Rattray Hal O' the Wynd

(3.39)
"A pure Virginian tobacco of a most unusual share of strength". This is a strong, sharp aged red Virginia blend that will perk you up quickly. New tin description: "Hal O' The Wynd" is an unusually strong Virginia-based mixture. Fire-cured Kentucky is added to a base of a variety of Virginias and Perique completes this mixture. It is then pressed and finally rubbed by hand.
Notes: The booklet inside the tin says "A full-bodied Virginia tobacco with a slight sweetness and extremely pleasant smoking characteristics. The name comes from that of the armourer in the novel "The Fair Maid of Perth" - a man who had "a most unusual share of strength". In the German decription is written: "und einem Hauch wurzigem Perique" that means: "and a touch of spicy Perique".

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
152

80

27

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 269 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 06, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Summary: A balanced Virginia blend that tempers the sweet and acidic tendencies of the leaf and complements it with condimental Perique and Kentucky.

There are at least two types of Virginia blend smokers. Like beer drinkers, where one heads to the Budweiser and the other contemplates Grolsch, they are divided by their attitude toward sweetness. Most want a golden bright Virginia that is unfailingly sweet and light in flavor, while others want more of a pressed or stoved style medium taste. "Hal O' the Wynd" provides a gentle but strong Virginia balanced by small amounts of Kentucky and Perique, giving it a campfire-cooked and wine-like flavor. The Virginias join in with an intense sweetness in the background but the hay, grass and grain notes up front for the signature of the blend. This is good enough to smoke only on special occasions, but $8/50g can be smoked daily without ever becoming mundane.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I like the Virginia blends that Kohlhase and Kopp produce quite a bit. Solani Silver Flake, Virginia Flake 633, & Reiner Long Golden are all favorites of mine. And while I don’t feel as strongly about Hal O' The Wynd as the aforementioned blends, this is no doubt a fine tobacco, and it's definitely a stand out amongst the current Rattray label Virginia blends.

If I could pick one unique attribute of Hal O’ the Wynd, it’s that each time I smoke this, the first portion of the bowl is mysteriously mild. It’s so mild that it seems as though all the flavors that are actually there, are just cancelling each other out. However, the flavor strength does arrive in short time, mostly in the form of a tanginess that's balanced by a subtle sweet finish. If the pungent tin note isn't enough to convince someone that there's more than a dash of perique in this, the sharp sting of retro-haling the smoke surely will.

The Virginia's are more citrus and raisin-like than they are grassy. There’s a good amount of Virginia flavor but it’s quite a bit lighter than I expected. The Kentucky adds depth and body, but it also gives the blend a bit of a murky taste. The perique is quite peppery and adds a slight plum flavor to the finish. The role of the perique is a bit more than condimental, so rather than amplifying the sweetness of the Virginia’s, it has a tendency to somewhat overpower them. The overall result is one that’s more complex. Instead of tasting sweet and spicy, the flavor is a combination of sweet Virginia tobacco with rich earthy overtones and a somewhat dry piquant/tart finish.

Hal O' the Wynd isn't what I would categorize as a full or heavy smoke but I still find that it makes a better cooler weather tobacco, as the flavor is very much on the darker side of the spectrum. The overall strength, both tobacco flavor and nicotine are a firm medium.

I often wonder if this was Greg Pease's inspiration for Cumberland. Comparing the two, I'd say Hal O' the Wynd is sweeter and not as robust, but they are quite similar.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I really love all three of Rattray's Virginia blends, Old Gowrie, Marlin Flake and Hal O' the Wind. But if pushed into a corner I would have to say HOTW is my current favorite. While not overly wet, HOTW does need a bit of time to dry out. The Kentucky adds the extra body that I like, yet it doesn't dominate the blend. It does offer a bit more punch. I usually rub out my flakes and broken flakes, but with HOTW I smoke it as is with just a little rubbed out at the top of the bowl to get things going and kick back for a long smoke. If I had to point out any negative with HOTW it is that it doesn't really become more complex as the bowl progresses. But with this particular blend, it's a very minor issue for me. When it comes to VaPer or VaPer style blends, I tend to judge them by how well they age and HOTW keeps that punch I like while still becoming wonderfully sweet with age. K&K has done a nice job with all three blends and they all have a place in the cellar but there is a little extra space for HOTW. Great stuff!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Right off of the bat this is a splendid Vaper. On a rare trip to Nottingham I called in to Gauntleys, which was always a haven for the pipe smoker. I was a touch disappointed, therefore, when the assistant couldn't describe the blend to me, save to say he didn't think it was a mixture. Indeed. Help, in the shape of Google, was at hand and I made my purchase. In the tin 'Hal' presents as a nice, evenly rubbed out flake with an almost perfect moisture content. The nose is all Xmas pudding and orange rind, autumnal and rich. Lighting may take two or three matches. The taste is full without being heavy, the sweetness of the red virginias tempered by the peaty pepperiness of the perique and all balanced in a woody embrace. This is an expensive treat, worth the money.
Pipe Used: Peterson Rosslare
PurchasedFrom: Gauntleys of Nottingham
Age When Smoked: From tin
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
If you are looking for a blend that bursts with flavors and knocks your socks off, you probably won't think much of this. However, this is a really solid mixture. I can mostly agree with JimInks' views, although I find it a bit more on the earthy side than he does. I think pipers looking for a solid, mildly complex, middle-of-the-road blend should give this a try. I wish I had years ago. 3 1/2 stars.
Pipe Used: briars, cobs, and meers
PurchasedFrom: Mars
Age When Smoked: 1 month after purchase
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
Another decent stuff from Rattray.

