Peterson University Flake

(2.98)
Peterson's University Flake features a traditional mix of Virginia and Burley tobaccos that are slowly pressed for days into cakes of tobacco and then sliced into delicate flakes. A subtle plum flavor further enhances this remarkable blend.
Notes: Originally manufactured in Ireland by Murray, it is currently blended in Denmark by Scandinavian Tobacco Group.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Plum
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.98 / 4
154

163

73

45

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 45 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Very Mild Pleasant
This used to be a wonderful flake with a kick in the pants. They washed this blend into a wimpy reflection of what it once was, to make room for its big brother to be the only strong flake on the corner from the Peterson line...Irish Flake (which makes me gag just thinking of smoking it). The Plum or Raspberry topping is still there, but a testicle has been removed rendering this flake nearly flat and just a huge disappointment.

Smoke in peace, brothers and sisters of the leaf.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2002 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
I love Irish pipes, and very much like Peterson's Sherlock Holmes mixture, so I thought I was in for a treat. I was disappointed.

The appearance of these somewhat rough-cut slices is identical with Dunhill's Light Flake (both are, of course, elaborated by Murray Sons & Co. in Belfast), but the flavour is nothing like it. There is a light topping (cherry?) that one does not taste in the actual smoke.

Have you ever had one of those English tea biscuits that are so semi-sweet that they are, in fact, not sweet at all? That is what the dark-red virginia tastes like here. Like a Bath Oliver bikkey. That would be very nice, if Mssrs Murray had not chosen to shovel in the burley to preserve your and my tongues! This is not a Virginia flake, this is a burley mix!

Thinking to avoid the opprobrium of actually having come up with a Mac Baren style creation, they then put in some Kentucky, [i.e.: dark-cured...BURLEY!] leaf for body. The grey, dusty blandness of burley dominates this blend. No finish, no depth, just...burley.

A quality product for all that, recommended to all burley lovers, of whose number I am not.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2002 Medium to Strong Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
Honestly, I did not like this tobacco. Though it is visually very attractive, it does not smell or taste of Virginia. Then again, it does not smell or taste of Burley either. It is a strange combination of Virginia, Burley and, apparently, some Mahogany (i.e, an old belt dark Virginia which I have tried in other blends, and like very much for its toasty and slightly bitter taste), but the final result is not that successful. Something went wrong in the process: perhaps the tobaccos are not properly matured or pressed, perhaps that mysterious casing or topping (which other reviewers refer to but no one seems to be able to pin point) annuls the natural tobacco oils? The point is that, IMO, University Flake smokes dry, leaving a rather stale aftertaste, and the odd feeling that the tobaccos that went into its making evaporated somewhere along the packing-smoking procedures, eschewing the particular flavours of its three main components. The flake is difficult to rub out, difficult to pack, and difficult to keep lit?It does, however, get you thinking?.What exactly am I smoking?
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2004 Medium to Strong Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
There's plenty of reviews on this tobacco already so here are three words to describe it for me:Boring, Bland and Harsh ***Steer way Clear from here*** Prep. (One pro here,You might wish to purchase this blend on the merits of the attractive tin in which it's packaged)
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2004 Mild Medium Medium Tolerable
There are already many interesting reviews on this tobacco, so I will spend just few words. It smells really 'artificial' compared to a good Virginia flake, it is quite difficult to smoke (expecially outside) and reminds me the awful taste of a cigarette. What else? Ah, yes, something like 10? for a 50g tin. I'm really disappointed!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2015 Medium to Strong Mild Medium Tolerable
I was really excited to try this stuff as I'm a fan of Irish flake. Its simply horrible. Its bitter, scortches the tongue and throat and is not cheap either. It was soaking wet in the tin so loads of drying is needed. I've had three bowles and cant be bothered to put myself through it again. I've tried many tobaccos over the last year and this is the only one I'm going to bin. It could be a bad tin I don't know but I definitely won't buy this again.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: smoke king uk
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Sniffle, sniffle. Many years ago, before the brute Irish Flake was born, this was a fantastic tobacco with some balls, a nice gentle, berry, top note and some wonderful nutty burley undertones, no longer. This is a mere shadow of what it used to be, an imposter, a wuss and a wimp. Not only has the flavor profile gone completely kooky, I simply don't even recognize this, no depth, no strength. Oh yeah, and I hate the fat square tin. Aside from the muscle lost they even gave IF the cool as hell rectangle tin. (Wagging finger) Bad Peterson, Bad! A true Bastardization. TPOPHCTDUA
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2009 Strong Medium Medium Very Strong
i don't like my pipe tobacco to have a berry taste, i also don't like having to put the pipe down due to the strength of this blend (sneaks up on you). i've yet to try a decent peterson blend.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2008 Strong Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I usually smoke aromatics, and found this one too strong. It was not overwhelming, but after a while blew my head (and my tummy - bluurghh). The flavour was pleasant, but I won't be going there again.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2008 Medium to Strong Mild Medium Tolerable
Nope, nope, nope. I didn't care for this one at all. Couldn't finish the tin.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"