Charles Fairmorn Lancer's Slices

(3.66)
This almost black flake tobacco combines the best grades of naturally sweet Virginia and smoky Latakia, matured together under pressure. A wonderfully smooth and mild yet full-bodied mixture. Very reminiscent of the old Bengal Slices.
Notes: The "Where to Buy" Hyperlink has changed, and the accurate Hyperlink is https://www.smokingpipes.com/tobacco/by-maker/fandk/bulk/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=39821

Details

Brand Charles Fairmorn
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging Bulk
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.66 / 4
69

12

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 81 - 89 of 89 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2007 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
***Update Consistency is worthy of a note. This tobacco is very consistent. My latest bulk purchase had a little more age on it than previous purchases and must say it had already settled down. The high quality of the components is evident at once not only by taste but in the way the long wide slices appear. Years after my first acquaintance with this tobacco it still holds a vital position in my rotation. It ages very very well. The latakia is the highest quality Cyprian, which is considerably different than the general market blending condiment. The tobacco that comes closest to this in my opinion is Sam Gawith Balkan flake - although the VA in Lancer's is sweet and natural, as opposed to the SG Lakeland style which can often seem slightly bitter in a blend.

**Update: This tobacco remains a favorite in my rotation. I have changed only one aspect in the review, that is moving the Room Note descriptor from Pleasant to Tolerable, based on my cohabitants declarations. (Personally, I'm addicted to the aroma but I also singularly enjoy anchovies, fine Stilton and the entrails of various species.) The taste, however is in a rare class of sweet mature VA and smoky-creamy Latakia. I can't share some fellow reviewer's comparisons to other blends that have many other Orientals - such as Penzance. While they may have a similarity inasmuch as they both have Latakia - the comparisons are much like saying Lamb is just like Beef.



11/20/2005 Review This is a difficult review to write because this tobacco was exactly what I hoped it would be, so I'll start by saying that I love this stuff.

It is a very smoky latakia blend but totally creamy. The mature and non-tangy VA is very subdued but clearly apparent and sets a nice background to the Latakia. This is interesting without being complex. It starts out with creamy cool Latakia, but not acrid in the rooom note. It also doesn't hang. I can only imagine that the maturing process of this tobacco has been nailed. The VA's in the background are also missing the sweet sour tang, and more like a hint of VA sweetness.

The top half of the bowl is dominated by Latakia and then it backs down considerably and the cool dark viginia plays a duet but in the dark stoved VA manner. The is an incredibly cool smoke without a bite in the bowl.

My bulk order came in long slices that I have recannistered. The first whiff is an incredible Latakia smokiness. You can actually smell the complexity of the smoking curing process. Once the initial pop has subsided, the smell is incredible, inviting, again very subdued sweetness with the smokiness in the foreground but almost an addictive pouch aroma. I have smoked it as flake and partially rubbed out and fully rubbed out. My preference is fully rubbed out since the VA's seem to be more assertive when rubbed out.

It has mellow enough to be an all-day smoke without being boring. You must have a great love of creamy smooth cool Latakia to enjoy this since it is the headliner of this show. 4 of 4 stars without question.

Cheers, VC
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2007 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
What a find!

Upon opening the bag, I was greeted by the all too familiar musty smell of a heavy latakia blend. Surprise, surprise. This is not a blend that overwhelms the smoker with latakia, and while the latakia is pronounced, the virginia's do shine through.

Packing is remarkably easy although one needs to be careful of packing too tightly as a fresh package can be quite moist.

I wish I could compare Lancer's to the old Bengal Slices, but my only familiarity with that blend is one pipefull some forty years ago and memory does not serve me well. On the other hand, comparisons abound with Penzance and some of the G L Pease latakia blends, past and present. All are creamy, wonderfully flavorful and of the highest quality. The one obvious difference is that Lancer's does not seem to have the complexity of the others. Then too, one does not always seek complexity.

I'm not about to remove Penzance and Pease from my rotation, but Lancer's will take a place therein.

At about one half the price of Penzance and one third the price of Pease's blends, Lancer's has to provide the biggest bank for the buck.

