Cornell & Diehl Yorktown

(3.00)
For Yorktown, the folks at Cornell & Diehl combine stoved red Virginia with bright Virginia and restoved it. Straight red Virginia is then added to this remarkable base for sweetness. The acme of mixtures for the Virginia purist!

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
18

15

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 48 of 48 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 14, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The city of Yorktown stands as an emblem of American freedom and tobacco trade. Cornell & Diehl's Yorktown captures this same spirit as a traditional no-nonsense smoke of American tobacco leaf.

Bread and spices with an underlying sweetness are the dominant notes in this blend. It kinda reminds me a bit of gingerbread although that's not how it tastes. Slight tartness shines through on the retro hale.

It's an affordable bulk Straight Virginia that comes dry and with not much of a tin/bag note, and can easily be rehydrated if needed. Burns very well and creates lots of smoke even when sipped (and it must be sipped. There's a cigaretty quality to it, and it can easily get harsh if puffed.

The downside: Given the plentitude of great straight Virginias on the market it's simply not a blend that sticks out. It's fairly one dimensional, lacks depth. For my personal taste it's too bright, and yet the qualities you traditionally anticipate in bright Virginias - hay, grass, and citrus notes - are too far in the background here.

2.5 stars - not bad by any means, but won't get it again
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2024 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
The bag arrived with a ribbon, almost shag (broken up ribbon) of yellow, light brown and orange leaf. It smells like a delicious typical VA blend with some honey, bread, hay, but there was a slight difference, a smoky scent as if someone had puffed on a pipe and exhaled into the bag.

Very easy to load in the pipe and lit after the normal charring light and then final light. Stayed lit with no relights with firm but occasional tamping with a medium sipping cadence.

I finally found an extremely pleasing and enjoyable, but perhaps sleeper, straight Virginia blend that rivals the McClelland Virginia’s. This is going to be a staple for me for the foreseeable future!!

A nice pipe in the backyard with 50-60 temps… sweet Virginia smoke, both dark fruit and higher notes of citrus and lots of bread and toasty flavors… all while an owl hoots in the background. Heaven! This is the 'long-bottom leaf' I imagine the two hobbits were smoking at the ruins of Isengard in LoTR!!

The smoke was sweet dark fruits, with some citrus notes, mixed with a lot of bread, yeast, toast, and some sweetness, but more sweet in the nose and less on the mouth like sutliff matured red va. There wasn\'t the vinegar/tartness, but there was a slight tang mixed with a bit of spice here and there. Didn\'t get harsh at all, but puffing at a more sipping speed allows for more of the sweetness to come forward and more nuances. The flavors were incredible, like someone had taken all the best flavors of the Virginia leaf and mixed them all together in a consistent, easy to smoke blend. Incredible stuff!
Pipe Used: Bones Rhodisian
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh from store
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2018 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Bright, grassy and lemony/citrusy, this was my first impression after lighting up C&Ds "Yorktown." I loaded two bowls the night before and one light was sufficient the next day. They both burned to a fine ash with one tamp each. I got a wonderful taste of summer grass with lemon and a hint of spice. The flavor stayed steady and strong all the way through the bowl. This is something I can see puffing away as I meander the streets of Colonial Williamsburg. It would just "fit," despite its "Yorktown" name. It would also be a great "all day" smoke while mowing the lawn or working in the garden. I highly recommend it and shall be adding this winner to may rotation.
Pipe Used: Little Devil Acorn Corn Cob Pipe, Sav 626
PurchasedFrom: gift
Age When Smoked: 3 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2016 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This straight Virginia is a very old blend. The Virginia were simple and too toasted for my taste. While a one time delight, there are a number of other blends that overpass this one
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The first 4-5 bowls gave dreadful tongue bite and tasted poor, but after drying it, it smokes much more pleasantly. In general, very middle-of-the-road flavour profile, one-dimensional and uninspiring. But its low cost and no flavouring should be factors to consider.
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I rather enjoy smoking a nice pipe full of tobacco. This is a nice tobacco to fill a pipe with. There are notes, the sweet scent of hay and fruit, but the overall note is tobacco and tobacco often has notes of hay and fruit.

Much like walking into the moisture controlled room a fine tobacconist keeps cigars in, this has that warm rich feel of tobacco. Seems redundant to have a review of tobacco mention the aroma and feel of tobacco, but all artifice aside, this gives me a delightful experience smoking. Smoking this reminded me of hiking in Virginia in the seventies and seeing the fog drift over steep green fields planted with tobacco. I still don't know how they cultivated such steep fields. As my mind wandered I went back to considering how to describe the experience of smoking Cornell & Diehl's Yorktown. I kept coming back to the deep warm comforting note of tobacco. I will be keeping this one around.
Pipe Used: Mesquite pipe, inexpensive white clay pipe
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yorktown is a straight Virginia blend. I was concerned at first that it would lack any depth and quickly become uninteresting. Boy, was I wrong.

The Virginias marry perfectly with each other. Almost reminds me of 5100 RedKake. No tongue bite. Very close to Cornell and Diehls Tuggle Hall. Minus the Latakia.

Yorktown is my new go-to. It deserves four stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: online
Age When Smoked: 1 year
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2021 Mild None Detected Mild Tolerable
Fantastic virginia blend. Should be talked about more often. Especially since it is available in bulk. Can't wait to try this after it has some age on it. This is a perfect mix of bright and red Virginia's. Plenty of grass and hay and just a touch of that ketchupy red virginia flavor you get from Mcclelland but not nearly as strong. Definitely worth a try for any virginia smoker. Quickly found a spot in my rotation.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"