Peterson Flake

(3.55)
Brown Virginia Pipe Tobacco. Pressed first and then delicately cut into fine slices.
Notes: Description from old Dunhill store catalogs: Flake (aka Light Flake): This ‘processed’ Virginia is a cut flake of medium strength, very cool, and has a pleasant, slightly sweet flavour and aroma (1959) [Lemon and Bronze Virginias, ideal for sportsmen - 1985]. Formerly known as Dunhill Flake, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
146

67

15

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 230 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 15, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A solid and dependable classic Virginia flake that presents a satisfying combination of rich & toasty flavor with a perfect balance of bright citrus and grassy hay-like notes. The aroma is a bit fruity and is more pleasant than not. The flavor remains consistent throughout the smoke, and typical of most quality Virginias, it builds nicely and becomes more interesting and robust as the bowl progresses.

To my palate Dunhill Flake is not a very sweet VA. I find it to be a bit more earthy and somewhat dry and woodsy tasting, especially past mid-bowl. The mouth-feel is slightly astringent and a bit spicy. The smoke is very smooth with no harshness or bite. I detect a hint of a lightly applied topping in the flavor, it's scarcely noticeable but does pop up from time to time on the finish.

This is an easy flake to work with and it performs well right out of the tin. It smokes with relative ease when folded into the pipe, rubbed out, or cubed and gravity filled. When rubbed out there's a bit more richness to the flavor, but overall I prefer the complexities that come forth when it's folded and stuffed. I found a little dry time to be preferable but it's not entirely necessary. Dunhill Flake is a modest, unassuming tobacco and although it does not have the wow factor of some other Virginias that I have tried, it still makes for a darn good pipe. I look forward to aging a few tins to see what the coming years bring.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2015 Medium Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
After sampling several kinds of tobacco over about four years, this has become my absolute favorite... for now, at least. My experience with flake is fairly limited, but I enjoy Dunhill Flake the most out of the ones I've tried. It has made me a lover of both Virginia and flake tobacco. The tin aroma is chocolate and wild grass. After struggling through a temperamental tin of SG Full Virginia Flake earlier this year, I find the Dunhill to be so much more user friendly. In fact, a quick shredding of the flake and an hour or so of drying time out of the tin makes for a perfect smoke. And I mean perfect. For me at least. All things, tobacco included, are open to subjective evaluation. I have scarcely had a more enjoyable smoke than Dunhill Flake. The flavour, dryness, cut, smell, nicotine content... everything about this tobacco just works for me. I can't recommend it enough.
Pipe Used: Lorenzetti - Julius Caesar
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: new
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I've no idea why I'm writing this as I find that reviews of highly "documented" blends are moderately useless, but thanks for the cathartic opportunity. I love most Dunhill tobaccos. Like a protective parent I always assume that the naysayers are expressing prejudice against the "establishment". As my 20-something daughters say too often to me, "Whatever". Flake is simply greatly simple. I've smoked perhaps 400 tins of it since the 70s. Perfect moisture, packing traits, lighting properties, smoke production, consistent rich VA taste, satisfaction, nicotine, rich-like-a-chocolate-mousse-cake feeling and aftertaste. OK, that's all I've got. Just felt like sharing. If you like to smoke pipe tobacco, you can't not (double negative -- sorry English majors) like DFlake.
Pipe Used: straight billiards and dublins
PurchasedFrom: various etailers
Age When Smoked: new and old (me, i'm old)
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This was the only flake I smoked for years until recently. It is a bit of a heavier VA flake; by that, I mean that it tends to be a bit darker than other VA flakes. The tin note is pretty typical: dry hay, grass, citrus, and a slight anise note in the background. It rubs out pretty easily, but you'll probably need to dry this out some. In fact, I prefer to smoke this flake as dry as possible because I believe it burns cooler and tastes a bit sweeter (you'll lose some of the citrus notes when doing this, however). I always seemed to get a slight coffee flavor during my last quarter of a bowl or so, which I found interesting.

It's not a bad smoke at all, but it seems to me that my tastes are changing. With that being said, I have found myself preferring Orlik Golden Sliced and Newminster 400 flakes. I may still pick up a tin every once in a while for nostalgic purposes.
Pipe Used: Various briars and cobs
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars, Statesville, NC
Age When Smoked: Fresh, aged 6+ months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
Dunhill Flake is all about having your cake and eating your gateau, too. It is good on a "simple" level from beginning to end, and its depth and complexity quickly mount for a rich smoke that is interesting and also quite satisfying to the end, especially given its profile.

