G. L. Pease Lagonda

(3.28)
A luxurious blend comprising generous portions of Cyprus latakia, ripe red Virginias and fine Oriental leaf, with a bit of bright added for a hint of subtle sweetness. Pressing and aging in cakes integrates the flavors and partially ferments the tobaccos. The cakes are then sliced and tumbled into ribbons, ready to for you your enjoyment.
Notes: From GL Pease: Lagonda, a rich, luxurious old style mixture, will be the newest entry in the Old London Series, and though it shares some characteristics with its siblings, it's nevertheless all new. What's the same is the method of production, in which the leaf is layered, pressed and aged in cakes for several days in order for the flavours to integrate, and to sort of 'jump start' the aging and fermentation process. The cakes are then sliced and tumbled. Some people have referred to this cutting style (also used for Chelsea Morning and Meridian) as a 'broken flake,' but it's really not that. It's much more closely related to standard ribbon cutting, but since some of the tobacco strands continue to bind together, the result is somewhat denser than conventional ribbon-cut. It's the way a lot of the old English tobaccos were produced. I revived the method, thinking that it would offer something interesting, and have been thrilled with the result. (It's been difficult not to change the production of all of the ribbon cut blends to this method, but it changes the character of the blend so much, they'd turn into entirely different things. I don't need the hate-mail.) What's different is the blend's composition. The proportion of Cyprus latakia is more significant in Lagonda, and there's also more of an Oriental component. It's spicy, but not aggressively so, and dry, in the sense of not being sweet. It's got mouth filling flavours, and a wonderful aroma, both in the tin and in the air when it's smoked. The Virginias give the mixture legs to stand on, but aren't the dominant note. Don't let my talk of how big it is scare you. Despite it's largeness, the blend is all about finesse and balance, which was a bit of a challenge with something as full-bodied as Lagonda. It has a lot to offer, but doesn't overpower. It'll age beautifully, but is smoking fantastically right out of the gate.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.28 / 4
18

21

2

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I am a longtime fan of GLPease tobaccos, especially the Latakia blends. Caravan, Odyssey, Blackpoint, Westminster, Abingdon... all favourites of mine.

I hadn't tried this Lagonda since its first release, and now I have been able to do so. Well, at first I was slightly unimpressed. The cut is different from Greg's traditional mixtures, it's a more of a broken flake than a ribbon, and this is nice since it means that Greg keeps experimenting with new cuts and processing methods (=pressure) that were typical of the old tobacco brands. In spite of the thicker cut, this blend lights easily and stays lit wonderfully, providind a cool, rich and long smoke. Really, this one of the better burning GLPease blends!

What I find it slightly lacking, is in flavour development. It seems very dependent on the pipe I am smoking it, and while it is quite full in body and richness, it lacks the explosive punch of Caravan, Abingdon, or the richly rewarding and continuously growing Westminster.

Yes, I find that Lagonda has some extra spark missing... Maybe some more orientals? Or a smokier Latakia? On the other hand, at times it truly is wonderful.

What is sure is that this is a different Latakia blend... More of a slow grower than one with a big initial impact. Flavourwise it's not the most powerful, nor the most complex (Westminster is), but it surely is the one which will show most secrets with long and patient explorations. I am glad to have other tins away, to see how it evolves.

So, while not my favourite GLPease Latakia blend, it certainly is a very interesting one with many nuances to discover, and I'll gladly smoke it again.
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Pleasant
I intend to keep this review short and simple.

Delicious!

Now, for those of you who want more detail...

I realize this blend has been out there for a while, but I have finally had the time to have several bowls, and I have throughly enjoyed every puff. Yes, it's a huge blend. Yes, it's full of Latakia. Yes, it's vintage Pease. Yes, it's awesome stuff!

Tin note is what you'd expect, but I get a little fruitiness on the side, reminiscent of cherry, but it's not cased. It must be the fermentation and aging process that kick starts the fruit character. It does not, however, translate into the smoke.

