Rattray Hal O' the Wynd

(3.39)
"A pure Virginian tobacco of a most unusual share of strength". This is a strong, sharp aged red Virginia blend that will perk you up quickly. New tin description: "Hal O' The Wynd" is an unusually strong Virginia-based mixture. Fire-cured Kentucky is added to a base of a variety of Virginias and Perique completes this mixture. It is then pressed and finally rubbed by hand.
Notes: The booklet inside the tin says "A full-bodied Virginia tobacco with a slight sweetness and extremely pleasant smoking characteristics. The name comes from that of the armourer in the novel "The Fair Maid of Perth" - a man who had "a most unusual share of strength". In the German decription is written: "und einem Hauch wurzigem Perique" that means: "and a touch of spicy Perique".

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
152

80

27

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 269 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2019 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin note is amazing, tangy and yeasty tobacco scent with ripe citrus overtones. The flakes are broken so they can be loaded straight away with ease without further rubbing, yet a few minutes of drying time will make the smoking experience better.

This is a juicy, almost natural tobacco where all the components are in harmony. I cannot sense the Perique or the Dark Fired Kentucky but within the overall smoke. It is not overtly complex but it’s very flavorful with dark fruity Virginia notes and maybe a trace of cocoa. It is quite sweet on the palate with a nice counterbalancing bitter finish presumably from the Kentucky. It is round with no roughness and strength is only medium, I do not find Hal to be a particularly strong tobacco. Nevertheless, it is a very satisfying in the nicotine department. Smokes slow to ash and needs only a few relights. An excellent all-day tobacco.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 14, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Smell out of the tin: Opening this tin you get a really nice ripe figgy raisiny smell. Anything I get reminds me of a mix of berries and all types of fruits that have rather tangy sweetness to them. Nothing sugary here, if you think of fruits this rather is a blackberry than a melon. Strength: I consider this a pretty strong blend, it won't knock you off your socks, but it will wake you up for sure. No headache or nic hit though, it's not that far on the strong side. Taste: Full it is. The kentucky works wonders with the virginias inside, the perique is not too much, maybe it could even use a bit more, but the blend it's great as it is. The taste is consistent for me throughout the bowl. Room note: I would think it can be hard on non smokers, not much of a room note that could be compared to a pleasent smell for them.

I highly recommend this to all puffers, it's really easy to work with, doesn't require much of drying time or preparation.

If you are interested in this review in a video form, I did a review of it on YouTube as well: https://youtu.be/lULyOwsX0Q8
Pipe Used: Peterson 303 Standard System
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 0.5 year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2008 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I did not find HOW to be either sharp in taste or strong in nicotine. It is a very pleasant Virginia which I can smoke all day with pleasure, but given the options of Old Gowrie or Marlin Flake, either of those would win hands down for taste and Full Virginia Flake for nicotine content. I am partial to Rattray blends and would recommend this unreservedly as a smooth mid-strength product, good, even very good, but not quite great.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Prepping- One of the wetter Va/Per blends I have opened I broke it up even further. Let it sit for about 10min.

The tangy, fruitiness from the darker red virginas and Perique run the show. The DFK is always evident with its earthy, slight barbeque character, nutty, adding strength. Nic Strength: Halfway between med-strong for me. However, I am a lightweight with the Vit-N so for you it may feel lower. It isn’t an all day smoke for me but it may be for you

This is the stronger brother of Old Gowrie imo. A grand blend that lives up to its reputation but for those of us with low nicotine toleration, it might be best to look to OG. 7/10
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2020 Strong None Detected Full Very Pleasant
I've smoked most of the Rattray pipe blends over the years, but, this one escaped me. My favorite, up to now, was Marlin Flake. When I lit the first bowl of Hal O' the Wynd, everything changed and Hal moved comfortably into the top position. By the middle of the top third, I already knew we were never going below three stars. By the middle of the bowl, I knew we were, almost certainly, in four star territory. I like VaPerBurs and this one was in a special category to my tastes. I'm not going to wax further in my praise and state that I agree with everything every reviewer said about this blend that was positive. I am a little skeptical about some of the comparisons to other blends, but, it illustrates the reach that other reviewers had to go to to categorize their feelings about a blend they obviously liked a lot. I used old Hal in micro blending and it was, thoroughly, a fine experience. I found the addition of a black Cavendish/dark Virginia in a half and half mixture with Hal to be as four star as Hal O' the Wynd itself.
Pipe Used: Charatan half-bent apple billiard Free Hand Relief
PurchasedFrom: an Ebay seller
Age When Smoked: unknown, but at least two years old
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Smell out of the tin: Opening this tin you get a really nice ripe figgy raisiny smell. Anything I get reminds me of a mix of berries and all types of fruits that have rather tangy sweetness to them. Nothing sugary here, if you think of fruits this rather is a blackberry than a melon. Strength: I consider this a pretty strong blend, it won't knock you off your socks, but it will wake you up for sure. No headache or nic hit though, it's not that far on the strong side. Taste: Full it is. The kentucky works wonders with the virginias inside, the perique is not too much, maybe it could even use a bit more, but the blend it's great as it is. The taste is consistent for me throughout the bowl. Room note: I would think it can be hard on non smokers, not much of a room note that could be compared to a pleasent smell for them.

