The Country Squire Tobacconist Riverboat Queen

(3.50)
It’s time to take a journey to the waterfront city of Natchez, Mississippi and hop aboard The Riverboat Queen. A mixture of Burley, Virginia, & Steamed Cavendish that can be savored as we leisurely float down The Mississippi River.
Notes: This blend was formerly named Rivendell as part of Country Squire's Middle Earth series. Founded by Jim and Gwen Reeves in August of 1970, The Country Squire has been a Mississippi fixture and mainstay for over 40 years. As Mississippi's oldest tobacconist, we feature over 20 unique and interesting house pipe tobacco blends

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Series Fantasy South
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Walnut
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.50 / 4
18

4

3

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 26 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2017 Mild Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is my first review. The slight cocoa note is nice, very subtle not a cocoa forward blend at all. The woody/nutty/toasted flavor is absolutely great. It has a nice creamy mouth feel with beautiful ivory smoke. The "aromatic" flavors of this blend to not overwhelm the taste of the actual tobacco. What else can I say? I've read the reviews and heard about this tobacco for a while and my expectations were high. I would highly recommend this blend from the Squire.
Pipe Used: MM Cobbit Shire
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 24, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginia is mildly grassy with some tangy citrus as the lead component. The burley is nutty, a little toasty and woody, a bit earthy with a drop or two of molasses as a secondary player. The black cavendish adds a little brown sugar. The chocolate topping has a nice richness that plays well with the lightly applied, nutty walnut. They say only a hint of walnut is present, but it’s rich, much more so than many blends that have it as a topping in a higher quantity. The topping do tone down the tobaccos, but you will get the basic qualities of what they have to offer. The strength is mild, while the taste is in the center of mild to medium. Has little nicotine. No chance of bite. It’s a little moist, but doesn’t need dry time. The burn rate is slow to moderate, and requires a few relights, but not too many. Burns very cool, clean, creamy, almost silky smooth with a very consistent flavor from start to finish. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no goop or dottle. Has a very pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and room note. A very easy going all day smoke.

-JimInks
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
From the Mountain Rambling Rusticator:

Nutty, Woodsy, Cocoa... this is a very accurate description by the blender. The first time I smoked this I kept saying, "Oh, Wow!," out loud, over and over. Like the House of Elrond itself, this smoke is a respite full of ancient wonder. This is by far and away the best Lord of the Rings inspired blend I have tried from any tobacconist. Top Shelf all the way.
Pipe Used: Various Briars
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, Jackson, MS
Age When Smoked: Newly acquired from the tobacconist
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2018 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is going to be a first impression review. I’ll try to come back after a quarter pound or so and do it real justice...but the first thing many of you that order this will experience is that first bowl. What’s it like? Well, it’s like this...it’s comforting in times like these that have so much meanness, strife and unpleasantness to find something that soothes, where simple efforts are rewarded with significant pleasure. This blend, as others have described, is a melding of walnut & cocoa with a tinge of vanilla and a fair amount of tobacco shining through. It’s past a semi-aromatic in which flavors are there just enough to compliment the tobacco flavors that are still the main focus. Here, the cocoa and walnut play the main roll...but gently...so gently. Instead of being bludgeoned with flavor one is lovingly caressed with the various aromas playing in and out. Of note are the ease of control. If the flavors subside it’s likely too hot...ease back and they come right back. Smooth? Yup. The aroma of the ample smoke off the bowl is a delight - as I imagine is the room note. But I’m an outside smoker, sooo...it’s only a prediction. I’ve been a pipe guy for about fifty years and have smoked darn near everything, or at least every genre. I love Sweet VA flakes, Burley blends with Turkish and Cigar Leaf, nasty stinky Lakeland twists and plugs...you name it. But few aromomatics are in my top picks. But this one is. I’d pick this joyfull, subtle, flavorful blend over 99% of the other aromatics out there. Very highly recommended.

Edit 1: Here I am, back again after that quarter pound line I mentioned. I recently went through a period of “aromatic tests & trials” in which I looked up the top rated ten or fifteen blends for personal testing...rated tops by about three guys with whom I usually agree and have never steered me wrong. Guess which blend came out on top...the best of the best of the best? Well DUH. I wouldn’t be yakking about it here if it wasn’t this one. Yup...this Rivendell is HANDS DOWN the top dog. It beat a few by just a fair bit, but it beat the great majority by a country mile. Now all of us here know that in this world most “likes” are pretty subjective. We all like different things. It’s one of those...you can please some of the people all of the time...all of the people some of the time...etc. things. But with this blend I’d be surprised if it doesn’t please all the people all of the time. Well, enough of that. I gotta go order more.
Pipe Used: RD Pipes Custom Snake Head Dog + various cobs
PurchasedFrom: The geniuses at The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh as a Daisy & 6 months old
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2019 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is extremely enjoyable smoke. Not wet, easy to light.

Cocoa is the predominate aroma and my wife loves the room note. Cocoa is the predominate flavor and is slightly sweet. There is a nutty background that works well in this blend. It is never harsh and does not burn hot.

It has been reported that some folks do a 50/50 with Green Dragon and call it Weathertop. I have tried this and conclude this is very enjoyable blend as well.

Anyone could enjoy this blend. Highly recommended
Pipe Used: T. Christano
PurchasedFrom: https://www.thecountrysquireonline.com/product/rivendell-nutty-woody-cocoa/
Age When Smoked: Fresh
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2014 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I'm a big fan of all of the Squire's Tolkien blends, but Rivendell is by far my favorite. It's nutty taste provides a great, cool smoke. No tongue bite or rough smokes from this blend, even if you tend to puff deep and quickly like I do. A great blend to accompany you when you're outdoors camping, or just when you need to "get away" from the monotony of the daily grind. This natural, earthy blend is a great way to escape. I'm not a huge fan of churchwardens, but I feel like it may be the most appropriate way to enjoy this blend designed for hobbits. Great blend that I highly recommend.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Bing's Favorite and MT Churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire; Jackson, MS, USA
Age When Smoked: Freshly Mixed
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 20, 2020 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This was a part of my first purchase from The Country Squire. This one caught my eye as I am a huge Tolkien fan. This one hits the nail on the head - I imagine this as something ole Bilbo himself would smoke!

