Peterson Flake

(3.55)
Brown Virginia Pipe Tobacco. Pressed first and then delicately cut into fine slices.
Notes: Description from old Dunhill store catalogs: Flake (aka Light Flake): This ‘processed’ Virginia is a cut flake of medium strength, very cool, and has a pleasant, slightly sweet flavour and aroma (1959) [Lemon and Bronze Virginias, ideal for sportsmen - 1985]. Formerly known as Dunhill Flake, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
146

67

15

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 230 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
This is the quintessential straight Virginia. The one from which all others should be measured. If you want to see what a non-aromatic, non-blended pure Virginian experience is like, this is the first thing to try. Why? Dunhill tobacco is superior. Flake is unadulterated and smokes with a sublime crisp purity as intended. From here you may venture into VaPers, fruity casings, or dalliances with Orientals (I think I saw that movie) but this is my one stop, always satisfying mild Virginian favorite.

Further, this is the single best tin to cellar and age. Nothing ages like pure Virginia tobacco.
Pipe Used: Dunhill, Peterson, Bertram
Age When Smoked: Various tins from pup to ol' dog.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2013 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a truly magnificent flake, not too strong, tasty & smooth. A very relaxing smoke every time. It has a strange fruity aroma, akin to lemon, with a fresh hay undertone. It is a classic VA that deserves its place in anybodies collection.

I vary the way I smoke this, but usually just gently rub a flake out and stuff it into the bowl, not too tight and off I go, absolute bliss.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kapet 606
PurchasedFrom: James Fox Dublin.
Age When Smoked: Straight from the tin & 1 year later.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 10, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
I'll probably always call this "Light Flake" but I'm reviewing the newer version, so I'm putting this review where it belongs. The tin has changed - it's now shallower and wider - but the flake appears the same as I remember it. I didn't smoke a lot of this "back in the day", as I preferred other VAs, just as I do now. But this one is easy to recommend.

Nice golden brown flakes with the tin aroma of citrus. As I'm not a huge fan of overly-fruity VA's, I wasn't encouraged. Ultimately I found that this one liked to be rubbed out to perform at its best. No extra drying needed, either.

Citrus flavor, for sure, but also a wonderful earthy undertone that kept this one from being monotonous. The lemon and bronze virginias play to a draw here, with neither holding sway. It's a medium strength blend that doesn't overpower. It starts out fairly robust, with that sweet yet masculine flavor, and only slightly strenthens as it is smoked. I guess it is sort of monotone and non-complex but it's a great classic virginia. The flavor never wavers, but a little more zealous puffing takes it to another level, as long as you don't overdo it. I'm giving this 4 stars even though it's probably a 3 for my taste because I think every virginia smoker should give this a run. It's a venerable blend that appears not to have been messed with by the new blender, and it's a lot better to me than several other highly regarded VA's I could name.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I'm a fan of Virginias in general and this flake is a perfect example of why. It's bright and fragrant with just enough body to be satisfying without being overwhelming.

It's... clean. In this case, "simple" is not a criticism. Dunhill Flake showcases everything that makes a Virginia flake wonderful. The purely natural flavors develop and subtly change throughout the bowl, the leaf burns evenly and cleanly, leaving a fine, white ash and (if dried properly as you should all flakes) requires little to no relighting. It's a delight to smoke.

I opened a tin of this and then smoked it exclusively until it was gone which is not normal for me as I love variety... and I was sad when I finished it! Will be getting more of this to cellar for later.
Pipe Used: Moonshine Pipe Co. Cutty
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
once upon a time this was the gold standard for lighter virginia flake. It was superb. Now, made by scandinavian tobacco, its merely another decent sort of generic virginia. its fine...but there are certainly better virginia flakes out there (everything from mcClelland and gawith for example). In a pinch this is ok but god I wish one could still get the original.

And someone mentioned presentation and suggested gawith should take note. Im sorry but gawith makes tobacco on presses over 150 years old. Ill take their idiosyncrasy anyday over the new mass produced dunhill clones.
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes dot com
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Of late this has become my go-to smoke when my palette has wearied of latakia or Lakeland flavours and I want a straight, no-nonsense virginia. The term "plain" can be taken as something of a criticism in certain circles. But it's exactly how I'd describe Dunhill Flake, in the sense that it shows an admirable reserve and understatement, whilst delivering more than it at first promises. There's nothing fancy here, and nothing to distract from the enjoyment of the pure leaf. To my nose, the scent from the tin is grassy, even a little on the thin side. But once one sets a match to it, it takes on greater depth, more woodsy and nutty, while there's a peppery tang towards the bottom of the bowl. I find on occasion, particularly if it's my first pipe of the day and I'm craving a bit of a nicotine lift, that I can smoke this too fast, as I enjoy it so much. But be warned: not only is it a tobacco which will only reveal its true dimensions if savoured properly; like many straight virginias, it can also bite back a little if it's taken too fast.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: Smoked from date of purchase
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Dunhill - Flake.

I like the unlit aroma, sure, it's a steadfast Virginia one, but there's also a touch of earthiness to it. The moisture of a fresh blend's acceptable: slightly moist, but not wet!

The smoke: a brilliant, and full, Virginia flavour. Not intricate, but satisfying nevertheless! The burn from it's nice and steady, requiring little attention, once lit. I find the burn cool, and to get a very delicate bite needs massive puffs; and even then it's minor.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: nice pure Virginia.

Easily rated. Four stars:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Adjectives like sweet, clean, light, and elegant all come to mind when I think of Dunhill (Light) Flake. It is a high quality Virginia that just might be my favorite in the category. The flavors are a mix of a little bit of fruit and a little bit of hay. I prefer it to Samuel Gawith's Full Virginia Flake for a couple of reasons. The first being that when fresh from the tin as it isn't sopping wet and packs with ease. It is also much easier to find. When it has some age on it, I find it sweeter and more flavorful that FVF. Every Virginia flake fan should have this fine flake on the must smoke list.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Presentation: Premium Dunhill presentation. It has an earthly and grassy, slight citrus aroma. Tobacco is neatly packaged in an attractive tin, wrapped in a decorative white tobacco paper.

Taste: Premium, straight Virginia tobacco, the first thing you notice is the a light grassy and hay flavor, with a gentle citrus after-taste. After 5-10 minutes, you will notice a freshly baked bread taste, with subtle sweetness after every puff. I didn't receive any tongue bite. Just an enjoyable, relaxing smoke. A bit light for my taste though.

After thoughts: A very enjoyable, luxurious smoke made from high quality straight Virginia tobacco. This is perfect for an all-day smoke, preferably while reading a good book, drinking some coffee or tea, or watching an enjoyable movie. I preferred Samuel Gawith’s Full Virginia Flake a bit more, but this would be my 2nd favorite Virginia thus far.
Pipe Used: Vauen, Cumberland CL103, Billard, 9 mm
PurchasedFrom: https://www.danishpipeshop.com/
Age When Smoked: 0-1
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Really good stuff! Out of the tin it smells like an orange, or at least it does when you open it for the first time. The smoke is nothing complicated, just sweet and citrus. Virginia flake done excellently. Just don't smoke too much, it does have a little buzz to it.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 0-1 years
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"