now as my day-to-day go-to pipe smoking tobacco. In one of my conversations with Craig, the founder of C&D, we discussed this blend at length. He was always a supreme example of customer service and never shied away from doing so with his customers (something the new owners seem to shy away from...) That said, as far as the blend specifics itself, no, it has not been cased with anything. It is a 'pure' blend, in the English tobacco making tradition of stoved and cured Virginias.

I had already tried a huge number of C&D offerings with the intent of finding that just right for me blend that was lower in nicotine but slightly higher in sugars blend, but one that did not smoke hot, as some sugar-rich tobacco blends too often possess. Craig hit the nail head on this one as far as a light pleasant smoking blend that produced only a small amount of moisture (determined by the pipe type smoking it of course, and that I smoke filtered pipes), was not too smoky like burley blends and heavily cased tobaccos are, is very mild on the palate regarding tongue bite or roof of mouth burn, has a pleasant taste to the smoker but is also pleasant to the surrounding people, smokes at a very steady rate when properly packed - requiring few lights when tamped regularly, and doesn't cause the kind of nicotine hit so often seen with other heavier or robust tobacco blends.

On reviewing the two and three start ratings of other reviewers I've noted that maybe they're comparing this tobacco blend to other more heavy/robust blends, which is really a mistake, as Craig clearly told me that this is a blend intended to stand on its own and was never intended to compete or be comparable to other blends. In fact, when I told him what I was looking for as a daily go-to blend he immediately and without hesitation recommended Yorktown for me. I bought a packed 1# tin from him (which sadly, is no longer available, and I must say actually enhances the quality of the blend). Since then I have purchased pounds of C&D Yorktown, though I must say that in recent times it appears they have changed the blend to where it is much looser in its packing in the pipe and smoke slightly faster than the 'original' blends I purchased prior to their being taken over by another concern.

But still, the smoking qualities have remained constant. If one is looking for a low nicotine hit, lighter go-to daily smoking blend with the qualities I've described, C&D Yorktown nails it square on the head for meeting these criteria.
Pipe Used: Dunhill, Ferndown, Vauen, Peterson, etc.
PurchasedFrom: Formerly direct from C&D, various now.
Age When Smoked: when received and/or a year or so later.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
One of the breadiest Virginas I have smoked. There certainly is an evident citrus character from the brights and some dark fruity from the reds, but sweet baked bread is on the forefront. There is a bit of spiciness as well. I believe the stoved virginas which are heat treated in some way to bring out a natural caramelization of the sugars, add a deeper sweetness than you find in the straight brights. I believe it is a good beginnger tobacco as well as its not incredibly complex but has sweetness. Does come quite dry, which is probably why I found little to no moisture in the bowl at the end. Despite the dryness, the flavor was still ample. Leaves a bready room note. I bought this primarily for blending as the C&D bright and red virginas I purchased left me wanting. This is definitely a superior Virginia product. Satisfying enough on its own. Though I prefer flakes and the usual benefits they bring, this blend will stay around for use. Definitely an underrated blend that deserves more attention, especially for the price. 7/10 score for me, so worthy of a "highly recommendation".
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 0-3 months
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I honestly don't see how this blend has any bad reviews (other than from smokers who smoke like steam engines) This blend is a very mild sweet, slightly grassy Virginia that can easily be an all day smoke. I smoke this mainly in cobs and have no problems with it whatsoever. It should be smoked slowly for it burns rather quickly. This is honestly one of the mildest blends in my cellar and if you're looking for a mild all day Virginia, Yorktown is the way to go.
Pipe Used: Tons of cobs , some briars
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: Various
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I have never found Virginias to be something I enjoyed. After buying a tin of Yorktown and keeping it aging over 3 years, I finally decided to give it a try before planning to pitch the tin in the trash with others I do not enjoy (Yes, TAD is real). I was SHOCKED to find how good this blend actually is. Not only will I smoke it regularly now but it will remain as part of my regular favorites. If you like Burleys and hate the typical Virginia tobacco blends, TRY THIS! It's smooth tasting, good burning, and holds it's flavor 'til the end of the smoking experience.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Cobbit
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 3 years
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2020 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Wow, I too am baffled by the negative reviews here.

I smoke a lot of virginias and va-pers. When I'm smoking a straight virginia, I'm looking for the sweetness to come through, some grassy/herbal notes, some toasted bread -- and for it not to bite me to death.

