Charles Fairmorn Lancer's Slices

(3.66)
This almost black flake tobacco combines the best grades of naturally sweet Virginia and smoky Latakia, matured together under pressure. A wonderfully smooth and mild yet full-bodied mixture. Very reminiscent of the old Bengal Slices.
Notes: The "Where to Buy" Hyperlink has changed, and the accurate Hyperlink is https://www.smokingpipes.com/tobacco/by-maker/fandk/bulk/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=39821

Details

Brand Charles Fairmorn
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging Bulk
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.66 / 4
69

12

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 89 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2017 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
The unsmoked flakes have a very smoky aroma. Campfire. Flakes are fairly dry and Latakia parts crumble easily to dust. Lights and smokes easily.

With the first whiff you are greeted by a whole load of flavor. Smoky, sweet, creamy and smooth Latakia backed by a nice mature Virginia. Though full on flavor it has only medium strength and nicotine and smokes cool. It’s so tasty that sometimes I can get carried away and smoke a little too fast which causes me a slight tongue bite.

The best part of the bowl is the first, as it grows a little -just a little- bitter and harsh as you go down and this is mainly where Penzance is superior for me.

Of course Lancer’s Slices is very similar to Penzance! Maybe not as complex or as rounded but quite close. Also they lack the Orientals Penzance contains, but keeping in mind that Latakia is a smoke-cured Oriental leaf, I sure can taste more than traces of Oriental tanginess in Lancer’s Slices. It’s also similar to Old Ironsides yet it is Slices which is smoother and less edgy in this comparison. As for the Bengal Slices, I have smoked neither the old (which was cased whereas Lancer’s is not), nor the new version which I do intend to try.

Not a perfect smoke (tongue bite, some harshness towards the end), but definitely four stars. It is a must try for all Latakiaphiles and also a great value for money.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2014 Medium None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
This blend surprises me with its complexity. I have come to expect English blends to be interesting and complex via the interplay of component tobaccos. However, this blend is comprised of just Virginia and Latakia, and still delivers a delicious and rewarding variety of aromas.

When smoked aggressively, which I do when I'm not paying attention, the blend has a straightforward in-your-face Latakia flavor. It stays cool and tastes good when smoked this way.

When smoked carefully, it gives a very interesting and varied experience. The Virginia complexity comes through and has a tasty interaction with the Latakia. Although words like "nuanced" and "deep" are poor descriptors, those are the words that come to mind when this blend is smoldering.

I do not get the phenolic, resinous flavors that I find to be a characteristic component of some other Latakia blends (e.g. Penzance) in this blend.
Pipe Used: Two billiards dedicated to VA/Latakia
Age When Smoked: Six years aged in a canning jar
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 15, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
...Quite a nice tobacco...not much to add as the reviews have been fairly sraightfoward. "Very reminiscent of the old Bengal Slices"...well, that may be a bit of a stretch. There are similarities between the two but I believe this tobacco has its own character and complexity.

Definitely worth a try for those who like full-bodied tobacco and I enjoy this any time of day...

...a pipe is to be savored...
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a smoke that all pipe smokers should try.The strength is a strong medium with no added flavors detected.I like the room note, but others around me have not developed the sensory appreciation for the latakia let alone the virgina's. The taste is solid and smooth.This is a well made tobacco,needs little preperation but it smokes,way good with some drying time.

01/27/2013 Really nice, RUB/DRY it out, it makes all the difference in the smoking qualities and the flavor throughout the bowl. Don't be afraid to smoke a drier tobacco than you normally would
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2012 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
A novice pipe smoker, I entered the ring with a tin of Early Morning Pipe, Dunhill Flake and Presbyterian. After a few rounds I would say I liked them all but longed for a bit more depth and taste; enter the favorite smoke, aka champion, Lancer's Slices! Lancer's Slices burns wonderfully, tastes great and is less filling. Less filling in that one bowl usually will not be enough. I have not refined my palate enough to name nuances like leathery or peppery, but Lancer's Slices does have greater depth of taste than the previous three I have mentioned. Most important there is no tongue bite, but there is a nasally sensation most similar to eating a bit to much horseradish or wasabi. That is neither unpleasant nor disruptive, only noticeable. As far as nicotine is concerned I would say it is minimal because I am a new pipe smoker and I felt no affects of the latter. In closing there is a wonderfully fine gray ash left in the bowl, and again I am to inexperienced to answer why, but I perceive that to be a good thing.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 04, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A great, and perfect blend of VA and Latakia, neither overwhelms the other. A good, tasty, heady smoke, not to be overlooked by anyone interested in a VA/Latakia blend, especially for $12-$13 for 4oz. No bite, just smooth, smokey and tasty.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
In the Old Ironsides class of tobacco, providing the beef jerky and shoe leather smokiness that the other does, the shoe leather predominating here. Yet the Slicer's leather has a tanginess that is lacking in the former. It brings a fullness to the smoke.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
When I first got this, it did not leave much impression to me, so did many Latakia/Virginia blends I tried. After 2 years of aging, I am pretty surprised at what I am getting now. I don't have the experience with Bengal Slices, but it reminds me of Fusilier's Ration which is inspired by it. It is amazed that only 2 components can produce such a profound flavor. For my taste, it is better than my 5-year-old SG's Balkan blend.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Charles Fairmorn - Lancer's Slices.

Remarkable.

I'll start with the appearance of the blend, I'd call it a 50/50: half of the pouch is occupied by long flakes, yet the rest of the space is filled with ribbons. Ergo, 50/50.

It lights up very easily, partly due to the moisture being good, and then I get an adorable smoke. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants an intricate and complex flavour, but I would strongly suggest it's tried by someone who wants a basic English style one: I get the most flavour from the Latakia, but it seems to be the calmer variety; it's more woody than smoky. The Virginia gives depth to the smoke without being overly grassy or citrus like, it's smoother than that; mild hay. Although the taste isn't too ostentatious, it's quite deep and classy.

The nicotine's medium, and despite the fact many of my fellow reviewers only rate the note as tolerable, I like it!

The ONLY possible result for this is a very high recommendation.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Siena 320KS
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: One Month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 09, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is a wonderful Blend. It's been far too long since I had any Bengal Slices for me to make any authoritative comment about the similarity and I didn't find reminiscent of Penzance. It's not nearly as smooth but all that said it has much to offer all on its own. There is a very pleasant balance between the Va. and the Latakia. I was a little skeptical, the absence any Oriental leaf, that it would have the usual complexity of a good English but that doubt was unfounded. This blend will reward you very pleasant smoke start to finish. The smoke is luxuriously full and the taste strong and completely lacking the bit sometimes associated with blends that are Oriental forward. Available at very reasonable bulk prices this is truly a steal in today's market. I've put away about a half pound fully expecting it to mature well. But right out of the bag it's a very pleasant smoke. I highly recommend it.
Pipe Used: Comoy 1057
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"