Charles Fairmorn Lancer's Slices

(3.66)
This almost black flake tobacco combines the best grades of naturally sweet Virginia and smoky Latakia, matured together under pressure. A wonderfully smooth and mild yet full-bodied mixture. Very reminiscent of the old Bengal Slices.
Notes: The "Where to Buy" Hyperlink has changed, and the accurate Hyperlink is https://www.smokingpipes.com/tobacco/by-maker/fandk/bulk/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=39821

Details

Brand Charles Fairmorn
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Latakia
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging Bulk
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.66 / 4
69

12

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 89 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
One of my top favorites, I think of Lancer Slices kind of like the Laphroaig of English tobacco blends: It's rough, straight forward, slightly unrefined, and "rustic", but somehow the realest of the real. Earthy, almost moldy notes, bright and satisfying. Not for everyone, but if you're one of the folks with the taste for it, it's going to be a go-to blend.

Just two ingredients: Va and Lat, so you can imagine it's sweet and smoky, in that order. I love orientals in an English, but LS is so good, you won't miss them. Stripped down, in your face at times, but super enjoyable. I treat it like a Virginia flake (which it is, basically) and smoke it in a (dedicated) tall, narrow-bowled Chacom. I also love it in a crappy 3 dollar cob, too.

Appearance-wise, this comes in long shreds of black, dark brown, and yellow stripes. I have seen flakes as long as a foot when I have bought it in bulk. Comes pretty dry, which is perfect for this blend. Smoke it slow.

Bag note is a very aged, almost moldy-like, earth note with some campfire going on. The fragrance belies just how smoky it is when you out a flame to it. Nicotine-wise, I find it to be fairly strong, in contrast to some other reviewers opinions here. This is probably because I only smoke one pipe a day, on average. My nic tolerance is probably not as high as others. Still stronger than most englishes I am used to, probably because of the Va proportion, I suppose.
Pipe Used: Chacom small chimney, Savinelli chimney, cobs
PurchasedFrom: Local smoke shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh bulk, 1 year aged bulk
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A nice rather on the mild side blend, nicotine wise, but that provides a nice and rich taste which is the result of a fine balance between the Virginias and Latakia. The flakes are ultra long similar to those of Marlin Flake. LS smokes nice and cool and is satisfying. It would be an ideal All Day English mixture for me. were it to contain a bit more nicotine! I find Dunhill's Baby's Bottom to be a much superior offering in the virginia & Latakia blends.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Lancer's Slices is a Good Thing.

Black, pliable flakes which come at the perfect moisture content. No particular care is needed in filling the pipe, and the flakes take light easily and burn steadily to a fine grey ash.

Just two ingredients, but both are of high quality. I never managed to smoke Bengal Slices and therefore cannot comment on the similarity of taste. Penzance it is not: it has nowhere near the subtle complexity of that mixture. The nearest approximation in my experience is Gawith's Balkan Flake, though Lancer's Slices is heavier in latakia.

When in the mood for a simple latakia heavy smoke, there is little that is better than these slices.
Pipe Used: several briars
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: four years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I first smoked this seven or so years ago. What I am about to state breaks with a lot of commentary but this is afterall about the highly subjective state of personal tatse. During no bowl of this have I ever been reminded of Penzance, it completely lacks that tobacco's depth and smoothness(Please note that my reference to Penzance which I smoked a lot of over the years has nothing to do with whatever it's production of the past two years may taste like because I've stopped looking for it.). It also gets some play as reminiscent of Bengal's which I also don't get.

What it is to my taste is a pretty straight forward heavy latakia and virginia tobacco which delivers a fairly full and consistent smoke. I have sense found other tobaccos I prefer but this is a solid offering. I even bought a pound or so of this at a time when it was truly inexpensive and I still have most of that pound left.

If you like heavy latakias with a background of virginias then you will not be dissappointed.
Pipe Used: various
Age When Smoked: varies
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 25, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
A man's tobacco, not for beginners, strong but flavorful.Nice amount of smoke ,stays lit even with a slow sip. U Don't have to think about this one ,light it and go, ending in white ash.Creamy, earthy, just a touch of sweetness. I do feel this will bite if you over puff this one

Update 1- 11/17/11- Some more age and the bite is back? This just doesn't smoke well on my tongue ( agree with reviewers "DK" & "tabaco" from 2010). I also feel that the complexity is not here, some Orientals would help. Still a solid 2 1/2 stars

Update 2 2016-08--08 I just tried a stash from early 2013 and it is flat , no flavor, time has not been good . Don't bother to cellar this one- 2 stars
Pipe Used: cob
Age When Smoked: new and 3years old
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2011 Medium Mild Mild Tolerable
This is the first Charles Fairmorn mixture I ever tried, and didn't really got excited about it with the first trials. A broken flake mixture of Latakia and Virginia, with intense smokey flavor. Very heavy for my taste, it does not present any sweetness at any point and the Latakia appear particularly harsh. It specifically has an intense acidity/sharpness in the beginning of the bowl. The Virginia does not make its presence very perceptible. Perhaps after some less healthy meals, than these I have this period, I may like it more. If still it is combined with a good whisky, the results may be even better. All these, hypothetically. In any case, I didn't go crazy about it.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
Having smoked English blends for 4 decades, I know what I like. Bengal slices was perhaps my all time favorite. All I can say about Lancer Slices is OUCH!! Much like the review from Elcid, I'm gonna stand outside the crowd on this one. Based on its contents, you would think think it would be on my hit parade. The two seperate occasions I smoked it met with the same results. Within minutes of lighting a bowl my toungue would actually swell, and my taste buds would numb. The effects lasting for more than 24 hours. Never, before or after, have I experienced this in any blend. Far worse than bite, more like an allergic reaction.

I wouldn't let my review stop you from trying it. Based on others reviews, I wish it worked for me.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
First impressions: Meaty, sweet and smokey. I get a little bit of a floral or fruity note at the top of each puff. Is that the Virginia? I can't quite place it, reminds me of a Lakeland. According to the description it's not flavored. Maybe that's just the herbs in the Latakia? Having grown up with a lot of campfires and spent a fare amount of time trying to keep the smoke out of my eyes and throat (though it annoyingly seemed to follow me everywhere) I don't mind a bit of the woody smokiness but ive had my share of that taste already and I'm not that enamored with Latakia in general because of it. I need a lot more in a blend to make it interesting. For me, this can be a fantastic winter smoke but not a daily.

Update: few more bowls, actually the Latakia seems pretty well balanced with the Virginia. Kind of growing on me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2019 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Lately I’ve been revisiting some blends that I haven’t smoked in years as I’m packing up my cellar in preparation for a move.

Lancer’s Slices is somewhat reminiscent of Penzance in terms of the quality and amount of Latakia therein. However, there is no similarity in terms of the Virginias. LS has them all beat with the use of very sweet and flavorful Virginias which I am assuming must have been stoved for added effect. The interplay between these special Virginias and the tangy, piquant Cyprian Latakia is just sublime.

I have only one jar left so I better order some more as I don’t see this one lasting for very long.
Age When Smoked: Approx. 10 year old jar
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This blend, with 10 years aging, is fabulous. I opened a jar and found an inviting aroma. Loading and lighting went well. At first match, Lancer's Sliced revealed a soft, smooth flavor. The Virginias and the Latakia both shine through with neither one dominating. I enjoyed this when it was fresh, but aging makes it more enjoyable, more scrumptious.
Pipe Used: Peterson, Butz-Choquin
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 10 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"