Peterson University Flake

(2.98)
Peterson's University Flake features a traditional mix of Virginia and Burley tobaccos that are slowly pressed for days into cakes of tobacco and then sliced into delicate flakes. A subtle plum flavor further enhances this remarkable blend.
Notes: Originally manufactured in Ireland by Murray, it is currently blended in Denmark by Scandinavian Tobacco Group.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Plum
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.98 / 4
154

163

73

45

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 435 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2022 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Virginia and Burley blends are a particular favorite of mine, and Peterson's University Flake stands out as a personal favorite in this style. It hues to common standard, but inspired choices in virginia leaf, a pleasant plum casing, and the overall quality of the flakes themselves, help it stand out in a crowded field.

The tin note is piquant and sweetly sour, but not overwhelmingly so; the plum is apparent, but so is the rustic virginias with their toasty and crisp aroma. The tin note is an honest prelude to the flavor.

The plum starts off fairly strong, but never so much as to sublimate the tobacco. This is not a goopy aromatic by any stretch. As one gets further into the bowl, the plum slowly fades and the virginias and burleys take on a stronger presence. This is very welcome. The plum does not taste artificial, and pairs beautifully with the natural nuttiness and breadiness of the burleys and virginias respectively. In fact, it is the plum casing that largely aids in giving this VaBur its unique character and charm, but if plum was the only thing going for this tobacco, it would be a solid but forgettable smoke. Instead, the flakes are pressed cleanly and well, and they fold or rub out readily to the user's delight. The tobaccos used are of obvious good quality, and the moistness of the tobacco is where it needs to be; this lights easily and only needs a marginal, if any, amount of time to air out before lighting. The smoke itself balances nicely and is robust yet smooth. I find that, unlike some lower quality VaBurs, it never gives way to ashiness in the taste, and tolerates puffing and slow draws both extremely well.

With University flake, what is advertised is what you get: a quality VaBur with a nice plum casing. That sounded very appealing to this piper, and if it sounds appealing to you, too, then grab yourself a tin. It's savory and delicious, and is particularly well-suited as an after-dinner treat.
Pipe Used: Peterson bent billiard XL
PurchasedFrom: boswellspipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2021 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is one of those flakes I feel people either love or hate. I for one think this does not get enough love from critics. And I love it. It comes wet, yet burns immediately. It has a topping, yet I believe it acts as an enhancer, not a flavoring. The room note in a smokers home, is intoxicating. It has a fair amount of nicotine, and we (my wife is also an avid pipe and cigar aficionado) were having a rough day after a busy Christmas week, and this perked us right up. I feel like it's best partially rubbed out. It has a tart and stewed taste in the start, then gradually takes on a hearty full tobacco flavor. Never got bitter or too hot. No bite even if pushed, and we wanted another bowl when we were done because it's that good, but didn't as to not get swimmy. Go try this. It's fairly inexpensive as tin flakes go, and seems to be relatively easy to acquire.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Trade
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2021 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
The Virginia’s are more upfront than the burleys at the start. The topping is excellent, and complements the natural sweetness of the Virginia’s perfectly. To me, the topping is more berry like than plums. The burleys, and strength ramp up a little later adding a nutty earthy tone that sticks around until the end. The body of the smoke is full, and satisfying. Burns slow, and cool with the right cadence, but I find myself sipping on this a little too quickly at times. It’s a little on the strong side, but nothing to worry about. I would 100% recommended this.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 413
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 8 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2021 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Pleasant
Just wow! Excellent raisin notes with nicely balanced Virginia and Burley tobacco flavors. Consistent burn for the entire bowl and very pleasant smoke output, Nicotine is on the stronger side specially for me as a beginner but still very doable. Highly recommended! A new top 5 smoke for me.
Pipe Used: Ropp Etudiant J04
PurchasedFrom: Cup of Joes
Age When Smoked: New tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2021 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Opening the tin you can smell first the mild plum flavoring, then you can also detect the scent of the VA, the Burley plays in the background. Moisture is quite ok, I rub the flakes out and let them dry a bit (around 30 mins), also to reduce the plum flavor, as I am not a big fan of aromatics... Flakes are easy to rub, quite easily you can load and light. With a bit of drying the smoke is fresh and quite easy to keep lit. From the first puffings you can quickly taste grass, figs, earth, wood and the plum topping, but fortunately this is not that strong and does not cover the tobaccos taste. The more you go through the bowl the more you can taste also the burley, which provides some robustness to the smoke, but never to much, and never with harsh notes. Good and honest all day smoke, never tiring, with a medium N load, satisfying; not in my top list but definitely to keep in my rotation to enjoy from time to time.
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: 9 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
One of my all-time favorites. The flakes require a bit of drying time as it is slightly moist in the tin. The plum flavoring is present in PERFECT amount. It doesn't overpower the tobacco, but compliments it wonderfully. Perhaps not for the novice smoker, as it is a flake, but a great tobacco all around.
Pipe Used: Peterson Killarney (01)
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: unknown
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2021 Medium to Strong Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Flakes come very moist. I prefer then rubbed out fully. I usually dry this one overnight and give it a little char light a few hours or day prior to smoking (DGT) for a vastly better experience.

