Rattray Hal O' the Wynd

(3.39)
"A pure Virginian tobacco of a most unusual share of strength". This is a strong, sharp aged red Virginia blend that will perk you up quickly. New tin description: "Hal O' The Wynd" is an unusually strong Virginia-based mixture. Fire-cured Kentucky is added to a base of a variety of Virginias and Perique completes this mixture. It is then pressed and finally rubbed by hand.
Notes: The booklet inside the tin says "A full-bodied Virginia tobacco with a slight sweetness and extremely pleasant smoking characteristics. The name comes from that of the armourer in the novel "The Fair Maid of Perth" - a man who had "a most unusual share of strength". In the German decription is written: "und einem Hauch wurzigem Perique" that means: "and a touch of spicy Perique".

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
152

80

27

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2018 Overwhelming Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Horrid experience both in price and cut. Rattrays have turned a Virginia into a bad tasting burley that has problematic wetness. Pay attention to the negative reviews. The only way you might get a good smoke from this is if you are into Burley that is strong but want a change from Burley. This Virginia offers that angle and only seasoned Burley enjoyers might get it. Virginia users will be hard-pressed to find the Virginia or the Perique. Kentucky is supposed to be there. Looking at the long ribbons you get that this is not tobacco worthy of small premium quality tins. It is not a good selection. It is like the quality you are presented within one of these big value bags that has been processed into something just untasteable hitting you with strong steaming smoke. Then you get a spice taste that hits sour. I tried several bowls over the course of a month. My tin is more than halfway down and now it is at the back of the pile. I am not sure I would give this away in case someone felt I was trying to joke them. This is definitely for a very particular pipe smoker of a very strange taste. It is far too wet. A day of drying can't help it. Same with over a month. Don't purchase it unless you know it. Worst spice hit I have ever had. Maybe if you want a non-flake non-Burley to knock you for reasons better or worse, this is it. Otherwise just get better Burley flake tobacco that will do the same and taste better.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula 68
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Bought a tin of this based on all the good reviews. Disappointed. The tobacco has a sticky feel, as though it's been coated with preservative (a common thing with tobaccos made by K&K). However long I left the tin the tobacco wouldn't dry out. I don't like tobaccos that have been coated with preservatives.

This tobacco recently changed manufacturers and is now being made by K&K of Germany. I didn't find this smoking experience particularly special, the tobacco didn't really produce handsome clouds of smoke. I smoked the tin but won't buy it again.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2014 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Just to let you know I tried to smoke this blend with only 30min dry time and it wasn't good as in it smoked really wet so i stopped and left some baccy out over night approx. 10hrs to dry and then it was a little too crisp but i did the review based on the crisp tobacco.

Tin Note: The Sample bag smelt like a dark chocolate mixed with, well, Tobacco. It actually smelt like cigarette tobacco in some way.

Initial Light: Took 2 charring lights to get this pipe lit it was burning really well.It started with a very mild flavor that leaned towards the spicy side more then sweet.

Mid-Smoke: The mid bowl was an okay smoke it wasn't bad just very 1 dimensional and rarely any change in the smokes flavor, however it was nice thick smokes from light sips. If it maintained this consistency then it would make for a decent smoke for when you just want to mindlessly puff away at a pipe.

Bottom of the Bowl: Pipe began to smoke really hot again and the consistency disappeared into a harsher smoke but the spice was still there. about mid way through the bottom it began dripping out juice from the stem and became rather difficult to continue smoking.

Room Note: It was a tolerable room not.

Dottle: Left behind a clumpy ash with lots of moister accumulated near the draft hole.

Smoking Duration: 45min

Overall: As for Va/pers go, this blend started off good with a nice mild spiciness but as you progressed it was taken over by heat and moister and it seemed the smoke worked against you rather then along side you. The Kentucky and perique are the most noticeable while the Virginia is undetectable. I will not be cellering this blend simply because there are way more enjoyable choices out there for a good va/per's.

Recommendations:

1) Min 5hrs dry time. 2) Smoke slow with this one as it heats up quickly. 3) Pack lightly 3 step method is good.
Pipe Used: Amphora Dublin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 04, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Much lauded and hard to get blend in the UK.

I'll have to admit to having only a 5g sample, but even so there was little here to inspire a massive purchase of 100g which is - apart from samples - the only size available here.

Oh sure, it's a pleasant enough smoke.

If you like your tobacco tasteless and lacking in any character whatsoever, that is.

Disappointing.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2009 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I really like Virginia's, but this is a disappointment. Kind of flat, two dimensional. Lacks that sweet and herbal character that I like in VA's, It's quite peppery though. Not really strong, if you compare it with a strong tobacco it's a medium. A bit to twiggy. Burns slow and cool. I've tried about 6 pure va's so far, this one is the most boring. Works god if you don't have any other VA at hand.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 07, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I don't get the hype about this blend. Taste like an old ashtray. Acrid, no finesse. No difference between smoking it new out of the tin or aged 2 years.
Age When Smoked: new and 2 years old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2014 Medium None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Not so strong, a medium blend. I'd really wenjoyed my first VA Bayou Morning so I was expectating a good smoke with HOTW. It isn't. It's flat, very flat. The moisture is to much as other said. It have the perique taste but not so much. I can't recommend it as I didn't find anything enjoyable.
Pipe Used: many different
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: new in bulk
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2013 Mild None Detected Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm rarely against any kind of tobacco... (not true). This one is, for me, one of the most flat, disgraceful and useless tobacco I ever tasted. I tried with a full tin (100gr) and give my all tolerance... but... Sorry guys, whatever I tried and even mixture with whatever I have (and I have) is incredible bad. Sry again. I really tried....
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2009 Extremely Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This tabacco is just to strong. It leaves a accid feeling in my throad and nose. I cant immagine an enjoyable way of smoking, to not have the depicted feeling. Maybe take a puff and puff out as fast as you can. Or ruin your throad and not feel it anymore. Sorry I have contradict to the good rewies that made me buying Hal O'the whynd. I thing all of that comes from the RED FIRED Virgina, so watch out for that one. Best Regards
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2006 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I just don't like it. Marlin Flake is an order of magnitude better. In the tin, it is an ugly tangle of partially rubbed out flake.

Smokes with a certain hotness that makes it seem too peppery. If you try to really puff it, it will bite in an unbelievable way.

When I just barely puff it, it has a nice sweetness, but produces so little smoke that it is not worth it.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"