Charles Fairmorn Lancer's Slices

(3.66)
This almost black flake tobacco combines the best grades of naturally sweet Virginia and smoky Latakia, matured together under pressure. A wonderfully smooth and mild yet full-bodied mixture. Very reminiscent of the old Bengal Slices.
Notes: The "Where to Buy" Hyperlink has changed, and the accurate Hyperlink is https://www.smokingpipes.com/tobacco/by-maker/fandk/bulk/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=39821

Details

Brand Charles Fairmorn
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging Bulk
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.66 / 4
69

12

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 89 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Lancer's Slices is a smoky, meaty, full flavored tobacco heavy with woody campfire and leather notes. The Virginia and Latakia are each bold and strong and play off each other like two large Sumo wrestlers fighting in a circle or something. I find there is a dominant character in the mix that may be a good or a bad thing depending on who you are, and that is a slight acrid bitterness that I think comes from the Virginia side. It's not extremely complicated, but it is bold and very satisfying. The tobacco which I purchased in bulk did need some drying time. The smell in the room after you smoke this I find incredible. Very much like pretzels and a smoky campfire of aromatic woods; sweet and complex.
Pipe Used: Tom Briar
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 04, 2015 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Who would have thought that a Latakia blend with just VA's could be so good?

What can I say about to this superb blend that hasn't already been covered. Well the descriptors are all there so I'll just say that if you love a full, complex, creamy smoke that has Latakia in it - and won't trash your mouth - look no further.

I'll be buying more once my 2 oz runs out. Absolutely wonderful and 2 Thumbs up!!!
Pipe Used: John Hines Pipe, Leonard's Pipe
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I incorporate herein all of the positive commentary below. Great tobacco that forces me to my piper's Thesaurus where, when I don't feel like typing, I call upon the only 3 scholarly words -- "yuck", "whatever" and "tasty". For such a manly flake I hate to say it's tasty but it's late and it is. Rich, creamy, enveloping and unctuous smoke. To my taste, surprisingly smooth and fully satisfying while almost light in its lack of abrasion. Whether you like lighter English blends or more rich and powerful Balkan/Latakia offerings, you'll like these broken flakes. Seems so much like there's a rich oriental in there but it may just be the quality of the Latakia or the "muscle memory" of my system. Whatever it is, it's highly recommended and very good stuff.
Pipe Used: billiards and dublins but good in any
Age When Smoked: new to one year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2013 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Leathery and full bodied Latakia that is creamy, velvety, spicy and smoky with a slightly sweet and hay like interlude from the Virginia.

A long smoke that burns to a white ash, there is nothing monochromatic about this mixture. The name is well chosen as I was seeing myself a 19th century British officer maybe in the Crimean war, smoking a pipe after a charge.

A pipe tobacco for journeymen pipe smokers that should appreciate the incense qualities of this proper Latakia mixture.

Update: after a few years of smoking this mixture, I came to a better understanding of it. I also realized that there is a mild honey sweet and floral topping especially at the beginning of the smoke. Also when smoked fast, this tobacco leaves me with a cotton mouth, once again proof of the presence of a topping. After aging it in a tobacco jar, It has become a harsh smoke with a very aggressive attack on my throat and mouth, down the trash bin you go!

Virginia lover
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
If there is a finer VA/Lat flake on the market, I'd like to try it. A good, meaty and hearty blend that tastes great whether rubbed out, cubed, or pretty much any way you want to burn it. One of my go-to smokes.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 09, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I think this has taken the place of Frog Morton for me (both being just English and Latakia). This is beefy stuff and delicious. It makes blends like Frog Morton seem way too mild, almost weak, for me now. Most of the descriptions here are already pretty accurate. However, I'm not sure why people compare it to Old Ironsides. I've never had OI, but considering it says it also contains Perique and Turkish, I'm not sure how a comparison could be made.

2011-12-15 Just coming back to say how solid this blend is. Very reliable for me with every smoke. Good sweetness from the VAs and the Latakia is blended with it fantastically. I'd actually like to know where CM gets the VA in this blend, because I think it would be amazing by its lonesome. After I'm done with this, I'll be trying Commonwealth Mixture from SG (50/50 mix). It will take a lot to get me to like something more than this one, though.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2009 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Just one small word of advice - you better like Latakia before lighting this one up. Starts off great, beautiful melding of the Virginia and Latakia. Rich and smooth, easy to light and keep burning, just don't pack it too tightly.

During the last third of the bowl the Latakia almost becomes more prevalent. It got very pungent and strong, but if you slow down the pace a bit and puff more gently than during the first two-thirds it'll reward you with rich smoothness all the way to the bottom. I really like this blend!

I've now got a pile of this stuff aging. One of my all-time faves.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2007 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Tolerable
Man I hate to be the voice of dissent. Oh well.

Ordered a couple of ounces of this from the fine folks at Marscigar. It was economical and I expected a sort of economy Penzance. And I was well down that road, until I actually smoked some. The appearance and aroma are lovely -- a dark musty smoky flake. It rubs out and packs nicely.

At first light, the creamy smokiness is a dead ringer for Penzance. But then some kind of bitter grassy/hay note jumped in and just overwhelmed me. I suffered with it, hoping it would abate. But just a little. It left a disagreeable taste in my mouth. I tried drying out my next bowl, but no change. It's just not my cuppa, sorry.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2018 Mild Mild Medium Tolerable
Lancer’s Slices is for smokers who want some Virginia with their Latakia, rather than vice versa. The tobacco is dark, dark brown broken flakes with some black bits. Bag note is smoky Latakia well melded with and dominating the stoved, earthy, slightly piquant, red VAs. Liquid Smoke and “incense” scent have been added, but with more restraint than usual these days. LS can be stuffed and puffed straightaway, or I prefer to dry it some, to dissipate the Liquid Smoke and facilitate burning. I tear some rough “ribbons” to length and loosely load them “vertically” into a group 4 pipe reserved for Lat blends. It lights easily enough and smokes down slowly with some poking. There’s plenty of smoke. Tastes stay much like a more fragrant version of the bag note from top to bottom, except the VA sugars and piquancy build and the Lat sours as LS is smoked down. A particular, earthy, fragrant, woodsy quality makes me think there is some air cured brown VA in this blend, as well. Though the Latakia stays at the wheel, the tempered VAs are good backseat drivers. Strength is mild. Tastes are medium. Aftertaste can start out acrid if LS is smoked down too far, so the bowl ends that way, but in any case it winds up a sweet, lingering best-of-the-smoke.

IMO, Lancer’s Slices is an easy 3, and it might be a 4 for those who pine for this sort of Lat-forward blend.
Pipe Used: various briars
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: unknown
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
jiminks (of course) nails this. Especially the virginias where I do get a surprising "citrus note" [tangerine?] and a "touch of grass." The Latakia doesn't quite dominate. This blend is perfectly balanced and the price for this in bulk, divided by the quality and satisfaction level produces a nearly unequaled value. In this blend, I get the best of MM965 in terms of flavour, and I do understand the comparison to Bengal Slices; but this is more minimalistic and crystalline than either of those blends (or any other english blends that I've tried). I'm smoking this now after about 8 months in a jar, and it has mellowed out a bit, but I can see how this would only get better and better with age and perhaps more Virginia dominant/fruity over time. Worth jarring 10 pounds of it!
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: 8+ months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"