Peterson Flake

(3.55)
Brown Virginia Pipe Tobacco. Pressed first and then delicately cut into fine slices.
Notes: Description from old Dunhill store catalogs: Flake (aka Light Flake): This ‘processed’ Virginia is a cut flake of medium strength, very cool, and has a pleasant, slightly sweet flavour and aroma (1959) [Lemon and Bronze Virginias, ideal for sportsmen - 1985]. Formerly known as Dunhill Flake, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
146

67

15

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 230 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2013 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This was the first pure Virginia that I had smoked after returning to the pipe a little over a year ago. At that time I thought that it was pretty good but did not want to review it until I had tried the gold standard of Virginia flakes (SG FVF). The flavor and nicotine hit is a little milder than FVF but the poor smoking characteristics of the latter made Dunhill Flake my favorite by a mile. It is a shame that I have a pound of FVF to get rid of now! We should all have this kind of a problem, right?
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2018 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is one of my go to tobaccos. A mild and smooth smoke, this tobacco is a straight Virginia tobacco, which tends to be a firm favourite. I find this tobacco surprisingly sweet and slightly creamy however it is not overly complex and is just an all round great straight virginia, I smoke this in my high end pipes as it does not ghost at all. Dunhill make outstanding quality tobaccos so if you are looking for a straight Virginia Flake this is definitely worth a try.

Pipe Used: My new favourite Dunhill Shell Briar Bulldog http://www.gqtobaccos.com/alfred-dunhill-white-spot/

Age When Smoked: Fresh out of the tin!

Purchased From: Local tobacconist (this blend seems widely available to me in the UK)
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 12, 2017 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I never got the chance to try neither the original, nor the Murrays' version of the Dunhill Flake, so I'll have to concentrate on the current version made by STG in Denmark. In general, I don't care about all the discussions concerning the quality changes of the different Dunhill productions through the decades. The Dunhill and even the Murray days are over, what's now produced in Denmark is high- grade pipe tobacco overall. If some blends have changed in character and/ or content, the result is of course a subjective matter of taste. In my case, I enjoy many of the Dunhill tobaccos and I hope, they will be continued by the STG in 2018 when the BAT company drops the Dunhill brand. Having said that, I must admit that the Dunhill Flake is not one of my favourite presentations. Why? Well, so far....The flake is actually nice, smells good, smokes well without any problems, doesn't smoke hot too easily and has a pleasant taste. All good characteristics so far. The point that really puts me off about this flake is that I don't think it's a standalone or something special. But that's exactly what I'd expect from it, concerning its name AND PRICE. There are numerous other flakes offering excellent qualities for less money. Of course, the price isn't always the main point, but from a tobacco like this one- I think you could expect something that puts it high above the others.
Pipe Used: Stanwell 13, Stanwell Trio 118
Age When Smoked: new/ six months old
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin is the typicall Dunhill understatement. It just reads: Virginia pipe tobacco and nothing else. For a flake this blend is very easy to smoke and i hardly needed a second relighting. The taste is rich, creamy, sweet and still smoky. Enjoy it slow and relaxed and it is a pleasure for your taste buds! Highly recomended for smokers that wan´t to try out a full virginia flake without worrying too much about smoking technique.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 17, 2020 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Oh wow, this is gorgeous. Everything a VA lover craves in a blend is here. Flakes are honogeneous and meticulously pressed and cut. Pop the tin and get a whiff. Citrus and stewed figs all over the place. A ripe Virginia aroma. I fold a flake and pack it on a larger size bowl. Lights pretty well after 3 or four charing lights. Luscious smoke, tart and creamy, hints of lemon , natural sweetness, medium to full taste. Retrohale has some woodsy and floral notes. Mild nicotine for me. Delicious blend. Burns down to a almost dry ash, very little moisture. Absolutely recommended. One of my faves, for sure.
Pipe Used: Vauen, Savinelli, Stanwell
PurchasedFrom: local importer
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2018 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
A sweetly powered of a significantly qualified Virginia is combined with the experience of the ages in this creature,a real hit of mid-nic in a sophisticated honey flake. A bit moist, but good taste of sweet and low pace of burn are the main characters I experienced. Not much earthy and woody but makes lots of smoke clouds and draws the attention of public in terms of a mellow sillage. Easy to load and burns smoothly. a good choice for summer days especially if you wanna be an all-day smoker. Don't miss the last part of the bowl if you peruse a sweet mouth after.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
Love, love, love it! My number one Virginia flake! A crispy easy to fold and pack flake in high quality. Pure Virginia taste with a tiny bit of natural sweetness. This is great stuff and taste good bot fresh and aged.
Pipe Used: Castello, Tom Eltang, Dunhill
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: From 2017
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is one of those benchmark blends on PSU, and I had never tried it. Someone gifted me a tin of 5 yo Dunhill Flake, so my review is based on the aged 50 g sample. I have finished the tin.

The tin note is a slightly sweet hay with some earthiness. The flakes are beautiful, and I rubbed them out. I did not dry them, and smoked them at the tin moisture which "may" have been slightly moister than I am used to with Virginia flake. It smoked well and did not require any more relights than usual.

The flavor is a wonderful Virginia - light citrus and grassy. There are hints of a honey note that might be a very subtle topping. It was an easy smoke and did not have tendencies to burn hot. My wife commented that the room note was very pleasant and asked what it was. I showed her the tin and explained it was more of a treat or special occasion smoke. She is well aware of the fact that this is code for "I like it, but it is too expensive for regular consumption by a cheap guy."

This is an easy one to rate. I understand that it is a reference point for Virginia smokers. It is very good. I do think everyone should try it.

Having said all that, I am not going to stock up or anything given the price point. I will probably buy a tin every now and then as a change of pace when it is on sale. I can also believe that my wife may have made a mental note, and I might find a tin in my Christmas stocking.
Pipe Used: a GBD pot and a BST pot
Age When Smoked: Five years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Very Pleasant
This virginia flake is awesome!i found nothing unpleasant from this blend!it has all the quality standards of dunhill blends!full virginia flavour with some sweetness and citrus taste!also a bit grassy if you go wild!i can only compare it to samuel gawith's str8 virginia flake wich is equal but a bit milder.just perfect,highly recommended!
Age When Smoked: After 1 month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 30, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Took me a while to appreciate a straight Virginia. After reading other reviews about how great they are, subtle tastes, and the need to smoke them from sun up to sun down, I figured I just must not be chemically engineered to appreciate them. Then, one smoke, it clicked. Now I love it too, and Dunhill Flake is my go to Virginia smoke. Smoke on!
Pipe Used: Dunhill
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes.com
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"