G. L. Pease Lagonda

(3.28)
A luxurious blend comprising generous portions of Cyprus latakia, ripe red Virginias and fine Oriental leaf, with a bit of bright added for a hint of subtle sweetness. Pressing and aging in cakes integrates the flavors and partially ferments the tobaccos. The cakes are then sliced and tumbled into ribbons, ready to for you your enjoyment.
Notes: From GL Pease: Lagonda, a rich, luxurious old style mixture, will be the newest entry in the Old London Series, and though it shares some characteristics with its siblings, it's nevertheless all new. What's the same is the method of production, in which the leaf is layered, pressed and aged in cakes for several days in order for the flavours to integrate, and to sort of 'jump start' the aging and fermentation process. The cakes are then sliced and tumbled. Some people have referred to this cutting style (also used for Chelsea Morning and Meridian) as a 'broken flake,' but it's really not that. It's much more closely related to standard ribbon cutting, but since some of the tobacco strands continue to bind together, the result is somewhat denser than conventional ribbon-cut. It's the way a lot of the old English tobaccos were produced. I revived the method, thinking that it would offer something interesting, and have been thrilled with the result. (It's been difficult not to change the production of all of the ribbon cut blends to this method, but it changes the character of the blend so much, they'd turn into entirely different things. I don't need the hate-mail.) What's different is the blend's composition. The proportion of Cyprus latakia is more significant in Lagonda, and there's also more of an Oriental component. It's spicy, but not aggressively so, and dry, in the sense of not being sweet. It's got mouth filling flavours, and a wonderful aroma, both in the tin and in the air when it's smoked. The Virginias give the mixture legs to stand on, but aren't the dominant note. Don't let my talk of how big it is scare you. Despite it's largeness, the blend is all about finesse and balance, which was a bit of a challenge with something as full-bodied as Lagonda. It has a lot to offer, but doesn't overpower. It'll age beautifully, but is smoking fantastically right out of the gate.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.28 / 4
18

21

2

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Pleasant
I intend to keep this review short and simple.

Delicious!

Now, for those of you who want more detail...

I realize this blend has been out there for a while, but I have finally had the time to have several bowls, and I have throughly enjoyed every puff. Yes, it's a huge blend. Yes, it's full of Latakia. Yes, it's vintage Pease. Yes, it's awesome stuff!

Tin note is what you'd expect, but I get a little fruitiness on the side, reminiscent of cherry, but it's not cased. It must be the fermentation and aging process that kick starts the fruit character. It does not, however, translate into the smoke.

A bit wetter out of the tin than many Pease blends, this one still goes straight into the pipe. I virtually never dry out any tobacco but prefer to simply adjust my packing and smoking techniques accordingly. This can be sipped or throttled, just depends on your mood. Release a little through your nose to get the full effect, and you'll be hooked.

Not as sweet as some, which makes sense, since the Virginia component remains in the background. The Latakia is obviously the star of the show, but it is quite smooth and refined. If it gets too much for you, just slow down and remember why you smoke a pipe. To relaaaaxxxx......

Lagonda will take a place in my rotation with other big Lat blends like Commonwealth and Star of the East Flake. With its earthy, rich, powerful flavor it's one I will most likely save for late evenings. This blend has gained a little bit of criticism as being too similar to Pease's other offerings, but I see it as analogous to finding a favorite winery: similar character among the various products does not detract from an artist's reputation, it defines it. No mistaking a Salvador Dali, right?