I highly recommend this to all puffers, it's really easy to work with, doesn't require much of drying time or preparation.

If you are interested in this review in a video form, I did a review of it on YouTube as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lULyOwsX0Q8
Pipe Used: Peterson 303 Standard System
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 0.5 year
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2019 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Ole Hal O' The Wynd tends to grow on you. Upon first blush, I found this to be somewhat of a mild, flavorless concoction. Certainly nothing that would inspire a letter home to the family. Nor an entry in your daily journal extolling the virtues of tobacco bliss for future generations to discover.

With the progression of time, however, Hal reveals more and more of his complex personality. A citrusy, tangy sense of humor melded with a sweet, creamy, sensitive side that sets hearts aflutter amongst our lady friends. All the while, a simmering pepperiness just below the surface that gives life to the party.

This is a fine, complex, yet subtle mixture. Suitable for moments of tranquility which allow you to study the various flavors presenting themselves.

Perfect when relaxing after a New York strip sirloin at your favorite, mahogany paneled steakhouse. Or, perhaps, while lounging on the beach in your favorite Adirondack chair. Toes in the sand. Basking in the warm glow of the bonfire after the annual clam bake.

Highly recommended.

PurchasedFrom: B&M
Age When Smoked: 3 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2018 Overwhelming Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Horrid experience both in price and cut. Rattrays have turned a Virginia into a bad tasting burley that has problematic wetness. Pay attention to the negative reviews. The only way you might get a good smoke from this is if you are into Burley that is strong but want a change from Burley. This Virginia offers that angle and only seasoned Burley enjoyers might get it. Virginia users will be hard-pressed to find the Virginia or the Perique. Kentucky is supposed to be there. Looking at the long ribbons you get that this is not tobacco worthy of small premium quality tins. It is not a good selection. It is like the quality you are presented within one of these big value bags that has been processed into something just untasteable hitting you with strong steaming smoke. Then you get a spice taste that hits sour. I tried several bowls over the course of a month. My tin is more than halfway down and now it is at the back of the pile. I am not sure I would give this away in case someone felt I was trying to joke them. This is definitely for a very particular pipe smoker of a very strange taste. It is far too wet. A day of drying can't help it. Same with over a month. Don't purchase it unless you know it. Worst spice hit I have ever had. Maybe if you want a non-flake non-Burley to knock you for reasons better or worse, this is it. Otherwise just get better Burley flake tobacco that will do the same and taste better.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula 68
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Bought a tin of this based on all the good reviews. Disappointed. The tobacco has a sticky feel, as though it's been coated with preservative (a common thing with tobaccos made by K&K). However long I left the tin the tobacco wouldn't dry out. I don't like tobaccos that have been coated with preservatives.

This tobacco recently changed manufacturers and is now being made by K&K of Germany. I didn't find this smoking experience particularly special, the tobacco didn't really produce handsome clouds of smoke. I smoked the tin but won't buy it again.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2014 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Just to let you know I tried to smoke this blend with only 30min dry time and it wasn't good as in it smoked really wet so i stopped and left some baccy out over night approx. 10hrs to dry and then it was a little too crisp but i did the review based on the crisp tobacco.

Tin Note: The Sample bag smelt like a dark chocolate mixed with, well, Tobacco. It actually smelt like cigarette tobacco in some way.

Initial Light: Took 2 charring lights to get this pipe lit it was burning really well.It started with a very mild flavor that leaned towards the spicy side more then sweet.

Mid-Smoke: The mid bowl was an okay smoke it wasn't bad just very 1 dimensional and rarely any change in the smokes flavor, however it was nice thick smokes from light sips. If it maintained this consistency then it would make for a decent smoke for when you just want to mindlessly puff away at a pipe.

Bottom of the Bowl: Pipe began to smoke really hot again and the consistency disappeared into a harsher smoke but the spice was still there. about mid way through the bottom it began dripping out juice from the stem and became rather difficult to continue smoking.

Room Note: It was a tolerable room not.

Dottle: Left behind a clumpy ash with lots of moister accumulated near the draft hole.

Smoking Duration: 45min

Overall: As for Va/pers go, this blend started off good with a nice mild spiciness but as you progressed it was taken over by heat and moister and it seemed the smoke worked against you rather then along side you. The Kentucky and perique are the most noticeable while the Virginia is undetectable. I will not be cellering this blend simply because there are way more enjoyable choices out there for a good va/per's.

Recommendations:

1) Min 5hrs dry time. 2) Smoke slow with this one as it heats up quickly. 3) Pack lightly 3 step method is good.
Pipe Used: Amphora Dublin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"