Unless you smoke only aromatic's (heaven forbid!) you Must give Lancer's a try!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2007 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
03/17/2007 WOW!!!! Others have given this blend good reviews, and they did well in their descriptions, but words do not do justice to Charles Fairmorn's Lancer's Slices. Of all the latakia blends I smoke regularly, Samuel Gawith's Balkan Flake is my favorite. but Lancer's Slices could quickly become the #1 blend in my tobacco rotation. I ordered a 500 gram bag based on the previous reviews of this blend, and I will be ordering 3 or 4 more bags soon. I am very curious to see how this blend responds to aging. After about 10 minutes or drying time, Lancer's Slices loaded easily in my pipe. A charring light, an easy tamp, and a second match, along with an occasional tamp, were all that was needed for the entire bowl. No gurgle, no tongue bite, just very good flavor. A bit milder than Balkan Flake, this blend is well orchestrated. The Virginias were sweet, the latakia smoky and peppery. All in all, a very pleasant experience.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2007 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
I was excited to have a chance to try this tobacco that I had heard so many good things about and it did not disappoint. My sample came in a sort of broken, unorganized flake. The pouch aroma is heavenly. I am a particuarly big fan of the straight VA-Latakia blends like this. It does need to be allowed to dry out a bit, but after ten minutes or so it is ready to smoke. The rubbery particles take a litte bit of work to be well lit, but once ignited this provides the smoker with a lovely experience. It starts off semi-sweet, kind of like dark chocolate with a rich smokiness in the background. As it progresses it becomes smokier and one is greated with notes of pepper which rounds this tobacco off with a bit of spiciness. The wonderful thing about this tobacco is that it is very rich without over powering ones palate. This is very reminiscent of Esoterica's Penzance, only a bit sweeter and not quite as full bodied. Overall this tobacco is on pace to be a favorite of mine, there will be more Lancer's Slices in my future. Highly recommended!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2006 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I love this stuff. I smoke 98% latakia blends and 2 % Virginia Flakes. It is generally listed that only pressed virginia + latakia is in this blend. And for such simplicity, it is rich, smokey, creamy and intersesting enough to simulate complexity. Where a straight virginia, like SG Full Viginia Flake, which can bite if not sipped slowly, this blend never gets aggressive on the tongue. It smokes from top to bottom leaving a clean, white ash. It really reminds me of Penzance with less complexity and more body. One question I have is how names like Charles Fairmorn and Robert McConnell are German tobaccos? Are they actually English companies or just "English" names used by the German producers? Anyway, I recommend this tobacco highly.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2006 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I love this tobacco. It?s my ?I?m putting on flannel and jeans and huntin? grizzer bear? feel smoke.

A perfect marriage of Latakia and Virginia?s, the tobacco is rich and beautiful shade of dark umber. Tin nose is of vibrant Latakia: slightly peppery with the smoky overtones of a Korean BBQ on a winter?s eve.

Lancer?s is served in long, somewhat moist slices. I?ve always enjoyed the ritual of preparing a bowl of pleasure. With Lancer?s, I rub out the tobac and tear the slices into lazy thirds, enjoying the rich earthy colour and woodsy aroma of this tobacco. Amazingly, the aroma that arises during this process with Lancer?s Slices wakes up the salivary glands as I prepare for my journey into a piper?s paradise.

Lancer?s takes fairly well to the match. About two lights and an easy tamp and it?s off.

By nature, I tend to sip my pipes, relishing (or more likely searching) for layers of flavour. With Lancer?s sips are lovely things indeed. So are two handed, hedonistic gulps for that matter!

Regardless of how Lancer?s is smoked, there is no bite. A hot bowl does little damage to the flavour?no medicinal overtones from over-cooked VA, there are no crackling forest fires with kim-chee chasers. Nope. Just warm fingers.

Slowing down of course brings out the bells and whistles of this fine tobacco. The smoke is creamy and copious, the room-note rustic and inquisitive. There are no ugly aftertastes or peculiar mouth-feel. Lancer?s is the perfect blend for my finicky personal chemistry.

There are numerous flavours laying in wait as this is consummed. As the latakia gives way, the sweetness of the VA's slip around the tongue. At times, especially in the final furlong, I experience hints of wine infused chocolates, while the next sip may bring out oaken casks and berries followed by whispers of distant campfires. There's a lot hidden within this simple mixture. Like life itself, much can be found if you take the time to find it.

I highly recommend Lancer?s Slices to traditionalists and British fancier?s who want a simpler blend (but ever so rewarding nonetheless). Also recommended for the aromatic smoker who want?s to try something different and is willing to experiment a bit.

Try an ounce. If you don?t care for it, you can always send it to me!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2006 Mild Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
The description states this is reminiscent of Bengal Slices. I have to say that I never smoked the original. But, if it exhibited the wonderful attributes of this avatar, I could understand the tears of many who witnessed the denouement of the old Bengal Slices.


Lancer?s conveys an amazing balance between the sweet and nutty Virginia and smoky wood-like overtones of Latakia. The taste is a leather and toasted nut harmony that smokes the whole way through without bite and ends with predominate white ash.

Fans of Latakia should find this is a tobacco well worth placing into rotation. An amazing treat that is best when left to dry a few days. Congratulation Charles Fairmorn, well done.

AGA
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2005 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Great late evening smoke, after a meal, or with a single malt scotch,
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2005 Mild to Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This may be the best Virginia-Latakia blend on the market, for sure it's the best as far as burning qualities. It is presented in a broken flake format, you can smoke it as it is or rub it out some more; it will burn slow and even, with a rare to find freshness and no bite or moist at all. The colour is very dark. From the beginning of the bowl you can taste the strong latakia presence, but the Virginia is not just a background at all: the two tobaccos' wedding is an ode to smoothness and perfect balance. Maybe it's too smoky and flavourful to be an all-day smoke, but it's really easy and somewhat refreshing, one of the rare times when I don't feel the need of a good amount of orientals to add deepness.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"