Four enthusiastic stars.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2011 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
As of the time of this writing, I don't hand out many four star reviews to Pease blends but Lagonda is a flavor explosion that can't be denied! Upon opening the tin I was greeted with a beautifully course, colorful tobacco with a deep leather and smoky smell. Considering the large quantity of Latakia Lagonda could have been a Latakia bomb, but it's not. It's just as spicy as it is smokey. Lagonda is complex and masterfully balanced with a ton of flavor. The only thing I didn't like with Lagonda is that it can bite a bit if pushed.(although not enough to take away a star) I think that some age will make this even better and may lessen the small amount of bite. According to Greg Pease's web site, most all of his blends have some type of treatment but I can't put my finger on the cased component in this blend. Having experimented with this blend, I appreciate most when sipped in a large bowl. Highly Recommended.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Having been lucky enough to have a little spare cash, I decided to plump for this, I fancied a latakia and this one seemed to fit the bill.

The tin note is a strange one, a bizarre mix of hay and silage, both made sweet by something that I couldn't put my finger on I never seem to tire of commenting on the colour of the ribbons of Mr Pease's work, it always seems to strike me more than those of any other tobacco. These are largely a rich dark brown colour flecked with lighter tones. Packing and lighting are easy. The taste of the smoke itself is lovely and sweet, there's hints of something farmyardy -possibly something of the cowshed but yet strangely nice - and some occasional wafts of orange.

On the whole, this is a cracking tobacco. It's not wildly exciting but just has pleasant mix of flavours of sweetness, fruit and of the countryside. Worth buying again.
Pipe Used: Straight Falcon with Algiers Bowl
PurchasedFrom: Gauntley's of Nottingham
Age When Smoked: 8 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Full Pleasant
So in early June I found myself in Chicago without any of my pipes or tobaccos. Naturally I sought out Iwan Ries under the El on Wabash Avenue. I bought a nice enough pipe and picked, from the description on the label, a tin of Lagonda.

That was three months ago. I am now finishing that tin. It has aged nicely, qnd the overwhelming aspect mentioned by other reviewers has yielded to a contentment unusual in my experience. Perhaps the onset of fall weather in the western NC mountains where I am finishing a bowl is partly accountable for this, but even the first bowl revealed the quality and expert balance in this blend.

I have smoked at least 20 Latakia blends. Until Lagonda, I was sold on Penzance as the most satisfying since the demise of the original Balkan Sobranie that I remembered from the late 70s. The reason Lagonda has risen to the top is, I believe, the way the "ripe red virginias" meld with the other ingredients. The result is a distinctive and unique spiciness unlike that of any other Latakia blend. Latakia often subjugates its fellow tobaccos into minor roles, the way brass instruments sometimes blare too loudly in an ensemble. In Lagonda the orientals, latakia, and red virginias—with the touch of virginia leaf—create the ultimate complexity one longs for.

It is easy to pack, smokes to the bottom of the bowl, and excites the palate.

Still, the only latakia whose ashes I am inclined to want to eat is Penzance.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Of my favorites over the years, I think Quiet Nights has risen to the top above most of the Latakia mixes out there because I love Latakia Flakes in general, but Lagonda is still a four star blend. All Pease Latakia blends are amazing, you really have to try them all, and after all these years, I still haven't achieved that end. I find that when I want to reach out to something new, like Blackpoint, for instance (which I will get to at some point), I find it difficult not to order the blends I'm familiar with. I originally panned this, but I think it's like watching a new movie that you don't understand, you step back and criticize. And when the critics say it's wonderful, you say to yourself, "I saw that the day it came out."
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Very Pleasant
G. L. Pease-Lagonda. There's many debates over whether this is a broken flake or a ribbon; the blend appears to be a mixture of both thus it wouldn't really qualify as only one of those titles alone. The larger flake like pieces are chunky but not big enough to necessitate rubbing.

When I took an initial sniff of the opened tin I was met by a very leathery smell. I spent a while deliberating what title would suit this smell the best but I couldn't be swayed from 'leather'.

There's a perfect amount of moisture, there's no reason why this shouldn't be enjoyed straight from the tin. Enjoyed being a very suitable word, it's a treat!