Tin note is not unusual for a 1st class, aged VA flake, namely golden cake, with just enough hay and soaped saddle leather so you know it's tobacco, with maybe just a drop of rum (or the like). Tobacco, preparation, presentation and smoking qualities all do Dunhill proud. I like to fold and twist a flake (or part of a flake). It "packs", lights and smokes without its own demands, so you can concentrate (or not) on the tobacco. There is some sort of treacle (or something) that sweetens the smoke and the taste from the get-go; but one is not simply left with this. Rather, the aged VA taste and smell deepen and enrich, and the side notes unfurl, including some citrus. Unlike many VAs, DF never really gets bitter, or sour, or ashen. The only downer for me is an unoriginal, spent-campfire aftertaste that lasts a good 20 minutes before it fades back to VA sugar and citrus, and a now-darker cake.

While I want to compare DF to Astley's 109, I will instead refer readers to that review. IMO, Dunhill Flake is 4 star tobacco with a 3- aftertaste; still, a 4 star recommendation.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I wanted to like this more, but...I guess I just need a bit more flavor in the Virginias I smoke. It's obviously a very high quality VA and for those looking for a mild to medium-flavored weed this is perfect. Flavors are there, just not in the proportions I like. Very grassy and hay-like in the tin, and also in the pipe, it could easily be an all day VA for those who like this genre. I'll age the rest of the tin and see what happens...
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2010 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Quite simply put, and excellent flake.. This is the former light flake.. and it is well not exactly light but then again not strong a true medium smoke.. but the flavor complexity is what makes you really question the lightness.. there are plenty of beautiful moments to be had trying to figure out what you are tasting (which is not always possible but an interesting adventure nonetheless).. All of the virginia notes are here just as in full virginia flake.. it is just much more subdued.. the quality is immediately evident. Hard to light at times and keeping it lit can be a chore.. but this is a virginia afterall so you will want to take your time anyway. This is one of the best true virginia smokes i have tried so far.. I will age a tin for a year or two to fully appreciate it.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Flue cured Virginia is pretty much the king of pipe tobacco and a good flake cut is very hard to beat. I usually bend and stuff flake cut into my cobb unless mixing and this one is easy to use regardless of how you prefer to pack your bowl. It burns cool and clean without biting and leaves no moisture to sop up. Like most flake, you’ll need a couple relights, but the tin I just opened seems to burn well. The flavor is complex like all good straight Virginias, but it’s not an “ in your face “ kind of complex, but nuanced and I get everything from a grassy, earthy hay like base with honey like sweetness and a touch of citrusy tartness. This is an all day smoke as there’s nothing overpowering about this tobacco that would cause palate fatigue…..there’s a reason why Virginia tobacco is the base for just about every good pipe tobacco blend.
PurchasedFrom: Carolina Tobacco in Manchester Ct
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 26, 2023 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
A perfect and wonderful Tobacco. Fresh like water, with the taste of grass and a bakery. This was an emotional blend. It made me feel very nostalgic, reminding me of my great grandma’s soda cookies while smelling the woods and leaf litter through the windows. It’s not complex. It’s not full flavored. It’s exactly what it’s wants To be and it’s perfect that way.
Pipe Used: Person p-lip
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: 1yr
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2023 Mild Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
I'm smoking Peterson's flake in parallel with other straight Virginias: Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake, Gawith's Bright CR flake, GL Pease's Union Square, Mac Baren's HH Pure Virginia, Dan Tobacco's Veermaster and Amphora Virginia. Peterson's Flake is a compact flake, with light leafs streaked with brown leaf, wet but not soaked with moisture, with a light and peculiar sweet topping reminding me of citrus and cotton candy. After rubbing and some drying time, the topping disappears and the natural blond Virginia flavour comes out, with its citrus, hay and honey notes. In comparison to the other Virginias in my rotation, this one is similar to GL Pease's Union Square; the dark, figgy, chocolatey notes of Full Virginia Flake and Bright CR flake, as well as the toasted, burnt notes of Amphora Virginia and HH Pure virginia, are not present here. Very sweet and citrusy from the beginning to the end, this tobacco is smooth and absolutely gentle to the tongue, it burns easily with very few or no relights. Especially when well dried, it tends to burn fast; this tobacco is better enjoyed when sipped very slowly.
Pipe Used: Castello, Savinelli, Meer, others
PurchasedFrom: German shop
Age When Smoked: 12 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"