A bit wetter out of the tin than many Pease blends, this one still goes straight into the pipe. I virtually never dry out any tobacco but prefer to simply adjust my packing and smoking techniques accordingly. This can be sipped or throttled, just depends on your mood. Release a little through your nose to get the full effect, and you'll be hooked.

Not as sweet as some, which makes sense, since the Virginia component remains in the background. The Latakia is obviously the star of the show, but it is quite smooth and refined. If it gets too much for you, just slow down and remember why you smoke a pipe. To relaaaaxxxx......

Lagonda will take a place in my rotation with other big Lat blends like Commonwealth and Star of the East Flake. With its earthy, rich, powerful flavor it's one I will most likely save for late evenings. This blend has gained a little bit of criticism as being too similar to Pease's other offerings, but I see it as analogous to finding a favorite winery: similar character among the various products does not detract from an artist's reputation, it defines it. No mistaking a Salvador Dali, right?

Four enthusiastic stars.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild Very Pleasant
This one caught be by surprise. Upon popping the tin I was hit with the usual strong and smoky Latakia smell that usually tells me the blend with be stout. Well, Lagonda isn't. In fact, it is rather on the mild side in taste although the smoker will certainly know he is smoking Latakia. The Virginia/Oriental leaf was interspersed in a way that truly made this blend a pleasure. I probably smoked it a little fast as I was hoping for more strength, which caused the blend go get harsh toward the bottom of the bowl the first couple of times I tried it. I slowed the cadence and that was the ticket. Now, this blend is a nice change of pace for me.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
A nice broken flake that is much more broken than flake. Heady tin aroma of latakia.

This one appears to be a less complex version of Meridian. Or at least of a different type of complexity. This is no one-trick pony and Meridian was sort of unobtrusively complex, but they strike me as similarly flavored. Less of an overt oriental presence here and more of a latakia presence. Lagonda strikes me as GLP's take on a past blend but I can't think of which one. Perhaps the recipe is more common than he usually uses. Whatever - it's something I can't put my finger on. Good tasting blend, but I place it firmly in the middle of what I've tried of the GLP line... preferable to Westminster, Chelsea Morning and Abingdon and not so good as Meridian, Quiet Nights or Charing Cross (or Odyssey). More dark than light tasting, there is a very slight sweetness in this mix. It's not a creamy blend like Odyssey and falls well short of that one's flavor level. This is more of an all-day type of latakia mix. Interestingly, I also noted that this one tasted best when I aimed the bit at the roof of my mouth rather than my tongue.

I don't fall into the hype of "GLP blends need to age before they can be enjoyed" any more than I join the party line for McClellands tasting of catsup or Mac Baren's being inherently bitey. However, this one does seem to need more age. I think there's a classic blend in here somewhere, but it just can't quite get out due to this tin being only 2 months old. To use an analogy, it's like someone draped pieces of cloth over the PA speakers at an opera. The gist is there but the full effect of the presentation is muted. Lagonda is one that I'm going to stock up on (because there is a classic blend in there!) and see how it performs in a year. Hopefully, it'll move me from Row X to about Row D!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2011 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
As of the time of this writing, I don't hand out many four star reviews to Pease blends but Lagonda is a flavor explosion that can't be denied! Upon opening the tin I was greeted with a beautifully course, colorful tobacco with a deep leather and smoky smell. Considering the large quantity of Latakia Lagonda could have been a Latakia bomb, but it's not. It's just as spicy as it is smokey. Lagonda is complex and masterfully balanced with a ton of flavor. The only thing I didn't like with Lagonda is that it can bite a bit if pushed.(although not enough to take away a star) I think that some age will make this even better and may lessen the small amount of bite. According to Greg Pease's web site, most all of his blends have some type of treatment but I can't put my finger on the cased component in this blend. Having experimented with this blend, I appreciate most when sipped in a large bowl. Highly Recommended.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 13, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Cyprian Latakia is richly smoky, woodsy, earthy and lightly sweet, and is almost the star ingredient. Playing almost to the same level are the Orientals/Turkish which are also woodsy, earthy, dry and sour, a little floral, and a bit spicy. The red Virginia plays back up with some tangy dark fruit, earth, and wood which helps prevent this blend from being a lat-bomb or a completely dry smoke. Some have remarked that it can bite if pushed too hard, but I did not have that problem. There are no harsh notes. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is in the center of mild to medium. Not very complex or creamy, but fairly smooth with a slight roughness, and all the components work well together to create a consistent flavor. It isn't quite an all day smoke, but isn't far from it either. Burns cool, clean and slow with little moisture left in the bowl, and requires a moderate amount of relights. Has a pleasant after taste. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Having been lucky enough to have a little spare cash, I decided to plump for this, I fancied a latakia and this one seemed to fit the bill.