The Latakia is without a doubt the forward player. This comes over in a lovely fashion as there's just enough smokiness for it to be easily identified but it's not what I would consider a Lat Bomb. I get a very slight sourness and grassiness from the others but not anywhere near as strong. The final addition to the flavour is a caramel type sweetness, this comes through after about a third of the bowl has been smoked. Sometimes I find a blend headstrong with Latakia can take on an almost fishiness but this is at just the right volume to be savoured without being acrid.

The nicotine is a little above medium for me. Not too strong yet definitely not too weak.

A bowl of Lagonda gives a good burn. It only needs re lighting if it's left to sit too long.

I don't consider myself a lover of Latakia albeit I'm a lover of this!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Mastro Cascia
PurchasedFrom: Gauntleys
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Holy Grail tobaccos. Do they really exist? I don't know, but, if they do, this one is on my short list. If you are a smoker of Latakia blends, you simply must try Lagonda, it is truly a sublime example of the genre, which exceeds in certain areas where others have only dabbled.

The tin note of Lagonda is at once familiar, and unique. This is what some call a Balkan, what some call an English. If this is to be likened to something, or put into a category, it would be that of BS 759, and it is "like" that blend itself, in some ways, but in others, not. It is perhaps a tad lighter in Latakia "trunk", I of course don't know the proportions, but this is my impression. It also exhibits a more embellished strain in the oriental passages, though, no less of a Virginia "backbone". It smells of the classic genre, but is more complete and rounded than usual. We'll get to that...

The "Old London" presentation here is familiar to those acquainted with Meridian, and Chelsea Morning. For me, this processing is a marvel, and I am wholly impressed and even infatuated with it. It is the difference between home-baked bread, and mass-produced and bagged bread in terms of both aroma and flavor. This form packs and lights well. It also isn't too greedy with the flame-which keeps things on the cool side, and this is also most welcome. Its the best of the flake and the ribbon forms in one.

At the match, Latakia lays the scene and that familiar type of comfortable blend starts to settle on the tongue. And this is one of the high points, because though it is like those blends, there's more "it" to it. Again, the home baked bread advantage comes to mind. Its as though the flavors in other blends of the type, which aren't pressed together in their ingredient forms, never quite bloom, or puff-up to this level, or its simply the recipe. Or both. And, this is where the surprises start...

The flavors are not at all homogenized. They are not equals. They are a trio, none of which are background, or cameos. This clearly is a full Latakia mixture, but not to the point of overshadowing the Virginia, which is often the case. These sweet Reds are quite warm and present. They ascend through the Latakia like a leaping dolphin, and are just as playful. Likewise, the orientals are clearly swirling at all times, but they never tilt the blend to dryness, which could easily happen-either in a way that one enjoys, or the way one likely wouldn't. This blend is neither sweet, nor spicy enough to use either word as a one-word descriptor for it. Neither is it heavy enough to be called a "Lat Bomb".

Now, of course, the common words to use here are "complex" and "balanced", but I want to apply neither in my review, though I would never disagree if someone called Lagonda those things. It is. But I think it goes beyond those terms. I say Lagonda is strikingly Harmonious, in the way that a family of singers is harmonious, not complex and balanced like a large professional choir. Lagonda is rustic and lively. It's delicious, and absolutely bursting with flavor, natural Tobacco Flavor.

Which brings us to the topic of the suggestions of casings or toppings. I don't mean to be contentious, but I say: there's no chance that this blend is cased, or topped. I think that perhaps the characters in the blend that I describe above could lead one to suspect an added flavoring, because like I say-this level of harmony in this type of blend (to my experience) has not been achieved before with only natural tobaccos. Also, on GLPease.com the introduction to the entire Old London Series states clearly that there are no flavorings added to the members of that series. Have a look! http://www.glpease.com/Tobacco/OldLondon/index.html