First let me say that all of the tobacco I received from The Country Squire had the appropriate moisture level. WOW! No wet goopy tobacco here! It packs and burns well with few if any relites. The description is spot on, woody, earthy, and a little nutty. Pouch note was pleasant as was the room note. This was a comfortable smoke that stayed consistent to the bottom of the bowl and it burn to a fine gray ash with no goop. A pleasant break form the vanilla and fruity blends I lean towards. A good all day smoke (its 2:00 and I am on my fifth bowl)
Pipe Used: Unmarked Lumberman
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 23, 2020 Mild Mild Full Very Pleasant
The Country Squire has been serving the pipe smoking community locally, nationally, and even internationally for 50 Years! They are well known for their finely crafted and hand-blended tobaccos that are sure to enable every pipe smoker the opportunity to discover blends that will provide them with their own “Perfect Smoke”! So, Let’s chat about one of their Middle Earth series of tobaccos....RIVENDELL. If you are fortunate enough to have read J.R.R. Tolkien’s writings then you are already going to be drawn to this series of smoking blends. If you have read the books or seen the movies.... then pause and ponder....what things remind YOU of Imladris the Last Homely House East of the sea? Maybe things like happiness, sweet smells of fine foods and the never ending blossoms of spring — gentle Elven songs and strong bardic Tales of war and peace, love.....and loss. Like the famous haven of Rivendell, that provided so many weary travelers with a place of protection, rest, and learning....this aromatic blend of tobacco binds together a panoply of smells and tastes that brings the smoker to think of one word.....COMFORT! The cocoa is most forward here, accompanied by aromas of loamy earth mixed with essences of dried fig and walnuts. Deftly, underneath all, flows a subtle hint of petrichor, that smell wafting in on a summer breeze filled with smells of grassy organic essential oils blended gently with the falling rain. Deeper still — there is that scent of when a spring shower softly caresses the thirsty earth and quenches the firm hard rocks underneath. Yes, this beautifully smelling blend is on the wetter side as many aromatic blends are want to be. However, don’t let that put you off. Moist aromatic tobaccos are meant to be just that.....wet....and if you asked the blender that created it, they would most likely tell you not to dry it out very much. He or she would also probably tell you to smoke it moist as it’s tobacco-components and the flavor and burn properties of those tobaccos and casings are best enjoyed when having a higher moisture content. When smoked, this tobacco provides a luxuriant thick smoke and burns consistently to a fine ash. Remember though that wetter aromatics are best enjoyed through the slow patient stride of a pipe-smoker that understands the true Contemplative nature of our art. “Haste makes waste” and this old saying holds very true for this exquisite blend known as RIVENDELL!!!
Pipe Used: Full-Bent briar & meerschaum calabash
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire, Jackson Mississippi, https://www.thecountrysquireonline.com/
Age When Smoked: Freshly hand-blended by tobacconist.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
An interesting blend if I do say so. Very tasty, nutty and woodsy with wisps of cocoa and a cloying hint of what I guess would be vanilla.If one sips slowly, a tobacco taste will come through revealing the excellent tobacco used in this blend. A brilliant aromatic without an overly heavy casing. If you are not sure whether you like aromatics or not, give this blend a go. It might possible convert you. Cheers.
Pipe Used: Comoy's of London Zulu
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Used over several months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2020 Mild Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Prep: Came near dry enough, surprising for an aromatic The flavor matches the tin note, which is great. Chocolate. Bright virginia leaf is evident with hay and citrus notes. Possibly honey. That might be the cavendish delivering a brown sugar note. The Burley is soft, with a light woodiness and molasses. The walnut flavor is evident more so in the retrohale, which further gives this blend a “elvish woodland” feel. One of the best aro’s I’ve smoked. A top 5 for sure. A good aro to me allow the natural leaf flavors to shine while supplementing with additional additives. 7/10

https://youtu.be/hat5jFE4TXw
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2022 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
Excellent! One of the best aromatics I've ever had.

Rivendell is really a benchmark by which to judge all aromatics. It is almost addictively good, meaning I always have to greedily smoke to the very last ember in the bowl! Always burns smoothly no matter how vigorously I puff. Rivendell artfully straddles the line between full aromatic and semi-aromatic, meaning that despite its fulsome flavor there are still some underlying natural tobaccos tastes to appreciate.

Since I don't especially care for berry or fruity flavors in aromatics my positive rating here reflects the fact that Rivendell provides the kinds of flavors that I actually do enjoy: roasted nuts, walnut, dark nougat, mocha, coffee, roasted marshmallow, vanilla bean, scorched brown sugar, caramel, and a dusting of cocoa powder. And underneath all that you can still pick out the natural Burley and Virginia flavors!

Previous to my discovery of Rivendell 4 Noggins' Bald Headed Teacher filled this slot in my rotation, but in direct A-B comparison I find Rivendell to be deeper in flavor and creamier on the palate than BHT. I also prefer Rivendell over the Squire's excellent Indian Outlaw because, again in direct comparison, I enjoy Rivendell's more complex interplay of flavors. Also, if you like nutty flavors, this is much better behaved than Peterson's Nutty Cut.

Rivendell is now part of the so-called Dozen Delights in my permanent rotation.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"