This mixture more than meets those criteria. It has more natural sugar than Opening Night or even Golden Slices (which, ok, I know has a touch of perique, but seriously not much...). It's not as creamy as Golden Slices, but does a better job of highlighting the toasty/bread flavors. Similar in the herbal/grassy notes to Opening Night, which I like, but I actually prefer this mix given the improved sweetness.

It's not a Tilbury-style "super subtle" mixture -- it does have some earthiness and a touch of spice to it. We'll call it a "medium" straight virginia, medium-mild overall. In contrast, something like Amphora virginia or FVF are medium+ straight virginias, medium overall type smokes.

I bought this in bulk, and can completely agree with other reviewers -- it came bone dry in the bag. It still smokes fine, but I put it directly into a jar to avoid any further drying. Maybe some rehydration would help it smoke a little slower (its a reasonably quick burn), but it's not critical. Almost no fragrance from the bag, I've gotta stick my nose down in there to smell it. But taste? Abundant.

It can bite ... if you really try! Smoked at a moderate pace, this was much less bite-prone than the Amphora or Opening Night.

This is a truly great straight virginia. If you're looking to really experience pure VA, look no further. Comically cheap in bulk, and totally lovely.

I'm putting this one right next to Golden Slices and Tilbury as my go-to virginias. Different flavors for different moods, and all equally good in their own way.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 03, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Almost shag cut. Nice blonde ribbons of tobacco. Medium in strength but exceptionally smooth and mellow and very natural-tasting. Mostly citrus and straw aromas on a spicy background. Not grassy, closer to the hay side of the Virginia spectrum. Not very complex but completely natural as I said and really tasty.

I bought in bulk and it came a little dry but it smokes perfectly well if quick. Does not produce any tongue bite and does not smoke hot for a Virginia even if pushed.

Good for an all-day blend and ideal for me as a first smoke in the morning with coffee. Fully recommended to the purists of tobacco and former cigarette smokers.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2021 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
I picked this up in Bulk during a recent sale before holidays. I had read where this is a component of Popular Camp (VaPer) which I enjoy, so I figured it might be worth a try on its own.

I was right. This has quickly became my favorite C&D straight Virginia blend. It's a ribbon cut with lots of browns, lighter color, and a few dark strands in it. The bag note is sweet hay. The ribbon cut makes it easy to pack into most any shape bowl. Lighting is a breeze. The combination of Virginias produces a smoke which has a good level of sweetness, supported by a base grassiness. It's not as sweet as the European VA's that I smoke, I'm guessing because there isn't a topping. The taste is very consistent through the bowl and from bowl-to-bowl, which is another benefit.

I'd say the strength is about medium to my taste and the nic level seems mild-to-medium. I always feel the nic in this one, but I can smoke multiple bowls through a day still. It produces some moisture, but just requires a quick swab of a pipe cleaner to eliminate. Burns down to grey ash.

Available as a Bulk, this is a great smoke for the price-point and I've already ordered a pound to jar up and add to my cellar, it will have a place in my rotation as my VA Ribbon going foward.
Pipe Used: Radiator Pipes, Canadians
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: October 2020
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A straight Virginia that has many other characteristics. Maybe it's the process, maybe the high quality leaves, but there is a lot of flavor developing out of its simple ingredients. Short verdict: I love this blend.

Tin Note are mostly of zest, hay, grass, and dry fruit.

Smoking notes: The smoke begins as a fairly mellow "flat" smoke. Some red wine from the red Virginia, some sweetness from the bright leaf. However, as the smoke proceeds, around a third of the smoke in, the flavor develops and becomes more spicy and more full bodied.

Red wine / dry fruit notes increase from that point on, as the red Virginia takes over the show. The bright Virginia is only there to add just the right amount of sweetness. Even some smokiness coming out, mostly in the retro-hale.

The tobacco comes pretty dry. I drop a small humidifier in for a bit and that does the work perfectly. Otherwise, it's a ribbon cut, very easy to pack and smoke, no relights. It has just the right amount of complexity to make it suitable for an all-day smoke. Aside from complexity, it has a good nicotine kick, but certainly not too much. When I finish a bowl I feel just the right amount of "full", like after a good meal. Doesn't get too hot, doesn't bite the tongue. This is very much a "sipping" type of blend, although it does smoke relatively fast.

I was pleasantly surprised by this blend. How a two-ingredient, both parts of the Virginia stock, processed in a certain way, have such a full flavor, sharpness, smokiness, spiciness, and still the hidden sweetness of the basic bright leaf. I went through the tin like a tornado and ordered more. Would love to see how it smokes with some age. Four stars.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 106, Stanwell 242
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"