With the above method I find this smokes cool & dry. I get grass, hay, and bread from the Virginias, a subtle nuts & chocolate from the burley, and the plum topping almost fools me into thinking it's perique with it's lovely raisin/date notes. Mid-way through the bowl the topping dies down almost completely and a nice full earthyness and a bit of oak comes in. Burns with a thick, satisfying smoke & a fairly high dose of nicotine all though nothing unmanageable.
Pipe Used: MM cobs, Savinelli 122
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2021 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
Un tabac délicieux et, à mon sens mystérieux: il change d'arôme entre chaque bol. Une fois, la noisette (Burley) l'emporte sur la saveur "prune" ou "baie", l'autre fois c'est l'inverse. Je n'explique pas vraiment ce ressenti. Je ressens également parfois une légère saveur de chocolat (pas souvent et très furtive). Le Burley me semble tout de même plus présent en bouche que le Virginia. Il se fume, selon moi, mieux en l'émiettant avec un séchage préalable de 15 à 20 minutes, que plié en quatre (avec un flake et demi). Dans ce dernier cas, plusieurs rallumages me sont nécessaires - la pipe avec laquelle je le fume ayant pourtant un foyer assez grand (2 X 4 cm). La force nicotinique est somme toute imposante, surtout en fin de bol. Le tabac s'est chargé à ce moment et fait tourner un peu la tête. Mais je suis débutant. Néanmoins, le plaisir est intense et les saveurs restent en bouche longtemps. Aucune morsure de langue depuis que je le fume, contrairement à d'autres aromatiques très saucés
Pipe Used: bruyère ébonite
PurchasedFrom: civette du palais royal à Paris
Age When Smoked: 4 mois
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2020 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
If you are looking for an introduction to flake tobacco you might very well want to start here.

Hydration is spot on and the flakes are cut perfect, easy to rub out but thin enough to fold and stuff should you wish. The description states a berry topping but the tin note to me is more like raisin with a very slight whiff of booze.

Upon lighting I can hardly detect the topping at all ,I do get a sweetness but it is a natural sweetness that I attribute to the choice vaginas that have been used. Lighting is not problematic nor is keeping it lit as long as it is well tended. Tounge bite is never an issue regardless of speed and the whole experience is consistent from beginning to end. Room note is not too heavy but is unlikely to produce any compliments either .

This is a go to flake for me, an all day smoke that never disappoints.
Pipe Used: Duncan plumpton poker
PurchasedFrom: My smoking shop
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2019 Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin note is a mild berry topping which comes through in the first quarter of the smoke, but thereafter fades away.

I consider this a Virginia blend, it contains some Burley but it's well in the background and unlike many Virginia blends, University Flake lacks any unpleasant cleaning chemical after taste.

I feel that this is going to become my Royal Yacht replacement. It's not the same mind, but it has similar qualities and depth of flavour: Not complex, just very good.

Too moist from the tin so I rub out a few flakes at a time and leave the tobacco on a piece of paper for an hour or two. A top notch Virginia which should be part of anyone's rotation.
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"