Lane Limited Captain Black Gold

(2.15)
Matured golden cavendish tobaccos.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 12 ounce tin weight, 12 ounce pouch weight
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.15 / 4
13

57

88

52

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Like many others, I started out smoking CBG and enjoyed it then as I do now. Some reviews of this blend dismiss it out of hand and I can't help but believe that their expectations were higher than a tobacco in this price range would warrant. If you're looking for a complicated blend that will challenge your palette, this is not it. If however, you are simply looking for a change of pace and/or a smooth, enjoyable aromatic, then by all means give the Captain a chance. I agree that it is best suited to a corncob and definitely should be smoked slowly.
On a side note, as a long time cigar smoker I can attest to the fact that how a tobacco is stored has profound effect on the taste. With that in mind, it would be best to buy a sealed tin or better yet, buy bulk from one of the online retailers that specialize in pipes and tobaccos. I believe that you will find this much better than the pouch that has been gathering dust on drugstore shelf for who knows how long.
Pipe Used: Nording Signature Freehand, Missouri Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: various
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2013 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
One of the most popular of the cheaper tobaccos. Totally OK for it's price. When smoked in a briar pipe it may give an unpleasant bitter aftertaste. Now when I smoke it in a corncob pipe it smokes like a charm. No bitterness, no bite. Try it in a Missouri meerschaum and you'll be surprised.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is my "go to" fodder. If I'm not in the mood for a strong flake or sweet fruity aromatic or just want a nice plain old smoke to enjoy with a blank mind....this is it. Like Coke or Pepsi I think it's fair to say we all have our old stand by. Captain Black Gold is mine. This is the tobacco I first smoked in 1993 when I smoked my first pipe and it has been a permanent member of my library of tobaccos. It is simple, it is always reliable (haven't noticed any anomilies) and it is easy to find. I find that this tobacco burns nice, slow, cool and mellow on the tongue. I can throw It into anything from a corncob to a meerschaum or a high end briar it's just that simple. It's my wife's favorite when it comes to room note

Pipe Used: Many styles, shapes, materials
PurchasedFrom: Jade Smokers Corner
Age When Smoked: New
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2002 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Read my review of Captain Black White, and kick up the flavor wheel one turn and you've got Captain Black Gold! I think someone left the top of the Vanilla when the flavoring was poured.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2012 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
When speaking of just aromatics, I find this just as good as CB White but in a differant way. Since cavendish is virginia tobacco treated, those that enjoy the mild and mellow smoke of Virginias, should enjoy this all golden cavendish blend. Very mellow and actually sweeter in taste than CB White. If you want sweet, smoke this. If not as sweet, smoke CB White. I did not experience tongue bit, which is unusual because I am a fierce puffer. Wife loves the aroma of all CB blends vs. all other aromatics.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2020 Very Mild None Detected Very Mild Very Pleasant
I'm a new pipe smoker, so my experience is limited. However, I found this tobacco to be quite pleasant and one of my favorites so far. It was a very pleasant, light smoke. I do not regret giving it a try at all.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2014 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The Gold blend is the best that the captain has to offer and it's pretty damn good for what it is. Straight golden Cavendish with much less topping than the captain's other offerings. The ribbon cut is excessively moist out of the pouch. It smells of vanilla cupcakes in the pouch and in the room. Packs, lights and burns well with a little drying time. If you try you can actually get the flavor of the tobacco through the casing which I like, the cavendish is given some respect here and not treated merely as a medium to deliver the topping. CBG doesn't really want to bite but will if provoked so it's best to take it easy and give it the time that a pipe really deserves anyway. It leaves a crust I the pipe that flakes away with a pick. I like this blend best as a light puff after lunch but in the evening it lacks the N required for proper relaxation and reflection. Nothing complex here just a decent tobacco with a not-to-pushy amount of a very pleasant flavor. A little added burley would make this a real winner.
Pipe Used: Grabow briar, MM hardwood
PurchasedFrom: local yokel
Age When Smoked: 2 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I started my way into pipe smoking while remaining far away from CB. Everyone said it would be a cheap tobacco and that no real pipe smoker should give it attention. While listening to others is not always a helpful deed, when it came to CB Gold, NONE OF THEM COULD BE MORE WRONG!

It is not premium tobacco, I admit, but Captain Black is Captain Black! And it is popular for a reason! It is a great aromatic! Really wet in the pouch, I leave it to dry up for a couple of hours every 2 weeks. and a 30 minutes dry before the smoke would be great so it does not wet the bowl.

One downnote is that after smoking 2/3 of the bowl, the aroma is lost, but guess what: I AM INTO ENJOYING THOSE 2/3 OF THE BOWL! Fills greatly in the bowl and lights up very well!

For a quick choice of take-me-everywhere aromatic, I strongly recommend it!
Pipe Used: Vauen, Chacom, Peterson
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2011 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I got a can of this from a fellow pipe smoker for Christmas. He knew that I loved Captain Black, but he didn't know which blend. I've been smoking on CB Gold for the past several weeks and I must say that it is a pretty good blend. Out of the can, Gold contains a good about of moisture. The cut is ribbon and it packs well with any method. The tobacco looks to be a predominately Virginia blend, with a little bit of Cavandish tobacco throughout. It takes well to a match and doesn't bite, even if you abuse it. But, for best results for flavor, sip it. For the first two-thirds of the bowl, CB Gold is sweeter than White. Down on the last third, it starts to lose its steam and the flavor gradually dissapears. The bowl will probably girgle some throughout, but it is nothing that a little sitting time won't cure. Although Captain Black Gold is really good, it still won't replace the regular. For all CB and aromatic smokers, stick with the white label and let this one compliment your rotation.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2022 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
I feel like this is a more muted version of Captain Original. And that's a good thing! It's not trying nearly as hard. The tobacco is mild but the lighter flavoring is less overpowering than CB White. I get less vanilla and more fruit/floral from this. As far as pouch tobaccos go, this is actually quite pleasant!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"