The tin note is a strange one, a bizarre mix of hay and silage, both made sweet by something that I couldn't put my finger on I never seem to tire of commenting on the colour of the ribbons of Mr Pease's work, it always seems to strike me more than those of any other tobacco. These are largely a rich dark brown colour flecked with lighter tones. Packing and lighting are easy. The taste of the smoke itself is lovely and sweet, there's hints of something farmyardy -possibly something of the cowshed but yet strangely nice - and some occasional wafts of orange.

On the whole, this is a cracking tobacco. It's not wildly exciting but just has pleasant mix of flavours of sweetness, fruit and of the countryside. Worth buying again.
Pipe Used: Straight Falcon with Algiers Bowl
PurchasedFrom: Gauntley's of Nottingham
Age When Smoked: 8 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
So in early June I found myself in Chicago without any of my pipes or tobaccos. Naturally I sought out Iwan Ries under the El on Wabash Avenue. I bought a nice enough pipe and picked, from the description on the label, a tin of Lagonda.

That was three months ago. I am now finishing that tin. It has aged nicely, qnd the overwhelming aspect mentioned by other reviewers has yielded to a contentment unusual in my experience. Perhaps the onset of fall weather in the western NC mountains where I am finishing a bowl is partly accountable for this, but even the first bowl revealed the quality and expert balance in this blend.

I have smoked at least 20 Latakia blends. Until Lagonda, I was sold on Penzance as the most satisfying since the demise of the original Balkan Sobranie that I remembered from the late 70s. The reason Lagonda has risen to the top is, I believe, the way the "ripe red virginias" meld with the other ingredients. The result is a distinctive and unique spiciness unlike that of any other Latakia blend. Latakia often subjugates its fellow tobaccos into minor roles, the way brass instruments sometimes blare too loudly in an ensemble. In Lagonda the orientals, latakia, and red virginias—with the touch of virginia leaf—create the ultimate complexity one longs for.

It is easy to pack, smokes to the bottom of the bowl, and excites the palate.

Still, the only latakia whose ashes I am inclined to want to eat is Penzance.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Of my favorites over the years, I think Quiet Nights has risen to the top above most of the Latakia mixes out there because I love Latakia Flakes in general, but Lagonda is still a four star blend. All Pease Latakia blends are amazing, you really have to try them all, and after all these years, I still haven't achieved that end. I find that when I want to reach out to something new, like Blackpoint, for instance (which I will get to at some point), I find it difficult not to order the blends I'm familiar with. I originally panned this, but I think it's like watching a new movie that you don't understand, you step back and criticize. And when the critics say it's wonderful, you say to yourself, "I saw that the day it came out."
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
I bought this tin a long time ago when I was at a pipe forum get together and the host, who happens to be a fellow reviewer here, was telling about how much he loved this blend. Well, many beers were drunk and many bowls were smoked and I couldn't remember if I smoked a bowl of this or not. I certainly wouldn't have remembered how it was if I did.

So I bought a tin. And opened it pretty quickly. It took me two years to finish the tin if that is any indication of how I felt of this blend. To me, this just has too much latakia. So much so, that the blend just seems out of balance to me. It takes on that burning rubber type taste that I get from Dunhill Durbar.

I know this is quality leaf and it does have great tin art, but neither of these things can really make me recommend this blend. However, in deference of my friend who does like this and the many others that do, I will add a second star.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"