Cheers all. Clearly, I like this blend. I love it. I've spent time with 759 lately, and blends that are said to be like it. And they're all fine. Comparing aged blends to new blends is unfair, in my opinion, but even still, I can't imagine that I would ever prefer 759 over Lagonda. Its not a clone of it, or a replacement for it, its the evolution of it.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Once again, I could not wait a few months for this to settle. I left work early today, I found out my Uncle just passed. I was feeling down, so I poured a glass of Crown Royal, and opened this new tin of Lagonda. I usually smoke at least 2 ounces of a blend before I write, but this is too good not to share my experience. A bit moist, but 10-15 minutes out of the tin dries it perfect. This is like no other English I have ever smoked. It's perfectly balanced, but missing the sweetness in most GLP blends. As the reviewer below, there is some casing in here, but it is impossible to tell exactly what it is. It delivers a smokey, graham cracker like flavor, that leaves the palate feeling clean and refreshed. The perfect nicotine shot is found here, whether it be the first bowl in the morning with coffee, or the last bowl of the night with your nightcap of choice. Greg, you have done it again. I will have to say, this bumps Blackpoint out of my 1st place spot. Stock up, I am sure age can only make it that much better.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This review is based on a tine dated 4/21/2021.

The tin note is smokey and incense-like and the orientals are there. With time in a jar, this becomes more barbecue-esque. The cut is beautiful. It's basically a former loosely-pressed flake that was rubbed out, and I enjoy the way it packs and allows for a longer and richer smoke. Slightly moist, but it's good to go right away. Dry to your preference.

This is a Latakia-forward English mixture. Behind the Latakia, is the Turkish, and then Virginia. You'll taste all of the ingredients through most of the bowl. This is a savory, salty, and earthy blend. Loads of leather and smoke, salty smoke, meat, some toasted bread, hints of spices. Lagonda reminds me of Meridian more Latakia driving the experience. At times it reminds me of Gaslight which is apt, because all three blends are siblings in the Old London Series. It's extraordinary with loads of flavor, and I must note that what (to me) makes these blends special is the processing.

This tobacco burns well, no bite to speak of, full of flavor, and taste. The strength is about medium. The nicotine is mostly unnoticeable. The aroma coming off the pipe is the best of any Latakia/English/Balkan mixture I've ever had. It's like a toasty smokey smell.

I think anyone that likes Latakia will like this blend, and English and Balkan blend-lovers will comfortably park here. Highly-recommended.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: less than one year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 17, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was just browsing in my local brick and mortar when I noticed a tin of this on the shelf. The first one I picked up had obviously sat there for some time since the lid had yellowed slightly and was starting to warp. So I pulled the tin down and decided to look at the date. 10/14/16. Needless to say I did what any self respecting gentleman would do and decided it should come home with me.

This blend comes in a simple tin with the image of a early automobile on it. Simple but effective especially this is part of the Old London Series, which I probably should do a review of. When I opened my tin I found some tumbled out flakes that are a little irregular. The tobacco is very black. When I stick my nose in the jar I smell rich loamy earth, campfire, a deep sweetness, light hay, and a back note of creosote. Friggin' delightful. It's dry enough to light right out of the tin and that's the way I prefer this one.

When lit this reminds me of Pirate Kake in several ways, and I think it must have a high portion of Latakia. The Latakia is deep, rich, smooth, earthy, smokey, creamy and powerful. It has the same sort of the creaminess and depth that you find in Pirate Kake. The Orientals are a little hidden but they add a sweet, herbal tang, and a soft incense like note that drifts in and out of your smoke. The Virginias are in that background giving body and sweetness. This is a sweet, smooth, and consistent smoke.

The taste is a medium. The flavor sticks around a little, and gives a pleasant aftertaste. The strength is a medium. No bells and whistles from Lady N. The Latakia makes the room note a bit potent, but I love the smell of English blends and I normally get compliments when I smoke them, but your milage may vary. This is an excellent tobacco and one that's easily smoked.
Pipe Used: Peterson Donegal XL90
PurchasedFrom: B&M
Age When Smoked: 5 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"