Not that much strong as tin says, not that much bland for an every hour smoke either. It needs to be dried before smoking for a satisfying flavor. Tends to moist a bit but you can adjust this with your puffing skills. With a careful smoking I am sure you can taste the real tobacco taste with a subtle sweetness.

Leaving a dry and clean ash, demonstrating the presence of high quality leaves.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Rattray's Hal 'O the Wynd ... opening the sealed canister I'm greeted with a very appealing & zesty fragrance that is much like Old Gowrie on a low dose of steroids .... reminiscent of dried hay, plums, & raisin bread. This tobac is a VaPerBur that's not to heavy on the Perique (which I prefer). I like smoking this blend for the clean natural tobacco flavor it imparts upon my palate. It delivers an earthy flavor (like Old Gowrie) as well as a baked raisin bread taste & aroma (unlike Old Gowrie) that I truly enjoy ... in summary, HOTW has more of the flavor that I prefer. This is an excellent smoke and as such it is part of my regular rotation. At times this blend can be a little difficult to find in stock, so if you try it and like it be sure to pick up some extra for cellaring. Given some "jar time" this blend becomes even more mellow & tasty. 4 stars!!!!
Pipe Used: Briars & Meerschaums
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com, SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh & Aged Several Months
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Tin discription:for gentlemen only!Hal O' the Wynd, handmade!this tobacco is really special!when you crack the tin you get a sweet citrusy smell combined with spices and some sourness!this is a broken flake with a bit moisture..might need some rubbing and drying time.for me only rubbing because after drying i noticed some of the flavours where not so strong.needs a bit effort with the lighting and some relights are needed.while burning you definitelly feel something unique is there!citruses,grass notes,earth are combined with spices,figs and sour notes!all these in a sweet creamy flavour!burns slow and cool with medium temperature to total ash.no tongue bite for me.the nicotine level is medium.in the discription is says it is a strong blend.i found it medium and very pleasing.the room note is tolerable.i detected some similarities with 3 nuns.definitelly a must try blend that can make your whole day very special!
Age When Smoked: Straight from the tin andrubbed out
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2009 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is my second-favorite after Escudo. Not as strong a nicotine hit as many reviewers claim. Great with the morning coffee on a cold winter day. It is a bit wet coming straight out of the can. Needs some drying prior to smoking. Rub it out, or not, it will smoke down to a fine, white ash and leave you happy.

Don't know what is was like back in the day when it was made in the UK, but the Kohlhase & Kopp reproduction is great.

I've tried it "fresh" and after a couple of years in the cellar, and I can't tell any difference. It has a strong scent of dried figs in the tin, and this may be the K & K house topping, which I suspect has some honey in it, but the very light casing does not detract from the flavor of the weed.

My wife (a very attractive and intelligent woman) keeps telling me how much she likes the smell of this smoke. She has asked me to make it my usual or regular tobacco. So I will be smoking more of this in the future.

Update, 4 May 2013: I'm downgrading this from my original 4 star rating. Hal was one of the first blends I ever loved, but the old passion is gone. Not just HOTW, but all Kohlhase & Kopp blends seem bland to me now, sort of one-step-up from cigarette tobacco. There is just not enough flavor. I've found better Virginia blends. And Hal is still only a medium in the nicotine department.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Rattray - Hal O' the Wynd (British Collection).

One of the early reviews I did, where due to my head injury I was struggling to articulate myself. So, I ordered a fresh tin to re-post. Hopefully I can ameliorate on my previous review of it!

The unlit blend's rubbed to the perfect consistency to fill straight away. It's a little damp, but not too problematic in that area. Generically speaking the colour of it's medium brown, with very close inspection being a requisite to identify the few different shades.

The smoke: LOVE IT! The Kentucky's the lesser of the three, just adding a very subtle character. The prominent taste is one of Virginia/Perique. The quantity of Perique is PERFECT; giving gentle spices, and dark fruit. The stronger of the bunch is the Virginia, being sweet, ripe, with a little sharpness. Hal O' gives an impeccable burn, and a cool smoke.

Nicotine: above medium. Room-note: a little strong.

Adore it. Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King U.K.
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"